We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Used the pool and facilities only as we were staying in a friends apartment.

I have visited here several times and like it as its quite compact, all cantered around one large pool. I still prefer the Movenpick but the Steigenberger does hold its own.

Service for food was extremely slow this time and there seems to be fewer staff around. Overall very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very nice hotel, the rooms are big and very nice, the food is excellent, the best I ever had on holiday..., the service was good...
For the golfer it's heaven, on the other side of the lagune there is a 18-hole golf with many facilities to practice...
In El Gouna downtown is nothing going on there...if you want a quiet holiday without many children and noise this is the place...
Minus:
the card you need for the towels...
free tennis, but you have to pay in the club in El Gouna, and when you return the hotel pay you back ???
Five stars but no free wifi ??? 7 euro for 1 hour, 42 euro for one week wifi ??

Room Tip: we were in block 3000; quiet, large and view on the golf..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny-Deflou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel is in the middle of golf course, facing nice lagoon. lots of water activities are available either in lagoon or pools. Hotel don't have fancy beach, I did not like it, and still recommend the lagoon. Hotel is suitable for athletes and multi-sports, also suitable for calm relaxing vacation.
amazing staff at reception help you with quick check-in and out, also amazing restaurant with wide variety of food that suites everyone. specially deserts which is amazing.
rooms are wide enough to host your family and optimized to have quite nice sleep.
hotel is central and close to main marina area where you can have nice activity or even dining experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZIZO_Elegant_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The second trip was/is a great disappointment. Substandard service, terrible food, uncaring staff, terrible TV, unusable phone due to noise, staff lack of product knowledge, and crazy procedures like the card you have to carry in order to get a towel by the pool. If you have the energy, and time, you could enjoy your stay, otherwise don't bother. I have not used the spa, but I clicked the wrong circle and was unable to clear it.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms by the pool, a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atef Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt-cel, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We regret to hear that your stay with us was not entirely satisfactory for you. Our team is working constantly to keep and improve our standards and fulfill the expectations of all our guests. Our food prepared by our British Chef and his team is actually known as one of the best in El Gouna and the friendliness in our hotel is the most important reason for many of our guests to return every year. Our towel card system is newly implemented and has proven to be efficient. Each guest receives this card upon check-in and simply exchanges it against a fresh towel as often as he wishes and vice versa. Also our Front Office would have been glad to change your room from the active pool to a more quite area like our lagoon beach, and solve any issues you may have faced during your time here.
We do hope, that you will visit us again and give us the chance to improve your impression about our hotel.

Thank you very much for your support and have a nice evening.
Djamila De Wieuw
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was not impressed by this 'resort', nor was my husband. It was more like a retirement home/hospital (an inside joke with my party). However, the food was excellent but definitely over priced. El Gouna is a ghost town, there is not much going on there, if you want a quiet, boring place to go then this is place is for you. We weren't close to the Red Sea, we had to take a 15 minute boat ride to go to the private beach, which isn't a beach, as you can't go swimming there, so we had to walk across a bridge to go to another hotels beach. I will never stay at a Steigenberger 'resort' again, it's way over priced for nothing. The bathroom was quite small with no bathtub, the shower was nice a nice size, I liked having the 2 sinks. The bathroom amenities were very good as well. We stayed in a junior suite which was just a big bedroom with a sitting area. The balcony was a good size but didn't have a Sea view (obviously).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We enjoy to stay here, the golf course was lovely. The room however was rather shabby and not great value. it looks much better in the photos on the website than in real life. The restaurant at the hotel was good with a good range of dishes, good service, good value and quality. The hotel is about 5 mins drive from Down Town and 10 mins from Marina.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nill_Summerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

There is not much to add to my review dated january 2012. Service improved. Food is still the best in Egypt ( for us ).Pool staff and waiters extra friendly and helpfull. It is common to tip but if you do not tip you get the same high service. Important to add that most of the staff are with the hotel since it openend 12 years ago.
More animation dring dinner time than last year.
Again : if you like to relax in the quiet, like good food in a beuatyful hotel surrounded by water and green, do not hesitate and pick this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms in block 1 2 and 4 are closer to the pool area and restaurant than blocks 6, 7 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jempie145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
1.2 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
1.8 mi away
Ancient Sands Golf Resort & Residences
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#6 of 18 in El Gouna
561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Golf Resort

Address: Golf Island, El Gouna, Hurghada 84513, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#8 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#9 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
#10 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range: $86 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at one of El Gouna's lagoons, in the middle of an 18-hole golf course, the luxurious Steigenberger Golf Resort expresses a mixture of modern architecture with a reflection of regional tradition. The hotel grounds overlook the championship golf course, lagoons, pool and lush gardens. Offering the finest cuisine and excellent service, the hotel caters to the sophisticated golfer and vacationer. Its close distance to the down town and marina of El Gouna invites to have a walk and discover El Gouna's facilities, restaurants, sports and water excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Steigenberger Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Golf Hotel El Gouna
Steigenberger Hotel El Gouna
Steigenberger Resort El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing