We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had nice time with family and kids, enjoy pool sun and el gouna weather. Clean air quiet easy access to marina, downtown and sea.
Food is excellent half board basis, many varieties.
Golf view is amazing with lagoon boat shuttle

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Nader A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

Wonderful resort. Beautiful well kept gardens and stunning scenery surround this resort. Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms cleaned daily. Plenty of towels and you can request extra bedding and toiletries if necessary. In room safe. Hairdryer in bathroom. Room service food not that good. Golf course quite nice but is quite expensive but do have buggies. Rooms very comfortable. Beach bar staff very slow service but perhaps were understaffed. You need a car, as taxis to and from Hurghada are charged at a rip off price of at least LE100.00 each way, while the real price (shown on a meter) is approx. LE28.00, but, taxi driver WILL NOT use a meter. No real complaints. I would probably stay again and recommend it.

Room Tip: There are smoking rooms. Not all rooms have a bath tub plus a shower. If you require a bath tub, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucyterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Wonderful property to unwind !!Large rooms,Good food,swimming pools,lagoons,beach sports,sea cruises...this resort offers everything needed for a perefect weekend.Very good housekeeping services to keep this resort in a perfect condition.Adjacent to the resort,there is a beautiful red sea for a great crusing experience.It was a pleasure to there for 3 days.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParthivMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

A perfect holiday!Will always be back!

Thank for front desk manger assistant,he is doing a great job.
The service is good,food is nice!

SPA is amazing place,massage is very good,done very nice you feel comfortable during all treatment!

For me and my friend this is our Favorite place:)
Suggest for people who just wanna be away in a calm atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The only reason I selected this hotel was its proximity to my family's home. The rooms are spacious, housekeeping provided efficient service. My confusion about how to rate this hotel stems from the small pool, poor gym facility and rocky beach. Furthermore, I invited my brother and his family to the dedicated steigenberger beach and was informed by the beach attendent on the third day that they are not aLlowed on the premises by orders from management. This came as a shock as they paid the beach attendent the previous day the requested fee in addition to asking him to charge my room on the first day, which by the way never showed up on the bill. I still haven't made my mind completely about this placee, however there are nicer hotels in el gouna with nicer facilities and the same rates.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Cairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed there only for a couple of days.
the resort is wonderful, with the pools, artificial lagoon filled from the sea and a beach a little bit far.
transportation is available to take you by boat or bus to different places in El Gouna

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidrusseleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed at the steigenberger to attend a wedding that was being held there. Appalling service! We were checked into a room to find the air conditioning not working. Keep in mind this was at the end of May by the Red Sea, It's very hot! it took them an hour to send someone to fix the A/C when they finally came he said it was fixed....when I told him it didn't seem cooler he said we just had to give it some time to start cooling. We were on our way out to an event as part of the wedding weekend. When we came back later on in the night the A/C was still not working, it took another hour for someone to come and he told he us he didn't have the proper equipment at that time to fix the A/C and we'd have to wait until morning. It was so hot we slept on chairs out in the balcony! My husband went to reception in the morning to tell them to switch our rooms and that he wasn't going to pay for our room for the night before. He was told by the man at reception that he had to pay because the A/C had nothing to do with the room, at the point we asked to speak to the GM. He was very polite and agreed we didn't have to pay and said it was unacceptable that they were not able to fix the A/C and he guaranteed it would be fixed that day and if they were not able to fix it they would change our rooms. When we came back much later in the day it seemed like the A/C still wasn't working....we called reception and asked them to send us someone to help us move our bags and to get us the key of the other room, they said they would send someone but no one ever showed up! In the meantime the A/C started cooling...it took it a good half hour to start cooling....but still no one called to see if it was working, or to help us move...they just totally ignored us. The food in the hotel is AWFUL. We ate at the breakfast buffet and by the pool both were horrible. It was a very busy weekend for the hotel and we didn't spend much time in the hotel but the one day we did hang out by the pool, it was seriously understaffed! it took forever for the poor waiters to get anything because there weren't enough of them. They were trying their best but there is definitely a planning problem with management because they knew it would be a busy weekend for them but they saw no need to staff the pool area better. Drinks came in glasses around the pool, beers were warm, and the water was not cold. The main pool is small for a hotel of this size. We had an adjoining room with our 2 yr old daughter and nanny. We requested king sized beds for both rooms, when we checked in we were told only one room had a king sized bed, when we actually got to our rooms, neither room had a king size bed! The rooms aren't cleaned properly. The fruit at the breakfast buffet is not washed. I got oranges, peaches, and bananas and they were all not washed. We extended our stay in Gouna but moved to the Sheraton Miramar and I'm so happy we did. It is a far superior hotel for the same price. Many other people who were also at the hotel for the wedding party had a lot of problems and complaints about their rooms, service and the food. This is not the standard of a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lasegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
1.2 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
1.8 mi away
Ancient Sands Golf Resort & Residences
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#4 of 18 in El Gouna
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#7 of 18 in El Gouna
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Golf Resort

Address: Golf Island, El Gouna, Hurghada 84513, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#8 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#10 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#10 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#11 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range: $89 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at one of El Gouna's lagoons, in the middle of an 18-hole golf course, the luxurious Steigenberger Golf Resort expresses a mixture of modern architecture with a reflection of regional tradition. The hotel grounds overlook the championship golf course, lagoons, pool and lush gardens. Offering the finest cuisine and excellent service, the hotel caters to the sophisticated golfer and vacationer. Its close distance to the down town and marina of El Gouna invites to have a walk and discover El Gouna's facilities, restaurants, sports and water excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Golf Hotel El Gouna
Steigenberger Hotel El Gouna
Steigenberger Resort El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing