We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big burgers - excellent value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Garage - Gourmet Burger

Le Garage - Gourmet Burger
Ranked #2 of 83 Restaurants in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: International, European, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Le garage is a typical Burger Restaurant , but not a fast food restaurant, its located at the Marina of el gouna, nice Terrace with a fantastic view on the water. We serve a big variation of around 22 burgers, also for vegetarians, very nice salads, soups and filet steaks. Our daily freshly baked cakes are great too. The friendly waiters and chefs are all wearing a garage overall, suitable to the name "le garage" Please don't forget to write a comment on the restaurant walls. Free WLAN for all guests
Surrey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Big burgers - excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We visited this restaurant twice during our recent trip to El Gouna, as we were 4 adults and 2 children it was one of the boys' favourite restaurants. The waiters wear overalls which looks a bit weird but is in keeping with the theme of the place.

I would suggest that you don't need starters at this restaurant as the portions are huge, and are served with loads of salad and chips. We had a variety of burgers between us (Fish burger, Classic burger, Tandoori Chicken burger and Swiss burger) and the boys had chicken drumsticks and fries. The burgers are definitely not fast food burgers. With a bottle of beausoleil red wine, the bill came to 806 LE, which I consider was excellent value for money.

The location is great too, overlooking the marina - idyllic!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank justlovemyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    172
    27
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dodgy wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Food average, burger undercooked and wine not too great, staff had little interest and could do with customer care course, loved El Gouna, will not go back this restaurant though.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beanjar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

this is one of the best burgers i have ever ate in my life !!
you cannot go to the marina without trying gourmet burger and special salad :)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank rasha h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hip hamburger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

This hamburger restaurant lies at the Abu Tig Marina. I ate a Blue cheese hamburger and my girlfriend had the goat cheese hamburger. We were both very pleased with the burger. The downside was the fries and the music. The fries was quite boring and tasteless and i'm not sure if they were handmade or not. The music was tasteless as well. Für Elise, Eric Clapton and discomusic was mixed with boy bands and hip hop. They should think about that the music id definitely a part of the atmosphere and it did not sync with the image the restaurant wants to convey. The service was quick and polite.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the worst meals of my life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

We own an apartment in El Gouna and have been meaning to visit Le Garage for some while. Having seen the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to make a trip on our Christmas visit. The location is very pleasant - right beside the Marina. Not being ones to spend the equivalent of Stg£20/£30 on their wagyu beef burgers, I opted to go for the more modest classic beef burger (£6ish), whilst my husband ordered the swiss. Upon cutting into the burger, the texture looked a bit strange - not all hot crumbly meat as usual in a good burger, but the texture was almost like pate, it was ground so smooth (like very cheap frozen burgers). I literally had two bites, first one was unpleasant - and a tiny second one to test again. Accross the table, my husband was having a similar experience. We just left the food, paid and left - and felt so ill we were unable to face food for the balance of the night even though we were starving. The manager appeared unconcerned that his customers had such a bad experience - and tried to justify it by saying it was Egyptian beef which is different from European or Argentinian beef. We have visited El Gouna countless times over the past 5 years, and had some excellent meals of Egyptian beef in other restaurants. I really couldn't recommend this place - I can't think of a worse meal we have had in the resort. Shame - as the location is wonderful.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank georgeot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Garage - Gourmet Burger also viewed

 

Been to Le Garage - Gourmet Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing