We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of weeks earlier this month - was diving almost the whole time, so wasn't always at the hotel for meals, but had breakfast there most days and lunch/dinner half the time. The hotel itself is actually fairly nice, particularly given the relatively low price we paid for it. We were all-inclusive and booked independently - we emailed a room request in advance and they had no problem with that. The food was OK, but not particularly inspiring - we're both veggie so struggled a little at times, but generally there was something we could eat (we didn't starve!) The room was OK, but felt a little tired - it was ready for a refurb really. Clean though and the cleaning service was very good. The staff were generally helpful and friendly without being too intrusive, and some of them were genuinely really nice and helpful. The pool seemed OK, but I'm not a pool person so can't comment further. The beach was quite nice, with a decent pier and access to the house reef which was actually very good for snorkelling (the hotel is only 10 minutes away from the Canyon dive site, and you could probably walk to Blue Hole in 30 mins). There was some hassle from people trying to sell you stuff, mostly on the beach, but it was all good natured and a friendly refusal was always heeded. The lobby bar was a bit poor - it was pretty soulless and given it was the only place to get a drink after sunset (well, apart from with dinner) it could do with being refurbed completely (plus the indoor part stank of stale smoke). The hotel's biggest problem is that it's too far out of Dahab - a 15 min drive, though the hotel has 4 scheduled free shuttle bus trips per day (2 morning, 2 evening). Taxis aren't expensive though (25-30LE). The clientel varied, but was mostly Russians and Germans on my visit, but given how quiet it was (there's no entertainment) and the distance from Dahab there were no issues (though there were some incredibly rude guests at times...) WiFi is incredibly slow and overpriced, and I always feel aggreived when, on the last day, I have to pay for lunch despite the fact I arrived after midnight on my first day. Would I stay here again? Probably not, but that's down to my preference and the fact that if I head back it'll be to dive again so staying downtown would be better for me. This is probably not a 4* hotel as most people think, but is definitely a comfortable 3* place and - for us at least - seems to represent very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diveboard_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    422
    110
    52
    34
See reviews for
243
567
106
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

DON’T go to the Tropical Oasis Hotel, if you want a time table of activities, loud music and entertainment in the evening.
If you want excellent service, good food, a good pool area and an amazing coral reef then this is the hotel for you.
I’m sorry if I sound like a travel agent but this is all true. We arrived back from Dahab yesterday from a very good Holiday.
We stayed in a standard room which was nothing special a good size and a nice bathroom, very clean with very comfortable beds and air con.
The dinning room is well organised with very good helpful and friendly staff. There is a good variety of food and unlike other reviews I have read we always found good food which was well prepared.
The swimming pool is very clean as is the area around it and there are plenty of sun beds so no need to get up in the early hours to put your towel out.
There is a jetty on the beach that takes you to the house reef if you enjoy snorkelling you wont be disappointed. A colourful reef with thousands of fish.
There is a dive centre on site and as everywhere at The Tropical Oasis the staff at the dive centre are excellent. My partner done a PADI diving course while there and enjoyed every minute of it. If you dive you will love it here.

The thing that made this holiday for me was the people that worked there and I must name a few here and when you visit the Tropical I am 100% sure you will agree with me.

Let me start with Sheif the general manager, every day we were there he would talk to us make sure we were happy, we knew that if we needed anything he would go out of his way to get it. On our last day after our all inclusive bands had been cut and we had 4 hours to wait for our taxi to the airport Sherif invited us to lunch.

Mohammed Zaky runs the pool bar, this guy soon became a good friend to us, he didn’t just stand behind a bar and serve drinks, this man managed to make sure that everyone around that pool was happy, I hardly ever had to go to him for a drink he would be round with drinks just as I finished one and you know what I didn’t tip him this I now regret and I will right it next time I go. (yes I am going back )

Next on my list of Stars is Ibrahim this man is one of the chefs at the Oasis, a couple of days in he introduced himself and asked our names, every day after that he would make sure we had good food at every meal. A few days before the end of our holiday my partner had a bad stomach Ibrahim made a very nice lemon and honey drink which helped to settle her stomach.

Last but by no means least Marco, Buchi and Ahmed, Marko and Buchi are brothers that sell excursions. The excursions are very good and excellent value, I wont go on about the trips we went on but we enjoyed all of them even Marcos singing and dancing at a Bedouin night in the desert. Ahmed was our taxi drive come tour guide and we found him to be a very good photographer, many of our holiday snaps were taken by him.

To sum this hotel up its quiet which for me was perfect, it doesn’t attract the loud rude people that enjoy the noise of sham. The place is spotlessly clean, the location is perfect nestled between the mountains and the red sea . I have done a lot of travelling and have never received service as good as what we received at the Tropical Oasis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank xxxx1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My daughter and i went for a restful and relaxing holiday here, and thats exactly what we got, all of the hotel staff were absolutely amazing, they cant do enough for you, i cant always sit in the sun as i am very fair and one day i was reading a magazine in the shade of a plant,i was sitting on the wall when one of the Managers brought me a chair to sit on in the shade,the staff are so attentive there they are great, the food was great,... my daughter tried snorkeling for the first time and really enjoyed it, we met some lovely people there as well who we spent time with round the pool and on some evenings, i just wanted to also say thanks to all of the staff, the management, the chefs, Sami and the poolside staff, all of the waiters in the restaurant you all work so hard to please the guests and you all do it perfectly, if some people want to feed there children on burgers chips and pizza they may be best staying in Blackpool as your needs would be catered for there, for any one who loves a relaxing restful holiday this is definitely the place to go, i would go back to this resort in a heartbeat, fantastic, warm and very welcoming

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Gwyneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

What an amazing hotel! The staff was ever so kind. The rooms where big and clean. The food good and different every day.
We loved the house reef, we spend most of our time there. The pool was clean, and not cold.
Unlike in other hotels with all inclusive, all kind of (alcoholic drinks) where available, and strong enough.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 131
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank raya600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have just come back from the most fantastic holiday at the Tropitel Dahab Oasis. We didn't have huge expectations as it was a very reasonable price so we were very happy when we got there. It is basic, but the rooms are very clean with fresh linen & towels daily and fully air conditioned.
The food was great, we didn't get bored as there was enough variety, and there is plenty of fresh veg and salad. The drinks which are part of the package were, well questionable, the white spirits didn't taste of vodka, gin etc, but the beer & whisky was good.
The staff were very friendly and helpful - I strongly recommend tipping - they deserve every penny as they work all hours and are cheerful and helpful despite their long days!
It's an ideal place for snorkelers - The house reef is terrific, I just WISH that more controls were made in the whole of this area to protect the reefs. All too often we saw ignorant tourists sitting on live coral. So many reef areas were dead, especially further up at the Blue Hole.
Despite this we saw a whale shark up close on the 2nd day! We will definitely go back again. In fact we plan to go in May 2013.!

Room Tip: We liked our room which actually was the opposite side of the pool area, it was nice and quiet and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ziggi070608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henfield
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I really enjoyed the holiday BECAUSE of this hotel and in particular the staff who work there.
There were four of us who went together - me, my wife, my son and his wife. For us and our budget it was brilliant.
Sure there are things that are not perfect or indeed need some attention but the management made every effort to give customer satisfaction. Did we have a good holiday - YES! Would I recommend you go there? If you are anything like us, the answer is absolutely.
It was a very peaceful location and if you want a quiet time with plenty of relaxation you probably will be very pleased with this hotel.
We all enjoyed the food. It was varied, tasty and we could eat until we popped - if we wanted to. The serving and kitchen staff were quite amazing with their level of customer attention. They are fun, caring and professional.
The rooms we had were cleaned daily with clean bed linen and towels changed. Very nice. And our beds were comfy too.
The pool is really a lovely place to spend many days of a holiday .It was very clean and tidy, it was never a problem getting a sun bed and the pool bar staff couldn't have been more obliging. They provided regular top-ups right to our sun beds! Also fresh beach towels are provided daily.
If you are looking for some snorkelling (and you should be if you are going to this location) then this is THE place to go. Just stroll down to the private beach, take a short walk down the pier used by the scuba divers, fish-watchers and snorkelers and you will find the most amazing sights just below the surface. The fish are something else and it's almost worth going there just for that experience alone.
Just a final but important mention of just some of the guys who worked so consistently hard to make sure we had a great time - in no particular order. Mohamed - pool bar/ Samy - pool towels/ Sherif King - food and beverage manager & his assistant Waghi/ Sherif Nagy - Resident manager (the boss).

Room Tip: Try to get a room down stairs leading out to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank BossTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel twice now and loved it both times and returned home completely relaxed and chilled out!!

The hotel is rated as a 4* however if I'm honest it is probably more of a 3* compared to the star system in the uk. However the staff are without doubt those from a 5* resort! They really make your holiday and cannot do enough for the guests. They work 14hr days for not a great deal of money but still always have a smile on their face and nothing is too much trouble.

The rooms are clean and a good size, each with a balcony giving you a pool, sea or mountain view. We didn't have a problem with our rooms however when other guests staying at the same time as us did they were moved straight away with no questions asked. I have a bad back and each time we have stayed the mattress has been rock hard but as soon as I mentioned this the staff swopped it for a foam one which was much better.

There are multinational guests staying at this hotel so therefore they need to cater for a wide range of tastes, which I think they did very well, however there is chargeable room service if you fancy something else.

Pool area is great, you can always get a sun lounger or one of the pool boys will keep the same ones for you all holiday if you ask, there is definitely none of this having to get up at 6am to put your towel out!!!

There are 2 jettys to go snorkelling off and the house reef is amazing, just as good as (if not better!) some of the bigger popular dive sites.

Fady has a little shop within the hotel at great prices and if he's not got something you want he will always be able to get it!

All the guys who do the trips from the hotel are very reasonably priced and make sure you have a great time.

The only negative about this hotel is some of the other guests! If you want to be surround by kids reps, lager louts and burgers then please don't come here and spoil it with your moaning and sour faces, go to Sharm or Benidorm!!

We love it so much we have already booked it for next year!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
15 Thank Anna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
2.1 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
707 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon Hotel
5.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#8 of 52 in Dahab
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
4.1 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
517 reviews
8.4 mi away
Happy Life Village
Happy Life Village
#16 of 52 in Dahab
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropitel Dahab Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropitel Dahab Oasis

Property: Tropitel Dahab Oasis
Address: Blue Hole Road, Dahab 00087, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#8 Family Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropitel Dahab Oasis 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in a magnificent spot where the sea hugs the feet of the golden Sinai Mountains, Tropitel Dahab Oasis offers divers and non divers the delights of the Red Sea's most renowned diving spot, the Blue Hole, stretching along the coast of Aqaba Gulf, only 70 minutes drive from Sharm El-Sheikh International Airport.Tropitel Dahab Oasis offers a breathtaking coastline of sun-drenched beach with coral reefs and crystal clear water, combined with simply decorated restaurants and cool bars, as well as numerous leisure facilities that will make you feel home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropitel Dahab Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropitel Dahab Oasis Hotel Dahab
Tropitel Hotel Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing