We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Nearby Hotels
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$163
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$95
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Panorama Bungalows Resort El Gouna(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$90
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dawar El Omda(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$43
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fanadir Hotel(El Gouna)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arena Inn(El Gouna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ali Pasha Hotel(El Gouna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveler rating
420
306
67
21
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
306
67
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle boatzeytouna islandbeach boyclose to downtownnice swimming poolhalf boardsmall hotellagoon viewrooms are comfortableenjoyed my staytravel agentrelaxing holidayprivate beachlovely roomdowntown el gounatok tokspecial thanks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 824 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

As second hotel of my summer holiday 2012, we decided to visit El gouna in small hotel called Sultan bay
Sultan bay is a small hotel located in downtown elgouna (3 min walk from supermarket, bus station),
Perfect for relaxing. it gives you the feeling that you are in your own cozy property.
No animation, no night activities (only the general gouna activities which is on Wed and Fri located outside the hotel)

The hotel is good if you are a diver or going to explore egypt reasons:
+ You don't have to pay for all inclusive that keeps you day and night in the hotel
+ Near to bus station, diving centers, shopping area and lots of different resturants
- 30 min to center of Hurghada (taxi = 30 € or public bus =2€ per person) (price is 2 ways)


My rate in details:

1- For Children (7/10)
For those who travel with children , The hotel is perfect if you are not looking for children activities managed by animators.
+baby-cot is available
+baby chair in the restaurants
+Perfect and small swimming pool for children
+You can always keep your children on sight as the number of tourist is very limited.
-No playground, mini club
-No children meals
-No children entertainment nor activities

2- Room (7/10)
Nice rooms location swimming pool or lagoons
+ Standard room large enough for a couple and a baby cot or extra bed
+ Minibar available (affordable price 2€ soft drink, 4€ beer, 19€ bottle of wine)
+ Nice small balcony
- Room need some maintenance and upgrade (old creepy TV, old hair drier)


3- Food&Drinks (8/10)
You will get what you expect from 4 stars hotel, small 1 restaurant with daily of different 6 to 7 main dishes.
+ Buffet is very clean
+ Clean fruit and vegetables
+ Tasty sweet and food
+ Drink price is affordable +/- 2 € for soft drink

4- Beach (7/10)
Sultan bay has its own beach located at Zeytouna island which is accessible by shuttle boat (3 min)

+ Nice beach with restaurant and bar
+ Bridge takes you over all corals and shallow parts directly to a nice snorkeling area
+ sandy area for children to play
+ Beach volleyball, aqua center and massage is available.
+ little playground for children
- No live guard
- sometimes we need to wait for a couple of hours to get a towels (so i advise to take your towels with you from the swimming pool)
- you don't find place if you arrive late (after 11 am)
- beach boys reserve places to some tourist
- Beach is shared with 4 other hotels.

5- swimming pool (8/10)
+ small will maintained swimming pool
+ small isolated (by a small bridge) part for children

6- Staff (9/10)
As usual in Egypt, staff are always friendly.
+ Well trained staff
+ good and fast service

7- Sleep quality (10/10)
+ no noise, no music, perfect!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the swimming pool are have better view Rooms on the lagoons are quieter Visit the beach early to reserve a place
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Waseem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I just came back from a short break with my family to Gouna.we stayed at this small hotel .it was actually my fourth visit to this hotel I tend to visit Gouna once every year.this year I felt the hotel was different the room was newly refurbished but not quite done nicely .the buffet breakfast was not at the same standard as before .i really felt sad as the hotel was better before .my son lost the key to the room when he went out with his friends I had to pay 100 LE (15 euros) which I felt was too much .they still use ordinary keys in the hotel I told the front office manager that it was better for them to use cards to open the doors he said that maybe one day they would do that .i think next year I might stay at another hotel especially that this year I payed much more for the 2 Dbl rooms I booked.

Room Tip: Higher floors overlooking the lagoon are much better don't take a room over looking the beach club next door it's very noisy you won't be able to sleep early from the noise
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiapride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I have just came back from a 4 days stay at the hotel and i thought of sharing my views and opinions with u.

In fact, the best thing i found about thr hotel is its perfect location, about 2 mins walk from the downtown.
it is clean, has good room service and polite staff.

But to tell the truth, what really annoyed me during my stay is when the electricity cuts in elgouna there is no generator, and so as a result of the cut, the water also cuts.:S

To sum up, i recommend the hotel for pple who is looking for an average hotel with affordable rates.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shadwaalaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt-cel, Manager at Hotel Sultan Bey Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Shadwaalaa,
Many thanks for posting your comments, We have noted with pleasure that you have overall enjoyed your stay at our hotel and hope that you have taken home fond memories of El Gouna.
Let me apologize for the inconveniences you went through due to the electricity cuts, El Gouna does have power generator but they do not cover the needs of all hotels and inhabitants during the hot summer periods where all AC's are running. Power cuts are not so frequent during the year and have been frequent last week due to general work on the electricity supply in Egypt.
Sultan Bey team hopes to have the chance to welcome you again soon.
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just returned from a week (all inclusive)at Sultan Bey with my friend. On arrival we were delighted to see how pretty to hotel is. The hotel is a lot smaller than most hotels I've been to before in Egypt (this being my 4th time) and I certainly wouldn't call it a resort.

Unfortunately, the swimming pool was closed for refurbishment which meant we missed out on this pretty little area, the restaurant and pool bar. We used the pool next door at the Club House which was fine, but the little All Inclusive drinks shack located there was pretty bad. Plus as the Club House is open to the public it does get busy. But we can highly recommend the food there, although at an extra cost.

We only went to Zeytona beach once and stay only a few hours. The beach is OK, has nice sun beds and shades, but we got fed up with the constant hassle from guys selling their tours or generally wanting to chat.

We only had one restaurant for all meals, unless we used the "Dine Around" scheme for evening meals, at an extra cost. The food, I found to be very repetative, especially at lunch. Each day the same beef in pepper sauce and white fish was on offer, from the Chefs section. Small salad selection, and left over deserts from the night before. Breakfast was OK, although there is not the huge selection compared to other hotels, the usual Chef will cook you eggs how you like, small selection of hot breakfast items, fruit and cereal. Dinner didn't get much better. By far the best night was the BBQ night. Therefore we used the Dine Around scheme twice (can be used up to 3 times if staying for 7 nights ot more). On both occasions we went to Bua Khuo, the Thai restaurant at the Movenpick and loved it. Although our total bill came to 500 Egyptian Pounds for 2 people, (the hotel will give you a credit note for 40 egpytain pounds towards the cost), the food, service and atmosphere was definately worth it.

The staff in the restaurant were hit and miss. Some took a great interest in you, and some were not so interested. They often forgot about drinks and generally a bit slow and not very happy! I know they must work really long days and given the temperature out there the poor guys were dripping with sweat, but again, this wasn't the nicest thing to see when eating.

The rooms were basic and tired, although this was fine, as we were only there to sleep, but they could have been more attractively decorated and made to feel a bit more luxurious.
There was no entertainment at night, nor was there any kind of proper bar. The bar just had empty bottles in the window and was not often staffed which meant reception regularly calling the restaurant to have someone come over to serve you drinks. The evenings can get a little boring, so our pack of cards came in handy! Although both Aramous and Mahmood, kept us entertained during the nights.

We appeared to be the only British there. All where either German or Eyptian.

All in all... we did have a lovely time but I don't think I would be returning to Sultan Bey again... and would next time book a bigger resort like the Movenpick if we were to return El Gouna.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BowdenHogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt-cel, Manager at Hotel Sultan Bey Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear BowdenHogg,
Thank you very much for your review on Sultan Bey Hotel –El Gouna. We are very sorry for what appears to be not an impressive experience in our hotel.
It is true that during your stay our pool was closed due to a much needed upgrade. There really is no good time to do it but we did select the time period with the lowest hotel occupancy possible in order to minimize the disturbance to our guests. We selected the Club House pool as an alternative for the main reason that it is accessible without leaving the hotel. As the Club House is a private business accessible to all El Gouna visitors we know that at times it gets busy. Therefore we also offered the pool of the neighboring hotel Dawar El Omda as a 2nd alternative but, to be fair, not actively and only when guests voiced their concerns about the Club House alternative. We did install a little All Inclusive kiosk in the Club House in order to serve our All Inclusive guests staying there. This kiosk is in-line with all health & safety standards, serves all food and beverages in accordance with the service level agreement and is kept clean and well maintained at all times. Unfortunately your description of -pretty bad- does not allow us to understand what exactly did not fulfill your expectations.
It is also true that on Zeytouna Beach we have multiple businesses, like aqua center, massage center etc… selling their wares to vacationers. In order to avoid too much disturbance to our guests we have a strict policy that no 2 sales men may conduct sales at the same time. They are on a rotation schedule. This of course still means that there is 1 sales man present at all times. Should this still have disturbed you or if at any time our policy was not respected we sincerely apologize. Your remark has been forwarded to the Zeytouna Beach management and we will immediately increase our controls on this policy.
We offer as much variation in our meals as we can in a small hotel of 115 rooms. That this cannot compete with a buffet in a 500 room property is true but then smaller hotels have other benefits. Our buffets are on a 2 weekly schedule offering different flavors every day. We will investigate what happened during lunch as under no circumstances should pepper beef and white fish be offered every day even if we only have 10 persons booked for this buffet.
Our staff is usually described as friendly and forthcoming. Some guests like verbal contact with the staff others prefer just to be served. We try to cater to all preferences. We apologize for not having met yours. Delays in orders are certainly not our usual standard. We promise to double our efforts on this matter. This year is unusually hot and indeed, the staff is suffering under these conditions. We have already started with taking steps to provide increased ventilation on our terrace to avoid our staff sweating which we of course agree is not an appetizing sight…
We agree that our rooms are basic and tired. A full renovation was planned for 2011 but unfortunately had to be cancelled due to the still ongoing economic crisis in Egypt. In the mean time our efforts go to keeping the rooms clean and well maintained until such time we will be able to invest. We have already started by upgrading our swimming pool and will soon continue with the rooms.
As a hotel located in downtown El Gouna we indeed do not offer much in terms of entertainment. One oriental show and one night of live music are what is offered on a weekly basis because all forms of entertainment are available within 5 minutes walking distance. We are aware this creates a conflict for our all inclusive guests and that is why we market our property as a hotel for relaxation on all our distribution channels.
We would like to express again our deepest regret for not meeting your expectations and promise to do the necessary to improve our services. You have provided us with a lot of details that will help us to improve or at least catch mistakes in already present standards. For that we convey our sincerest thanks. We hope that you will consider Sultan Bey Hotel again for your holidays but must also honestly state that we should not be compared with the 5 star Moevenpick resort with thrice the size and price.
Thank you very much for your support and consideration.
f/o
Alec De View
GM Sultan Bey Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great location, very tastefull food, service could be a little better concerning the restaurant. Several times they forgot to bring the drinks. But beside that, they are very friendly.
Nice pool, although for bigger children it might be small. The nice littel boats bring you in 3 minutes to the bigger beach every 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews