We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Captain's Inn is the ideal place to stay at El Gouna if you prefer the local atmosphere.”
Review of The Captain's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Captain's Inn
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Captain's Inn is the ideal place to stay at El Gouna if you prefer the local atmosphere.”
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Everyone is sooo friendly and helpfull with everything you ask. I surely go to El Gouna and Captain's Inn is my number one to stay!!! Thank you for a perfect holiday... xxx Lieve and Jaap

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lieve_Antwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    180
    39
    11
    6
See reviews for
96
139
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We stayed at the Captains Inn, 26thFebruary 2010, and we were more than happy with our choice of hotel. The staff were excelllent, very clean rooms with everything we needed, even tea and coffee making facilities. Great location, overlooking the marina. Use of another hotels beach facilities near by. You can buy a bus/boat ticket for £2.00 per person for unlimited for a travel on the buses and boats for a week. Try the restaraunt at Buzza Beach, reallly good food. Plenty of good restaraunts close by to the hotel. We had very good steaks in thecaptains Inn. Not all rooms have balconies although this was not a problem for us. Thank you to all the hotel staff for a great holiday, we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterHelsbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2010

We stayed at the Captains Inn the first week of January 2010. It totally exceeded our expectations. The photos online make it look quite small when in fact it is actually fairly big. The staff at the hotel were great, very friendly and helpful. The rooms were cleaned daily and to a very high standard. The hotel could easily be 4 star in our opinion. It is in a great location on the Marina so if you get a room at the front you have great views of the Marina and Red sea.But the most amazing thing about this hotel is the breakfast! Wow! Everything you could possibly want, and it's a buffet style so can eat as much as you like!! El Gouna itself is beautiful place, very clean and quiet and 28 degrees most days in January!!! so if you want a relaxing break we can highly recommend both the Captains Inn and El Gouna... PS you also get to use the private beach and swimming pool!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munchen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2009

a super excellant hotel, location is wonderful, food is so delicious, yachts view is amazing , room is quite & clean all the time. staff are so friendly, Real , i can't find any proplem or even disadvantage at this amazing hotel, we were a big group from Munchen, and all wer satisfyed and wana go there every vacation

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZippMunchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Out in El gouna for Kite surfing...Hotel in great location in the marina and close to Mangroovey Beach (via the great Tuk Tuks!). Hotel was comfortable with friendly and helpful staff and breakfast was more than adequate.

Only issue was as a single women I was given a room miles from reception and cut off from the rest of the hotel at night and accessible from outside (had to go out and back in another way). I am sure they would have moved me if I asked!!

El Gouna probably not the best place for a solo holiday but very nice anyway.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sometimeswithrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

I was out in El Gouna Kiting, what a great Hotel, It was a fantastic location for Kiting as the most easily accessible hotel to be reached from El Gouna. All the best Restaurants were placed in the Marina with all the best Bars there as well. The scenery, and setting were by the most attractive here.

I was there on my own and met plenty of people and found it really easy to do so due to the size of the hotel. It wasn't too big and wasn't too small!

The breakfast was good, not fantastic BUT I was paying for a 3 star not more therefore the food was excellent.

Note though don't go swimming in the Marina when you have had a skin full the Police/Security are not keen on it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenelement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2006

Me and my fiancee have just arrived back from a two week stay at the captains inn in el gouna and it was amazing. To start with the hotel completely exceeded my expectations. As we didn't pay alot for the holiday i expected the rooms to be quite basic and small and to my suprise the room we got was spacious, with a massive bed ( much bigger than king ) and a fabulous view on to the marina. The room was modern in its decor and had a tv fridge, electronic safe, mini bar and hairdryer. The mini bar was very reasonably priced, but we often used the supermarket down the road as it was so close and cheap.
The second thing is the staff were fab from arrival, we were welcomed with drinks and escorted to our room immediatly, no waiting around. The rooms were kept immaculatly clean every single day and bed linen and towels changed every day. There is also a laundry service which you can use which is very cheap, about 50 pence per item of clothing, we used this after going quad biking in the desert just so we didn't have to pack sandy clothes. They came back immaculate, even removing all sun cream etc which i never would have got off, the only quiery i had is that the clothes smelt of smoke when they came back which i didn't like as i don't smoke.
El Gouna itself, especially the marina is so beautiful and i can't image a more relaxing place to stay. Its very upmarket, not loads of roundy pubs, clubs etc but still lively with plenty to do. All the resturants are located on the marina edge and have fab food at very cheap prices. Seventh star is great for lunch and every day, the captains is lovely for steak and thomas pizza very nice and finally bleu bleu is lovely for a special night out. All incredibley cheap and food is always freshly cooked for you, even at lunch time. The only place i would avoid for food is studio 52, we had sea bass their and it was awful, we didn't even pay!
We visited cairo by bus which was fab, quite along journey but totally worth it, we also went quad biking in the desert, again amazing and also diving. We did most of our trips with alex safari a company who has reps selling the trips at the beach. The trips are fab value and the only advice i would give is to not eat food on the trips. It is always buffet food and we tried some and we were all ill and i have heard from other people the same story. Be especially wary of food from the bedoin camp when quad biking. We went diving with the movenpeck dive centre which is supposed to be the best dive center around and they were great.
All in all it was a fab holiday, so if you are thinking about booking, do it!!!!

  • Liked — Location was fab
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank rachnstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.2 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.3 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Inn

Property: The Captain's Inn
Address: Abu Tig Marina, El Gouna, Hurghada 84513, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#9 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#11 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain’s Inn is a small hotel perfectly situated in the beautiful Abu Tig Marina, the trendiest location in El Gouna on the Red Sea coast of Egypt. Directly overlooking the luxury yachts of the marina’s South Basin, it is in the heart of the action with stylish boutiques, laid-back cafes and lounges, gourmet restaurants, and nightlife hotspots on its doorstep. The lively Marina Street Festival with live music and shows is held weekly throughout the summer right in front of the hotel. Hotel guest have access to the swimming pools at at Ali pasha hotel; our sister hotel located two walking minutes away on the Marin strip, and to the Marina Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Captain's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain`s Hotel El Gouna
The Captains Hotel
Captains Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing