We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum”

White Elephant Thai Resturant
Ranked #25 of 83 Restaurants in El Gouna
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We were recommended this restaurant for its good food, cheap price - and that it didn't make its patrons sick (other restaurants in Downtown El Gouna don't share that reputation!) I've seen it mentioned on other Trip Advisor postings as a recommendation for eating in El Gouna - would really recommend it as it was great food and very popular!
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Best Thai meal I've had great relaxing and welcoming restaurant been 4 times now

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    117
    33
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Authentic Thai food and nice staff”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This restaurant was one we thought we would try after a recommend on tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed, lovely food atmosphere and setting. It can be busy, so sometimes it may be advisable to dine earlier or book!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank jenvilla2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well worth finding”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This was our third visit to El Gouna and we finally tracked the restaurant down - had meant to use it sooner but never made it, turned out to be an excellent move

The restaurant was busy on both nights we ate there, on the first night El Gouna was quite quiet and it seemed to be popular with those on longer residency.
We had a range of starters but must commend the Fish Cakes and Coconut Soup as particularly tasty. My wife was also rather taken with the Crab Souffle. For the main meal the range was just as good, a wonderful Red Curry soup with prawns, excellent Sweet and sour prawns and also several great noodle dishes.
We didn't get to the puddings as we were comfortably replete on two courses washed down by a Sakarah. Good service that suffered a little on the busier second night due to sheer demand of customers.

Definitely one to go back to on the quality of the food alone and at 350 LE for the three of us - well it can't be bad.

Enjoy

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amfarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great value and great food”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

So good we went there twice during our 10 day stay

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artofeffectiveliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm-el-Sheikh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Thai food at reasonable price”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Varied menu to choose from, quite cheap prices, great food, good service, and consistent. I've visited this restaurant regularly in El Gouna (don't go to the Thai White Elephant at the Marina, Hurghada - same name, totally different and very disappointing by comparison!).

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharmingdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Elephant Thai Resturant also viewed

El Gouna, Hurghada
El Gouna, Hurghada
 

Been to White Elephant Thai Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing