We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Dahab Resort
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We'll be back :)”
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Wonderful luxury hotel with wonderful staff, beautiful rooms, lovely grounds, and terrific diving and snorkeling on the front door step. Our kids, 7 and 4 years old, loved it, not least because the staff was amazing with them: Nadia in the kids club engaged the kids with arts and crafts and kindness; Sharif in the water-sports center devoted many of his mornings and used his charm and smile to turn our 7-year old daughter into a terrific little snorkeler; and Mohammed in the restaurant became the highlight of every lunch and after-dinner with his magic tricks and happy play. Entire staff was friendly, helpful and professional. Rooms are lovely and immaculate, with wonderful showers. Grounds are lovely, with 5 pools and desert-landscaping. Setting is beautiful, with the hotel's toes in the Red Sea and its back to the mountains. Breakfast extensive and delicious. Dinner a bit limited in range while we were there, due to few guests (so soon after Revolution), but good quality. Dahab town just a 5-minute, 30 Egyptian pound cab ride away, though, so plenty of dinner options. Food, water and soda very pricy, especially in comparison to prices in town, but room rates are such a good value that it was easy to forgive this. Poseidon Dive Center, on site at the hotel, has extremely good facilities, and terrific staff, with Catherine at the front desk spreading cheer and divemaster Mamduh leading dives to the many gorgeous dive sites around Dahab with friendly efficiency. All said: we'll be back as often as possible.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_amazeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger-cherubini, General Manager at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Dear Peter_Amazeen,

You open your review with what is most important to us, you enjoyed your stay and you plan to come back!

Thank you for that!

Nadia, Sharif and all other join me to thank you for your kind words, I will also share your comments with Posseidon Team which is doing a great job.

Kind regards from sunny Dahab

Roger Cherubini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    250
    79
    33
    41
See reviews for
261
520
51
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We visited the hotel Feb half term 2011 whilst most of the world except the Brits were not travelling to Sinai. This meant the hotel was quiet which was great for us as we needed a bit of peace.
Our rooms - the basic (superior) a double and twin were lovely, immaculately kept, and we could see the Red Sea from bed in the morning. The housekeeping team were very efficient and we returned to find our clutter not only tidied but arranged - all books lined up, and clean cups with handles pointing the same way! Could be a bit annoying if you like things left, but we found it amusing.
The Hotel is a short drive away from the town but there is a shuttle service twice a day free of charge and taxis at other times were cheap - 30 egyptian pounds (£3.00). The resort itself is beautifully kept and quite extensive. We enjoyed playing tennis as well as using the gym (small but adequate) and the various pools.
There is a dive centre on site which we would have used had we not chanced on another, more cost effective one elsewhere. However you can snorkel right off the beach of the hotel as the reef extends there, which is great if you want to try snorkelling without committing to a trip out.
The sand is quite gritty so if you a looking to lie on the beach rather than a bed this is not the place. However there are beautiful beach 'pods' and plenty of beds and loungers so you won't be having to scramble to claim one.
The food was delicious, well presented, fresh and interesting. We ate a couple of times in the restaurant which was only offering a table d'hote menu as the hotel was so empty, but the choice was still good and the main courses great. Don't forget you are not going to get pork here, so get used to beef bacon for breakfast or better still try the many other options including some Egyptian dishes - Belala - a type of porridge made with wheat, and foul mesdames - (not sure how either spelled), pureed fava beans eaten with cumin, lemon or chilli.
We'll certainly try to return to Le Meridien and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJW062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridien1937, Director of Rooms at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Dear FJW062

It is truly a great pleasure to read your enthusiastic comments. Your feedback is highly appreciated and we are delighted to read you enjoyed you stay with us.

we look forward to welcome you back to our Le Meridien Dahab Resort

Yours Sincerely
Mohamed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

What a lovely luxurious place, set away from teh town, overlooking Saudi Arabia, mountains and Sea. Peaceful adn quiet. Friendly helpful staff and great amenities. The rooms and King size beds fantastic, 2 showers , one in door one on back patio and bath set in marble stone. Only drawbacks, hire a mountain bike in town and keep at hotel as daily taxi fairs mount up. only 2 shuttle courtesy buses a day. If hotel is busy, i think sunlunges, basket pods on beach will get taken quickly. Snorkelling on reef just outsdie hotel excellent. you dont really need to leave! Hotel food and drink a bit pricey, so just go into town and buy your own and bring it back!!!
Chill out to the MAX!!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jennypennyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Highly recommend this wonderful, luxurious hotel- what a wonderufl experience we had there.
This part of Egypt is wonderful, sunny weather, sandy beaches, and a lot quieter and more laid back than Red Sea neightbour Sharm (!) and this hotel is the jewel of Dahab.

From the moment you walk into the epic lobby you feel like you're beginning your desert adventure! The hotel is scrupulously clean, and looks wonderful- lots of nice little touches make it feel a lot more like a boutique hotel than the chain that it part of.

The rooms are marvellous, again very clean, lovely modern luxurious decor, and I think all (or at least most) have a terrace/balcony looking out over the sea (very romantic!)

The meals are great- good selection at breakfast (including some authentic Egyptian fare if you're so inclined),the omelettes made to order every morning at breakfast were a memorable treat.. Every evening there is a themed buffet/evening- again the 'Egyptian' themed night, with fantastic local food, camels, bedoin and belly dancers was a great evening. There is also an ala carte restaurant and a bar if you don't fancy venturing out.

The hotel has it's own private beach in addition to the various pools, and wonderfully- plenty of sun loungers etc for everyone to lie, no rushing to the pool/beach before breakfast to reserve your spot!

Service was impeccable, everyone was polite and respectful to a fault and the free shuttle to and from town twice a day is a great touch, as this is where you should do your shopping and at least some of your eating. (But do haggle when buying your sounvenirs- the shops are geared towards tourists and the charming shopkeepers are goods are over-priced accordingly)

This was a dream holiday, in no small part down to this dreamy hote,

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ipso_Jacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

I have just come back from a fantastic week in this hotel. The hotel is truely beautiful with superb service and lovely food. It is also very safe being 5 hours drive from the current troubles in Cairo. It has a gorgeous reef in front of the beach and a watersports and diving facility. The thing that really makes the difference is that the staff are very friendly, fun and cannot do enough to help you. It is a quiet, classy hotel with a lovely bar overlooking the swimming pools and the sea. It has two restaurants and a beachbar. there are lots of days out you can book if you want to, we went snorkling to the blue hole which was amazing and we went and saw the stars through telescopes and had a bedouin evening in the sinai. I wholeheartedly recommend it for a very relaxing but sophisticated break.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
209 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I love Dahab and have always stayed in 'real' hotels there so had reservations about staying in a resort hotel owned by a big chain. As my travelling companion did not like the sound of the cockroaches in the hotels I usually stay in and is definitely a 5* girl Le Meridien won out and what a good choice.

We booked a deluxe room which was well worth it for the sea views. The room was spacious with plenty of indoor and outdoor sitting space. I loved the outdoor shower! Minor quibble but the wardrobes were not high enough for maxi dresses or trousers to hang properly.

The staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.The whole team was friendly and focussed even with all the trouble that blew up the week we were there.

The 5 separate pools were lovely and the beach area great. The hotel was not busy while we were there but even so I would say there is a need for many more sun beds around the pool areas, especially with cushions on. Beds with cushions were few and far between and, when busy, would go quickly leaving rather uncomfortable cane ones.This would particularly be the case around the two pools suitable for children.

In terms of location the hotel is a taxi or mini bus ride away from the main town of Dahab. If you are content to eat hotel food all the time this will not cause you a problem but if you know where to look there are good restaurants in Dahab at very good prices ( I recommend Stars in Eel Garden and the Carm Inn even if you cannot be bothered to go anywhere else). The hotel does offer a shuttle bus service but effectively only twice a day and the return times are not sufficiently spaced for you to spend enough time in Dahab to eat i.e. a taxi one way or the other is a must. For a 5* star hotel I would really expect a more frequent service especially as the bus back was booked up very quickly ( be warned the driver does not wait for late comers!) Having said that the taxis are cheap so it is not really a problem.

If you are after a 'do nothing' relaxing holiday to recharge your batteries this is the place to stay in Dahab.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packyderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Le Meridian id definitely the best hotel in Dahab. Except Hilton it is the only five-star hotel on the spot. But unlike Hilton, Le Meridien is relatively new and modern. It is also located quietly on a big area and gives much space and great views on a bay. It is located 15 minutes walk to the main beach and wathersports centre. It is not the best hotel I have ever staid in, especcialy the dinner choice of food, could be better, but in the end, for Egypt/ Dahab standards, this is the best choice, if ypu are not only interested in windsurfing or diving.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP_Warsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roger-cherubini, General Manager at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Dear JP_Warsaw,

I would like to thank you for your kind comments. I shared them with my Team and we are happy you enjoyed your stay at Le Meridien Dahab. Mid 2011 our spa will be 100% and I am sure you will enjoy it if you give us the chance to serve you once more.

Thanks again for your comments

Roger Cherubini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
6.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
4.2 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
694 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
0.9 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
2.8 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Dahab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Dahab Resort

Property: Le Meridien Dahab Resort
Address: Al Tahrir St | PO Box 2, Dahab, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dahab
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dahab
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#11 Family Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Dahab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Le Meridien Dahab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Dahab Hotel Dahab
Dahab Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing