We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna
Nearby Hotels
Three Corners Rihana Inn(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dawar El Omda(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Captain's Inn(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$82
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Three Corners Rihana Resort(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$54
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Panorama Bungalows Resort El Gouna(El Gouna)(Great Value!)
$87
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,987)
Filter reviews
2,987 results
Traveler rating
2,063
658
175
52
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,063
658
175
52
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorient restaurantjogging trackshuttle busitalian restaurantmain restaurantbeach bardinner buffetsun loungerskids clubsea viewheated poolspecial thanksegyptian poundstok toknice beachanimation teamhurghada airport
Filter
Updating list...
868 - 873 of 2,987 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have now stayed twice in Sheraton El Gouna and we like it as we live in Cairo so it is an easy four-hour trip door-to-door and the quietness of El Gouna is a welcome respite from the chaos of Cairo. El Gouna is best characterised as a North American gated suburb ... the hotel is spread out across beautifully landscaped grounds so it never feels crowded (except around the pool) and is very relaxing. There are playgrounds for the children and the main pool is kept heated to around 27-28 degrees through the winter months. The staff are excellent and try very hard. The diving and kite surfing in El Gouna are also very good and there is a very professional diving operation based on the Hotel grounds (independent of the Sheraton) and a very popular kite-surfing operation on the beach of the neighbouring hotel (couple-minutes walk).

The downsides: firstly, El Gouna is all man-made, including the beaches - they are fine for sunbathing, but not the sort of beach for building sandcastles or messing around in the water and most guests end-up hanging around the swimming pool - if I had flown here for a beach holiday, I would be disappointed; and secondly the hotel is geared for family package holidays, so food is generally rather bland and unmemorable - certainly not the standard you would expect from a 'Sheraton'. There are much better eating options in the 'downtown' area of El Gouna, but one should not come to Egypt expecting a gastronomic holiday ... El Gouna is also not the place to go if you are looking for 'night-life' ... but if you want good diving, kite surfing and quiet ...

Room Tip: If you have small children, you probably are better asking for a room close to the pool as the resort is large and it can be a long walk to the pool otherwise ... if you want peace and quiet ask for a room away from the pool ...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear A P,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your 2nd stay with us and looking forward to your 3rd and 4th and more to enjoy the benefits of being a repeated guest.

Hope to see you soon in the near future.

Regards
Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is our second visit in 12 months and I can only congratulate the staff and management of this hotel for their excellent hard work. The stay was delightful and at no point were needs not met. The front office were pleasant and very welcoming. The beach front room next to the Palace was second to none with amazing views. The room was large, clean and easily within the 4-5 star standard. The en suite was similarly excellent. House keeping did an excellent job clearing out the sand etc from the daily kitesurfing sessions (Zeitouna Beach, Kite family group) which meant the room always felt fresh after a hard day on the beach!! The King size bed was very comfortable with a large selection of pillows.

The dining facilities were of a good standard and a new selection was available every day at the restaurant. No issues regarding gastroenteritis which has been experienced at other resorts on the Red Sea. It is clear that catering staff go to great measures to make sure everything is clean and tidy. The fresh orange juice every morning was delicious. There is however an ongoing issue regarding real coffee at most resorts on the Red Sea- it would be nice not to drink granulated coffee (minor point). The other restaurants at the hotel provide an alternative experience with a similarily good choice of meals. The beach hut restaurant provides a nice selection of drinks and snacks if you get peckish on the beach. The half board arrangement is ideal as you will not go hungry after a sumptious breakfast and having dinner at 1830 means you have between 1030 to 1830 you can enjoy the Sun/sea/water sports etc.

It must be noted that this hotel has quite a following with some people taking up residence for up to 3 months at a time! This highlights how excellent the hotel is!

Regarding El Gouna- the resort feels a million miles away from the ongoing issues in the rest of the country/Middle East. Its unfortunate that the current political climate in the area has resulted in tourists staying away. The degree of fear is largely unfounded and driven unfortunately by the press, people should bear in mind that El Gouna is a private city with 2 entrances both of which are gated and entry into the resort is controlled. This means unnecessary traffic to the area as a result of day trippers is kept down to a minimum. The tok-tok transport system works and is cheap by European standards. The Marinas are nice and "Down-town" is a great place to grab a mint and lemon juice in the evening at Tamr Hena. Extra provisions can be bought from Bestways which has a large collection of both imported and local goods.

We will be going again in the near future.
Excellent work Sheraton Mirmar.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zamunda123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Zamunda123,

Thank you very much for your feedback and detailed comments. It is really great to know that yuo enjoyed your recent and 2nd stay with us. Your detailed review says that you tried most of the outelts and services . Thsi is great.

Hope to see you soon during your 3rd stay in the near future.

Regards
Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a perfect location if u r targeting relaxation .
If u have kids they will not be much entertained ; there is no much morning or night life at the hotel except for one night oriental show. I can say it is somehow boring.
The food is nice ; special thanks to chef Sabry he was a great help. The oriental buffet was great.
The room is spacious specially the upper floor but not as luxurious as I expected. Sure the hotel is missing an entertainment team they must recruit one !

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank modino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear modino,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your overall stay. We are working on the entertainment schedule and improvement will take place.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Sheraton Miramar Resort.


Regards
Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Before you try planning your vacation , you have to decide your targets .. And what you exactly need in your hotel ... Here in Egypt we have a traditional belief for so many years, that if someone searching a luxury hotel brand , either Hilton or Sheraton would be the perfect choice.

This holiday Sheraton Miramar resort was my choice as I am always searching luxury hotels in my trips, so I tried the Egyptian way
From the first moment I entered the lobby I felt that may be the egyptian old beliefs have to be changed, the lobby decorations was chic and colors was good and relaxing,yet the expected luxury became a mirage :))

Check in: the process was fine and smooth, staff were cooperative and polite.

Room: took the classic room with lagoon view, the decorations and furniture are simple and the terrace view is beautiful , yet the luxury dream was once again a mirage !!

F&B: I pay the all inclusive supplement Expecting the sheraton high standards for food and beverages but I was wrong again ..The buffet breakfast was excellent with a wide variation yet the dinner buffet was average with poor variation and a far sheraton food quality ... The food for lunch at the Italian restaurant and the beach bar was good (better at beach bar)
The staff members at the hotel are polite and helpful.

Landscapes :I loved the hotel pictures on the net because of the marvelous natural views ... I was right this time .. The resort has a very fascinating views of colorful flowers and landscapes of the lagoon, beach and bridges connecting the 9islands of the resort .. I really loved it !!!

Spa : Fine yet no jacuzzi !!

Overall experience and recommendations: this resort is ideal for families and honeymooners ... Don't expect luxury of the sheraton brand coz it became a history now specially in Egypt yet this resort is the best sheraton and one of the most beautiful resorts in Egypt .. This very large resort has only 2 swimming pools; one large heated and another small cold one ... I really wondered how such a large resort has just 2 swimming pools only ??!!!!.. If you have children take a pool view room close to main pool coz beach view rooms I a little bit far !!

If you just want a nice vacation with your family in a nice place you can try Sheraton Miramar !!


Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Dr-Bassim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Dr-Bassim,

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments. Ia feel great with this very detailed review and thanks for it. This means that you tried the resort inside out. Please rest assured that we are working on the areas of improvement highlighted in the review.


Once again thanks for the details and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Regards
Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We returned a year later to find the Sheraton just as lovely as last year. Beautiful gardens, wonderful helpful staff, lovely room and delicious breakfasts! On our arrival we were greeted as long lost friends and had a fabulous upgrade to a room with the most beautiful views over the beach and canals.
We ate really well inthe marina and downtown and loved our trips in the tuc tucs or local bus.
The hotel was very quiet as people seem to be worried about safety in Egypt . We felt completely safe the whole week and only felt nervous on our return to Gatwick where we were greeted by 15 machine gun armed police at 9 am!
Ehab and his colleagues on reception were so helpful. We cannot thank them enough for all they helped us with. Our return to the airport was so efficient and they all helped with restaurant bookings etc. Amazing value you would struggle to beat it.We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan_jane5559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islam M, Deputy General Manager at Sheraton Miramar Resort El Gouna, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Susan_jane5559,

Many thanks for the review. Thsi is your 2nd visit after a year and we hope to see you soon again for the 3rd time in our resort. I am very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stays with us and tried all our services and the destination.

Hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
Islam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews