We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food”
Review of The Captain's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Captain's Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

we have just come back from elgouna, even though we didnt stay at this hotel we did visit the restaurant at night time, the food was fantastic and people within our hotel had visited the restaurant at night and had nothing but good things to say about the food. we have visited this restaurant before so we knew what the food was like and was not disappointed, so if you are going to el gouna be sure to call in at the captains inn restaurant, you will be met with a friendly smile and really good food which is value for money. (the steaks are just yummy)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAHLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Philippe F, General Manager at The Captain's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Miss/Mr. Lahla,

Thank you very much for your comments about our restaurant...

It really makes me happy that you enjoyed your dinner over our place...

And i hope that we will also have the pleasure to have you as one of our guest, one day in our hotel.. ;-) or at least the pleasure to see you again over a meal among us...

Thank you

Kind regards

Jean-Philippe ferrini
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 572 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

A perfect little cozy dream by the Marina, amazing view if you make sure to tell them to give you a room with the Marina view.
The service is efficient, staff are lovely and always try their best to make you happy.
Very reasonably priced, and is big enough to accomodate a big group of people.
Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: A room with the view of the Marina. Spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinaHabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Philippe F, General Manager at The Captain's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Ms. Dina Habib,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment about our hotel and about our team..

It is really appreciated and i will make sure to let them know about it...

In hoping to see you soon among us again, please find my telephone number if you need to book with us directly next time

01224888533

Thank you

Kind regards

Jean-Philippe Ferrini
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

The location is the best spot in el Gouna and is in the center of shows and activities. The staff was very accommodating and made us feel really welcome. The rooms were decent and clean. Shower room is a little small. The room from the Marina view is amazing. I will surely visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisycasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Philippe F, General Manager at The Captain's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Daisy Casio,

Thank you very much for your comment about our property, it really touches us that you took the time to tell about your experience among us..

I am really happy to hear that you had a nice time among us...

Kindly find my mail in order, next time, to try to make it even better jeanphilippe.ferrini@marina-elgouna.com

Kind regards

Jean-Philippe Ferrini
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

the minute you enter you're going to feel comfortable , rooms are clean , location is just perfect , prices are affordable , just a perfect hotel for vacation , and the staff there are very friendly where you r going to feel home and the receptionist Moeen was very helpful and made sure to allow minor exceptions for our satisfaction. it was a pleasent stay

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarek99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Philippe F, General Manager at The Captain's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Mr. Tarek,

I am really glad you have enjoyed your stay in Captain's Inn...
I am going to make sure Moeen gets to know about your really nice comment on his services, i am sure it will boost him...

We hope to see you soon among us, please take my number to be able to contact me directly on your next journey for us to arrange it in the best ways possible..

01224888533

Thank you again for your really nice comment bout us

Best regards

Jean-Philippe Ferrini
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Captain's in truly AMAZING if you are looking for a nice affordable hotel central to everything! Rooms are super clean, the staff is very friendly (they are happy to help anytime of the day) and breakfast is delicious! definitely going back VERY SOON! :D

Room Tip: ask for the marina view or rooms with balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Philippe F, General Manager at The Captain's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear Miss Zeina,

thank you very much for your lovely comments. It really touches us... And we hope, as your review tend us to think, to see you very soon among us

Please contact me directly when you come next time for me to insure you will get the same experience... My number is 01224888533

Thank you

Kind regards

Jean-Philippe Ferrini
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Location:
The hotel boasts an excellent location, in the heart of the Abu TIG Marina, which is where the action is at El Gouna.

If you plan to sleep before 3:00 AM, this hotel might be a bad option for you, as the hotel overlooks the loudest outdoor club in the area, and the windows do not insulate sound properly (single-glassed old style windows). The windows literally vibrated along with the bed with every deep base beat.

Pools and beach access:
The hotel gives you access to an average beach nearby (can be accessed otherwise for 50 Egyptian pounds) and to a better but smaller beach at the ocean view hotel also nearby (across the mood's beach option). Two pools for the ocean view hotel can be accessed for free as well, which are fair pools.

Cleanliness and rooms:
I assume that due to the fact that the central laundry services at El Gouna were on strike for the period of my stay, the sheets were only changed once, and were changed with "not-so-clean sheets". this was a huge down during my stay at the hotel.

The rooms have the basic necessities although the fridge in our room did not work (the maintenance employee flipped it and shook it several times to make it work when we told them, which is the worst thing you can do to a fridge to fix it, so it remained dysfunctional).

Value:
We booked via booking.com, and within less than 24 hours from securing the booking with a payment, the price went down by almost 30% for our total stay. We tried to re-book or do something with the booking to get the new price, and booking.com said we had to deal with the hotel directly for that. We tried to deal with management, but they were not helpful at all in that regard. Accordingly, we felt that were ripped-off price wise, and could do nothing about it. The price we paid was equal to what you would pay a decent five-star hotel in Cairo.

Service:
Staff was nice and helpful in general in the hotel. No room service is available, so forget about late dining, but a grocery shop is nearby and you can grab a snack from there.

Sleep Quality:
The noise will not allow you to sleep.
The curtains block around 90% of the light from outside which was pretty good for me. the beds and pillows are good enough.

Overall verdict:
Good for a group of young people aiming to have fun, but make sure to get the best available deal before booking online (contact the hotel to make sure if needed).

Room Tip: Avoid Marina view rooms if you are looking to sleep before 3:00 AM. A very loud club rocks the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YZNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Philippe F, General Manager at The Captain's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear Mr/Ms Izna,

I want to apologize if we did not succeed to reach the satisfaction you were expecting. If you would come back an other time, i promise you a totally different experience...

Yet, for Booking. Com, it is a non refundable booking to which the hotel has no reason to revert back money, as the booking engine takes commission on them... I yet apologize if my team did not succeed to address you this comment in a proper way. I also understand you could get annoyed by the fact that the price dropped on this engine after you reserved, but it was promotional, and you would understand i am not able to refund every esteemed guest whom book on a higher rate...

As for the laundry situation, we have a system in the rooms with an Anker, if you would have wanted to change the linen, you just had to put it on the bed as explained.. But again, if my team did not pass you the information right, i sincerely excuse my self...

What i would propose you, is to contact me directly if you would come to Gouna again and i will do everything in my power to make you have a stay exceeding both together?

My mail is: jeanphilippe.ferrini@marina-elgouna.com
My number; 00201224888533

Thank you

Best regards

Jean-Philippe
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

- Super Location in the middle of the vibe
- Great food quality
- Clean room
- Good service
- John the manager was very friendly and made sure to allow minor exceptions for our satisfaction.
- Don't expect luxury but the location is very rewarding
- Surprisingly despite the tourism is not doing good in Egypt these days and the occupancy is pretty low but most of the restaraunts food quality was very good.Obvously Gouna's standard above country average.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Philippe F, General Manager at The Captain's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear Mr. Bahey,

I really want to thank you for your nice comments about Captain's Inn... Ans we really appreciate the fact that you took time to write your feedback...

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you come back to Captain's Inn

My number is 01224888533

Thank You

Best regards

Jean-Philippe
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.1 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.2 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#2 of 18 in El Gouna
427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#6 of 18 in El Gouna
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
485 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
802 reviews
1.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Inn

Address: Abu Tig Marina, El Gouna, Hurghada 84513, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in El Gouna
#4 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#7 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#9 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range: $27 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain’s Inn is a small hotel perfectly situated in the beautiful Abu Tig Marina, the trendiest location in El Gouna on the Red Sea coast of Egypt. Directly overlooking the luxury yachts of the marina’s South Basin, it is in the heart of the action with stylish boutiques, laid-back cafes and lounges, gourmet restaurants, and nightlife hot spots on its doorstep. Hotel guest have access to the swimming pools at at Ali pasha hotel; our sister hotel located two walking minutes away on the Marin strip, and to the Marina Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Captain's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain`s Hotel El Gouna
The Captains Hotel
Captains Hotel El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing