We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!”
Review of Fanadir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fanadir Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excellent hotel. Great staff throughout, the service was attentive but not fussy. We loved our pool side room. Would certainly recommend and return to the Fanadir, an ideal place for a drop of winter sunshine. On previous trips to El Gouna we stayed in the downtown area, but much preferred to be around the Marina, though it's easy to scoot from one to another by tuc tuc or bus. Go...enjoy.

Room Tip: Ground floor pool side room was great, we moved from the first floor (our friends were pool side &am...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soozipooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for Fanadir Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 418 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a week in January and we were really pleasantly surprised at how great this hotel was. El Gouna was extremely quiet, as was the hotel, so we were upgraded upon arrival to the Ambassador's Suite! I didn't see any of the other rooms in the hotel, but ours was beautiful - very clean, with a large bed, television, sofa and large windows that looked out onto the pool.

Breakfast was very good and consisted of a buffet including hot and cold dishes, as well as pastries, fruit, cereal, etc. The staff were very helpful and also spoke excellent English.

The hotel is a very short walk to the main restaurants and bars of the marina where you can get a tuk tuk to the downtown area, so it's ideally situated. It was quiet when we visited but at a busier time I imagine it would be a good choice if you want to be away from noisy late night revellers. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smileykate100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

In general Fanadir is a good spot for people seeking a relaxing holiday. Its a quiet place that suits those who need to rest and refresh their mind. I don't recommend it for youth or dynamic people like me who like to fill in their Holiday with entertaining activities they will be bored. The rooms that overseas the marine has a fabulous scene that is so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amr s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stood in the hotel for 2 weeks and we were both very happy. The hotel is nice, clean, well kept and provides everything one can hope for: close to the beach, pool, safe, water boiler, minibar, etc. Even the mattress was reasonable good. But the best thing about the hotel were the staff. The staff was extremely nice, friendly, good mooded and helpful.

The only thing that didn't life up the general standard was the room service food. We ordered twice from the room service and the food was bad both times. But that could have been from the fact that many people from the staff were on Christmas holidays themselves.

El Gouna itself is a paradise for tourists. I was a bit concerned about safety in Egypt but within El Gouna we never felt unsafe. It is a place were only rich Egyptians live - and tourists. The whole town is owned by a single person that seems to understand what tourists are looking for. One of his rules is that restaurants and shops don't approach you to come in. So, you can actually walk along downtown without being approached all the time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KlausKausM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The Fanadir hotel is a great value. It's location of the new section of the Abu Tig marina, but very close (walking distance) to the heart of the marina.

All the sections of the hotel overlook the courtyard pool. Breakfast which was included can be eaten inside or outside next to the pool.

The rooms are simple but overall nicely done and clean. There was a water boiler but no tea bags of coffee waiting in the room. We had to ask one of the staff for that.

Enjoyed the 3 night stay and would easily come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raverpoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on November 20th 2012 and was fantastic!!! A small quiet hotel with no kids and staff that were second to none - genuinely very friendly and very helpful...

The only letdown was the evening buffet so do what we did and just do B&B as there were superb restaurants in the marina and especially down town where the food was alot cheaper!!!

Overall a near faultless hotel and resort - cannot recommend El Gouna and this hotel highly enough!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Fanadir Hotel, which is in a quiet location in the beautiful resort of El Gouna. Our stay was excellent from start to finish. We were given a room upgrade to a Suite on arrival and found the staff to be friendly and attentive throughout. The hotel is spotlessly clean and all the staff work incredibly hard to maintain their high standards. We only had breakfast and a few poolside lunch snacks at the hotel, as we chose to eat out every night. The breakfast was excellent with a great choice, as well as the very popular omelette and pancake bar! The lunch options we chose while relaxing around the pool were also substantial and of a high standard. The hotel is quite small and although modern, still manages to have a bit of an Egyptian feel to it, unlike the monstrously large Hilton and Movenpick hotels that we visited, which were more like mini towns with no atmosphere and could be anywhere in the world, but each to their own. The Fanadir is at the new marina which we found to be an ideal location. It is a short but enjoyable walk away from the marina centre which has quality bars, restaurants and entertainment on offer, and a little further afield from downtown El Gouna which offers yet more options and facilities, easily reached by tuk tuk transportation. We found El Gouna to be a spotlessly clean, hassle free and beautiful resort which may not be for everybody, but it certainly made its mark on us, and the fantastic weather we enjoyed was a bonus. We'll definitely be back, and soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.4 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
477 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#7 of 18 in El Gouna
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ancient Sands Golf Resort & Residences
0.4 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#2 of 18 in El Gouna
399 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
Hotel Sultan Bey Resort
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanadir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanadir Hotel

Address: Abu Tig Marina North Basin | El Gouna, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Price Range: $32 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanadir Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fanadir Hotel offers modern comfort and blissful quietude in a child-free environment in El Gouna on the Red Sea coast. Opened in 2010 as part of Abu Tig Marina's latest development, it overlooks the North Basin and its luxury yachts. Ideal to escape the crowds, this serene setting is merely a few steps away from the main attractions of the marina's South Basin, including cafes and restaurants, bars and nightclubs, and a wide array of boutiques and souvenir shops. The Fanadir Hotel's ideal location, combined with Egypt's mild climate, makes it a perfect choice for holidaymakers seeking active seaside vacations, and in particular for kitesurfers. Within walking distance, Mangroovy Beach has shallow waters and consistent winds; it is home to three kitesurfing stations offering beginner classes, private tuition, and supervised freeriding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fanadir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing