We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel with great location.”
Review of Fanadir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fanadir Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The Fanadir hotel is a great value. It's location of the new section of the Abu Tig marina, but very close (walking distance) to the heart of the marina.

All the sections of the hotel overlook the courtyard pool. Breakfast which was included can be eaten inside or outside next to the pool.

The rooms are simple but overall nicely done and clean. There was a water boiler but no tea bags of coffee waiting in the room. We had to ask one of the staff for that.

Enjoyed the 3 night stay and would easily come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raverpoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 426 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on November 20th 2012 and was fantastic!!! A small quiet hotel with no kids and staff that were second to none - genuinely very friendly and very helpful...

The only letdown was the evening buffet so do what we did and just do B&B as there were superb restaurants in the marina and especially down town where the food was alot cheaper!!!

Overall a near faultless hotel and resort - cannot recommend El Gouna and this hotel highly enough!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Fanadir Hotel, which is in a quiet location in the beautiful resort of El Gouna. Our stay was excellent from start to finish. We were given a room upgrade to a Suite on arrival and found the staff to be friendly and attentive throughout. The hotel is spotlessly clean and all the staff work incredibly hard to maintain their high standards. We only had breakfast and a few poolside lunch snacks at the hotel, as we chose to eat out every night. The breakfast was excellent with a great choice, as well as the very popular omelette and pancake bar! The lunch options we chose while relaxing around the pool were also substantial and of a high standard. The hotel is quite small and although modern, still manages to have a bit of an Egyptian feel to it, unlike the monstrously large Hilton and Movenpick hotels that we visited, which were more like mini towns with no atmosphere and could be anywhere in the world, but each to their own. The Fanadir is at the new marina which we found to be an ideal location. It is a short but enjoyable walk away from the marina centre which has quality bars, restaurants and entertainment on offer, and a little further afield from downtown El Gouna which offers yet more options and facilities, easily reached by tuk tuk transportation. We found El Gouna to be a spotlessly clean, hassle free and beautiful resort which may not be for everybody, but it certainly made its mark on us, and the fantastic weather we enjoyed was a bonus. We'll definitely be back, and soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I enjoyed in the Fanadir especially the friendly staff and the food. The hotel is rather small (about 60 rooms) and thus much more relaxed than some of the 5-star hotels in El Gouna (e.g. the Mövenpick has 550 rooms).
Everyday there is a different menu and some of the food is always fresh prepared just for you. It was better than in two of the five star hotels in El Gouna that we tried.

Room Tip: I got a free upgrade to a "marina view" room which is usually more expensive. However, I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jochen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

The Junior Suite with Marina View is really nice and the staff is very friendly. If you have any wishes you can say it at the reception and they will do it asap...
The Location is very quite (no children) and it is only a five minutes walk to the shops and restaurants.
The hotel is perfect for Kitesurfers!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silke0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

stuff is very nice and helpful, rooms are big, pool is very nice for hot days without wind for kiters.
for non kiting people: due to the fact that on windy days all the surfers are out for the whole day, you have the pool almost on your own.

we had to change room because our first pool view room didn´t have a proper shower cabin, so the water was floating the whole room. walls and the bathroom door have already been damaged by the water. although there were plenty of "harbour view rooms" available they didn´t let us change the room without paying 30 Euros per extra night.

next day we got a perfect "pool view room"

everything else, including breakfast and dinner was very nice. very silent, walking distance to the "nightlife" of the Abu Tig Marina.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dumpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I just love this place. Its small, but you dont feel cramped. Its well serviced, has excellent staff, and is very very clean and modern. Coming from Cairo for mini break weekends, we have now chosen this hotel 4 times. And it has never failed - in fact i would say it has gotten better every time. The pool area is beautiful, and you are minutes away from the marina, with may bars and restaurants. The breakfast is excellent with a wide vairerty of food, cold and hot, as is the lunch menu. The rooms are modern, with very tasteful decor and very clean. We have stayed here with a couple and with friends - good for all occassions. Most guests are European. There is excellent water sport facilities nearby (Kite Surfing), which the hotel can help you with. They can also provide help with getting to/from airport. Essentially faultless. Love it.

Room Tip: I like a room on the 3rd floor for the view, but there are only stairs, no elevator (that i have see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PollyinCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Gouna hotels
0.4 mi away
Three Corners Ocean View Hotel - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Mosaique Hotel
Mosaique Hotel
#5 of 18 in El Gouna
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ancient Sands Golf Resort & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Captain's Inn
The Captain's Inn
#6 of 18 in El Gouna
585 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dawar El Omda
Dawar El Omda
#7 of 18 in El Gouna
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ali Pasha Hotel
Ali Pasha Hotel
#3 of 18 in El Gouna
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanadir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanadir Hotel

Address: Abu Tig Marina North Basin | El Gouna, El Gouna, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada > El Gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in El Gouna
Price Range: $32 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanadir Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fanadir Hotel offers modern comfort and blissful quietude in El Gouna on the Red Sea coast. Opened in 2010 as part of Abu Tig Marina's latest development, it overlooks the North Basin and its luxury yachts. Ideal to escape the crowds, this serene setting is merely a few steps away from the main attractions of the marina's South Basin, including cafes and restaurants, bars and nightclubs, and a wide array of boutiques and souvenir shops. The Fanadir Hotel's ideal location, combined with Egypt's mild climate, makes it a perfect choice for holidaymakers seeking active seaside vacations, and in particular for kitesurfers. Within walking distance, Mangroovy Beach has shallow waters and consistent winds; it is home to three kitesurfing stations offering beginner classes, private tuition, and supervised freeriding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fanadir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing