We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* service, excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2009

we booked for a party of 7 (two families with children aged 10, 14 and 15 years). We had searched for weeks trying to find a hotel that would suit us all at a reasonable price during the school holidays. Having read hundreds of reviews for hotels all over the Red Sea we eventually booked this hotel 10 days before travelling hoping the good reviews would not fail us.
We booked private transfers from the airport (through Holidays2heaven - fantastic value, we were met in the airport terminal, "walked" through the visas etc and then guided to our private minibus)
We arrived late in the evening to find the restaurant had closed. Beshoy, the restaurant manager, kindly arranged a meal for us served with smiles by the staff despite them trying to clear up after their incredible long day.
This kindness set the scene for our entire stay. The staff work incredibly long hours but are always helpful and smiling. The service really is 5* effort by all staff no matter where they work. A please and thankyou goes a long way with everybody.
The food was always freshly prepared, salad bar was excellent, the kitchen staff work hard to keep the food topped up. Drinks in the restaurant are served at your table by the waiters but some of the guests refused to wait so queued up causing chaos for the barman who was trying to keep up with the waiters and the guests crouding round his area! Sit down people - you are on holiday - the drinks flow freely if you allow the staff the space to do their job!!
The breeze is very welcome in the morning in the heat and the sea calms in the afternoon allowing for snorkelling off the jetty which is fantastic - we have been to Taba before and here is much better. You can hire snorkelling equipment for a daily rate from the on-site Dive shop.
Hotel courtesy bus takes you into Dahab town several times a day - this is worth a trip as the town is very stressfree - no hard sell from any of the shop owners. Lots of restaurants and bars along the sea front - we didnt eat out as we were enjoying hotel food too much but had a few drinks in Nautica bar which does a very good Pina Colada!
Some of the reviews we read are unfair with their complaints - some areas of the hotel may need a bit of TLC but this is Egypt - if you want 5* hotels then you should be prepared to pay the extra money.
Our final comment - would we go back to this hotel? - yes definitely!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bertiewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2009

My partner and I have just returned form 2 weeks staying at the Tropitel, having visited Egypt 2 yrs ago but then stayed in Sharm, this time we decided to stay in Dahab. Dahab is alot quieter than Sharm, but if you want a nice relaxing chilled out holiday, then Dahab is a great place. The hotel we found was absolutely fine. Very clean, staff helpful, lovely spacious room which was cleaned every day. Food was lovely, usual buffet style with great salad bar, rice, range of veg and various meats, fish every night - some nights there was a BBQ outside which was lovely, other eve's the waiter would be cooking steaks on a hot plate in front of you, in the morn's they would cook omelette's in front of you with whatever filling you asked, as well as pancakes cooked on a hot plate. We even arrived later than planned on our first night, due to delays at Gatwick, so we had missed dinner, but on arrival they offered to bring some food to our hotel room for no extra charge. We stayed half-board and found this suited us very well, as we knew we wanted to do various things outside of the hotel during our stay, and were glad as there was very little to actually do at the hotel.
Pool was lovely, and hotel went straight onto the beach, but which you could only really enjoy if you were up early enough to get a sunbed. There are not enough sunbeds, and so the first day we had to sunbathe on the grass - even when we had got to the beach at 9.30am! Either get there very early to grab your bed or get very friendly with the poolside waiters and they'll save one for you!!! Not one to pander to this kind of thing thanks, so we tended to get the 10am shuttle bus into Dahab and then pay 20 Egyptian pounds to the 'Blue Lagoon' beach - much nicer beach, esp if you like wind-surfing and you are guaranteed a sunbed for 30 Egyptian pounds for the day! (We would then pay 20 Egyptian pounds back to the main town and get the 6.15pm bus back to the hotel for dinner!)
Also, be aware that everything is far more expensive at the hotel than in the main town of Dahab, for instance, a large bottle of water in the hotel cost 10 Egyptian pounds - we got 6 large bottles in a supermarket in town for 15 Egyptian pounds! And they didn't stop us from taking them into our hotel room, or were they touched by the cleaners when we left them out in the room! Also, there is a diving centre at the hotel, but again be aware of expensive prices. They wanted 320 Euro's for a package of 10 dives - we got 10 dives for 175 Euro's with Sinai Divers located in the main town, who were extremely professional and safety conscious and who we had some excellent dives with (they also have a centre at the Hilton) - it pays to shop around!
The only other slight criticism of the hotel is the location. It is slightly out from the main town, however the hotel run a free shuttle bus four times a day and back. However, the last bus goes into town at 8pm and this one does the last return to the hotel at 8.15pm, which means if you want an eve out in Dahab then you have to be prepared to pay for a taxi back, at around 30 Egyptian pounds. We were more than happy to do this as there was nothing to do at the hotel of an eve. They have a bar, but we found lacked atmosphere, and most people who stayed in the bar of an eve to make the most of their all-in drinks were in bed by 10.30pm, so it was very quiet. The town of Dahab itself is very chilled, but there are some lovely restarants with fresh fish, and some lovely places to chill along the beach front with a drink and a sheesha, and a few cocktail bars. So, if you don't mind doing nothing and being stuck in the hotel for the duration of your hol, then fine, but if you like to get out and about and explore the main town then use the shuttle bus and pay for a few taxi's. Also, when you get dropped into Dahab, there is a main bridge in front of you. We found it better to turn right along the front here. Bars and restaurants seemed to be cheaper and you seemed to get less hassle from waiters trying to coax you into their restaurant to eat, which can become quite irritating. Along the beach front towards the right is a place called 'Penguin'. It is a hostel with dive centre and restaurant. The food we found delicious here and cheaper than other places. We also did 2 trips with them. One to Mount Sinai and St Catherine's Monastery for just 100 Egyptian pounds each, and 2 days to Petra for around £200 English pounds each. Both trips were excellent and well organised and we found were a fraction of the price of what other people at the hotel were paying for the same trips through the hotel tour companies. Dahab is a lovely place and we had a lovely 2 weeks, but make sure you explore it to see its potential!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mareofessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

i read the reviews before i left and thougth id go with no expectations i can honestly say i enjoyed my stay the staff ae fantastic so helpful and friendly the hotel was spotless and gardens kept well the hotel was slightly secluded but they did provide free transport to dahab town i would recommend this hotel if u require peace n quiet this was my first experience of egypt but most deffinatley wont be my last this is an amazing country with lots to offer (not like id be lead to believe) there was always plenty of food available which was well presented and clean this is something im very fussy about lol there wasnt alot in this area for young children but is ideal for couples dont be put off by bad reviews if there was reason for me to moan i would lol.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knightleyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Hotel quite small, a little off the beaten track but for us this was some of its charm. If you want to relax, swim, snorkel, scuba and be attended for by the pool and have your room cleaned to a high standard every day look no further. If you want loud, disco, non-stop entertainment look elsewhere. It is 4 star, the dining room and service 4 star at best but the staff are 5 star at least the trouble and effort is unbelievable, Mohammed the barman at the pool during the day and in the bar at night works so hard he deserves a medal and when Wendy my partner was concerned of my safety whilst i was out walking and lost track of time Mohammed got the bar covered and accompanied Wendy across the beach to find me with water bottle in hand.
Tips be polite and friendly and the staff will love you, remember in Egypt everything moves a litte slower so be patient, keep an empty water bottle and they will fill it for free at either bars or the restaurant, only thing that griped me was the wine only free at meals and it was of poor quality but heyho plenty of other drinks!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curlybloves2scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Our trip was over Easter for 2 weeks. The food was good and the rooms clean (our cleaner was wonderful and made fantastic shapes out of the towels!). The drinks weren't upto much but the wine was superb, however it was only served with meals which was a shame. My husband said the beers were cold and did the job and the children loved the amazing cocktails (non-alcoholic) which seemed to be in an endless supply by the funny and kind waiters. The staff were what really made the holiday, Abdu the towel man, and his little friend with the Fila tracksuit. Obama, Ziad and of course Beshoy! The names are endless and their service impeccable. They were wonderful with the children especially my 11 yr old son, they played endless football and games with him to entertain him. The 14 yr old daughter fell in love with a waiter, what else aye? The only criticism is that there is ABSOLUTELY SOD ALL TO DO IN THE EVENING and as the drinks weren't upto much we found ourselves in bed by 10.30pm (the kids appearing about midnight). However, the sun went down by 5pm so it just meant everything was earlier and we were up and having breakfast by 9am. The snorkelling directly outside the hotel was amazing - do buy your own snorkel etc though as it's £5 a day to hire. We picked them up in the town for £8 snorkel & mask. Tito and Mohammed run the Quad biking and they are wonderful chaps. We did trips to the desert and to an oasis, and another trip to the Blue Hole. The Quad biking was really great fun. The Camel rides outside the hotel are good although don't be taken in with the 2 hr trip, he'll take you half hour up the beach which is enough. If you have any problems the Manager, a chubby chap with glasses is very approachable and helpful. I moaned about the red wine! Do tip as I feel it helps, especially if you want a special place by the pool or on the beach. You get down there and it's all done for you. It's a pity there's no evening entertainment as we would have definitely returned there should that have been the case. Overall I would say it's the place to stay if you're interesting in snorkelling and diving (which my daughter was) but the rest of us not really. We'll definitely return next year to Egypt as the people seemed lovely.

Oh and do go for the 4 for 3 massages, they are THE BEST MASSAGES EVER!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dollyray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

The staff were absolutely fantastic, helpful and funny. What great sense of humours. We were given a guided tour of the kitchen by the Executive Chef when he found out my husband was an ex-chef. What a well run kitchen, very clean, extremely well organised and all food brought in fresh from local sources. The staff take great pride in thier work. Well done.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FifiDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We have travelled the Red Sea from TABA - Marsa Alam and this hotel was definately better than most! The staff were extremely helpful & friendly (and prompt when their assistance required!) From reception, to the bar, restaurants & pool, we cannot fault them! The food was lovely and plentiful & varied, catering for clientele from Europe, Russia to Australia! It was always fresh with hot food & salad bar, including fresh produce from their own garden!
The All Inclusive Light was not a problem as there was plenty of food at all sittings, and you can take some for later if you like! There was no need of mid morning/afternoon snacks! The local beer was good too! Water bottles can be refilled -improtant to keep hydrated!
The room was clean & tidy and the bedding & towels changed daily. The pool was clean with plenty of sunbeds & the poolbar staff great :) The hotel itself was beautifully decorated and with air-conditioning.
The Bedoiun Meal was fantasic and worth every penny- plenty of yummy food! Dont eat too much in the day!!
We made good use of the dive school on site (Lagona Divers) -again, all the staff were friendly & helpful & the house reef, beautiful. A big thank you to the staff for getting up to take us out on the early dive to Blue Hole! Well worth it - no other divers at all!!
The jetty - nothing like described in other reviews. As the coral reef comes into the beach the jetty is necesary for entry into the sea- not only shouldn't you stand on coral, but it hurts like hell if you cut yourself!
We had great holiday and met lovely people in this lovely hotel - it is on its own, so it's nice & quiet!
We had our reservations after reading some of the reviews, but glad we ignored them! If one wants to "nit pick" one will find a way!
A big "thank you" to all the staff for helping make the holiday go smoothly & to Mr SAMI for travel snack bags when we left!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4everdiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
2.1 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#2 of 53 in Dahab
714 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon Hotel
5.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#9 of 53 in Dahab
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#1 of 53 in Dahab
550 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
4.2 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 53 in Dahab
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropitel Dahab Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropitel Dahab Oasis

Address: Blue Hole Road, Dahab 00087, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#6 Family Hotel in Dahab
Price Range: $26 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropitel Dahab Oasis 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in a magnificent spot where the sea hugs the feet of the golden Sinai Mountains, Tropitel Dahab Oasis offers divers and non divers the delights of the Red Sea's most renowned diving spot, the Blue Hole, stretching along the coast of Aqaba Gulf, only 70 minutes drive from Sharm El-Sheikh International Airport.Tropitel Dahab Oasis offers a breathtaking coastline of sun-drenched beach with coral reefs and crystal clear water, combined with simply decorated restaurants and cool bars, as well as numerous leisure facilities that will make you feel home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropitel Dahab Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropitel Dahab Oasis Hotel Dahab
Tropitel Hotel Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing