We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Golf Resort
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Confusing Experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The only reason I selected this hotel was its proximity to my family's home. The rooms are spacious, housekeeping provided efficient service. My confusion about how to rate this hotel stems from the small pool, poor gym facility and rocky beach. Furthermore, I invited my brother and his family to the dedicated steigenberger beach and was informed by the beach attendent on the third day that they are not aLlowed on the premises by orders from management. This came as a shock as they paid the beach attendent the previous day the requested fee in addition to asking him to charge my room on the first day, which by the way never showed up on the bill. I still haven't made my mind completely about this placee, however there are nicer hotels in el gouna with nicer facilities and the same rates.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Cairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    399
    141
    58
    48
See reviews for
340
586
127
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cairo
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed there only for a couple of days.
the resort is wonderful, with the pools, artificial lagoon filled from the sea and a beach a little bit far.
transportation is available to take you by boat or bus to different places in El Gouna

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidrusseleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed at the steigenberger to attend a wedding that was being held there. Appalling service! We were checked into a room to find the air conditioning not working. Keep in mind this was at the end of May by the Red Sea, It's very hot! it took them an hour to send someone to fix the A/C when they finally came he said it was fixed....when I told him it didn't seem cooler he said we just had to give it some time to start cooling. We were on our way out to an event as part of the wedding weekend. When we came back later on in the night the A/C was still not working, it took another hour for someone to come and he told he us he didn't have the proper equipment at that time to fix the A/C and we'd have to wait until morning. It was so hot we slept on chairs out in the balcony! My husband went to reception in the morning to tell them to switch our rooms and that he wasn't going to pay for our room for the night before. He was told by the man at reception that he had to pay because the A/C had nothing to do with the room, at the point we asked to speak to the GM. He was very polite and agreed we didn't have to pay and said it was unacceptable that they were not able to fix the A/C and he guaranteed it would be fixed that day and if they were not able to fix it they would change our rooms. When we came back much later in the day it seemed like the A/C still wasn't working....we called reception and asked them to send us someone to help us move our bags and to get us the key of the other room, they said they would send someone but no one ever showed up! In the meantime the A/C started cooling...it took it a good half hour to start cooling....but still no one called to see if it was working, or to help us move...they just totally ignored us. The food in the hotel is AWFUL. We ate at the breakfast buffet and by the pool both were horrible. It was a very busy weekend for the hotel and we didn't spend much time in the hotel but the one day we did hang out by the pool, it was seriously understaffed! it took forever for the poor waiters to get anything because there weren't enough of them. They were trying their best but there is definitely a planning problem with management because they knew it would be a busy weekend for them but they saw no need to staff the pool area better. Drinks came in glasses around the pool, beers were warm, and the water was not cold. The main pool is small for a hotel of this size. We had an adjoining room with our 2 yr old daughter and nanny. We requested king sized beds for both rooms, when we checked in we were told only one room had a king sized bed, when we actually got to our rooms, neither room had a king size bed! The rooms aren't cleaned properly. The fruit at the breakfast buffet is not washed. I got oranges, peaches, and bananas and they were all not washed. We extended our stay in Gouna but moved to the Sheraton Miramar and I'm so happy we did. It is a far superior hotel for the same price. Many other people who were also at the hotel for the wedding party had a lot of problems and complaints about their rooms, service and the food. This is not the standard of a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lasegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

hotel is clean, great food, team not very friendly but overall very nice

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We loved it, the kids did too, very relaxing place.
All inclusive, liked the arranged dine around and gave you a contribution towards meals out. Very fair. Pools are nice, staff very friendly and helpfull.
So much nicer than Tunisia, locals here were very welcomming and polite.
Woud stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Hotel, surroundings and food are very good. We enjoyed our staying there. But at our arriving, they gave us an ugly room, very dark and smelly. We asked for something else, and they made us wait a lot of time, telling us is all they have. Finally they gave us a better room. I asked if I have to pay something more, and they assured me no. Also my guide asked this question and they confirmed.
So we had a beautiful all inclusive week, but when we wanted to live, they asked for more money. I didn't want to pay, of course, but they didn't let me live the hotel. They have soldiers with guns at the entry.
Because an all bus waited for me and my wife to take us to airport, I had to give up and pay.
But was a terrible experience.
Never go back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

it's so calm relaxing place just dinning not so good may be they must improve it if can , i just stayed there 5 nights and it been so great about i found the relaxing environment that i looked for , room not so big as i used to find but it's clean and good , stuff there friendly and feel u that they's pleasure by u and want to help u if u want , the only comment there about food not so bad but not like u can expect , beaches also so nice and the view also u can find long green aria anywhere u look , that's all there

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_miro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
1.2 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
763 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ancient Sands Golf Resort & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#10 of 18 in El Gouna
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa El Gouna
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Golf Resort

Property: Steigenberger Golf Resort
Address: Golf Island, El Gouna, Hurghada 84513, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in El Gouna
#6 Spa Hotel in El Gouna
#9 Luxury Hotel in El Gouna
#10 Romantic Hotel in El Gouna
#11 On the Beach Hotel in El Gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at one of El Gouna's lagoons, in the middle of an 18-hole golf course, the luxurious Steigenberger Golf Resort expresses a mixture of modern architecture with a reflection of regional tradition. The hotel grounds overlook the championship golf course, lagoons, pool and lush gardens. Offering the finest cuisine and excellent service, the hotel caters to the sophisticated golfer and vacationer. Its close distance to the down town and marina of El Gouna invites to have a walk and discover El Gouna's facilities, restaurants, sports and water excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Golf Hotel El Gouna
Steigenberger Hotel El Gouna
Steigenberger Resort El Gouna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing