We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still great on our second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Dahab Resort
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
northants, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Still great on our second visit”
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We first visited March 08 and loved it and we were not disapointed on our second visit. In March when the resort is quiet it can't be bettered as a place to unwind in peace and quiet. Temperatures are good although it can be a bit windy Feb/March. As members of the Starwood programme we were upgraded to a lovely two room suite with its own hot tub in its courtyard but the Superior room we had before was great and still had its own terrace in front and private courtyard behind. The sea view rooms are definitely worth the extra price.
Be prepared for lots of stairs and do not expect a lively night life or entertainment as only the Vie restaurant and Horizons bar are open at night in the low season. The food is good ( the best we've had in Eygypt ) but the main courses not European 5 star. There is the choice of a buffet and a very nice Asian based A la Carte. Entertainment consists of a guy and a guitar playing local music, which can be a little monotonous after a few nights. Breakfasts are excellent with a great selection and absolutely fantastic pastries. At luchtime we enjoyed lovely snacks at the Sails beach bar. Bliss. Prices have not changed here since last year but we did notice the effects of the worsening exchange rates making the wine seem pricey.
Unlike a previous report we have never had any problems with staff and have found them all very welcoming and friendly. With regards to security we take the same precautions as visiting anywhere else in the world - keep your valuables locked up!
The camels along the beach are a pest but we did not find them intrusive apart from the smell, just remember you are in Egypt and this is a Bedouin area. Water sports facilities are great and seem reasonably priced.
At the moment there is very limited gym and spa facilities but we have been told the new areas will be finished for next year. These will be great additions. We will definitely be going back next year.
The only negative with this region is the litter. Anywhere immediately outside of the resort beach is covered in rubbish - such a shame.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlion02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    250
    79
    33
    41
See reviews for
261
518
51
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

Don't hesitate - go now, this hotel was very close to perfect and unbelievably good value for the price.

We booked a deluxe room with breakfast through the hotel's own website. From the moment the hotel's car service picked us up from the airport everything was completely hassle free, until it deposited us back at the airport ten days later. The room was lovely, spotlessly clean and spacious with an outdoor shower and garden and a terrace at the front overlooking the red sea. The hotel was only a quarter full so we had no problem getting a pod each day on the beach. I have no idea why so few people were there, but they're missing a gem.

Food was fresh and tasty, if a little bit `samey` but you will always get that at any hotel, and we ordered room service when we felt like a change as it had a different menu. The prices were incredibly reasonable compared to other hotels in Sharm like the Hyatt, and the service was absolutely immaculate. The staff are an absolute credit to the hotel, nothing was ever too much trouble and everything we asked for was possible.

Snorkelling by the reef was brilliant fun and you could see so many fish. My partner went diving and thoroughly recommends the onsite school.

A few times we popped into Dahab for a change of scene, which I'd describe as faded but charming in it's own way. We ate at Ali Babas and the food was great.

If I was to be really picky about the hotel the bar was a bit quiet and lacking in atmosphere but the overall hotel experience was absolutely fantastic. Go now before too many people discover it!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escape_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Our trip was for two weeks and included me and my husband, our 1 year old baby and my parents for one week.

Before we start, we have stayed at the Four Seasons in Sharm and the Oberoi in Hurghada, amongst others, and we found the service and attention here was as good, if not better. We could not fault them. My parents, who usually stay at top hotels around the world, also made a point of saying how good the service was, particualrly in the room cleaning. They had never considered Egypt before, and this hotel was a very good eye opener for them.

The hotel itself is a unique style, modern architecture with a touch of Miami-cool. Lots of terraces, sunbeds, and wonderful 'pods' to keep off the sun and the breeze, and 5 pool areas, some fresh and some salt water. Our daughter loved the shallow lagoon. Fresh water pool was 30 degrees - lovely!

Nothing was too much for the hotels. Our parents arrived on a different week to us, but they ensured us adjoining rooms. We got what we needed for the baby - cot, bath, etc. In fact our daughter was the star of the show. All the staff - from the cleaners to the pool guys to the waiters - couldn't have been more attentive and charming. She even had a heart shape in her bed and her toys arranged most days! When our daughter got tonsilitis the doctor was there within minutes, and she made a good recovery as he prescibed appropriate medication. Everyone gave her their blessings, and showed their concern.

The food was delicious - dinner = starter and dessert buffet which was well presented and main menu had a different selection each day. Thai/Asian menu was good/authentic, and there was plenty of selection too. We actually ate most nights on our terrace, as our baby was sleeping, and room service never got tired of bringing our food and wine (which was a good price by Egyptian standards), and they were happy for us to select from the buffet and then bring it to us. Poolside waiter always remembered what we liked (usually Turkish coffee, lemon juice, Sakara beer!!!) and they were happy to bring us an ice-bucket to chill the champagne we bought with us to drink in the double bathtub.

Call us stupid, but we left computers, cameras, baby monitors, video camera, phones in our room...nothing at all was touched. Nothing. I wouldn't recommend it of course, but we took the risk, and all that happened was our cables were unknotted and arranged for us!!!

House reef was limited, but the dive school was on site and within 5 minutes boat ride there were some great dives. The hotel and the dive school are not connected though, and paying for this was the only thing we were not able to 'put on our bill.' Dive school made us do a refresher, which I appreciated being made to do after 4 years even though I am very experienced as a diver. It made me much more confident (plus it was done in the 30 degree pool, so no chill factor!!)

Our trip was for two weeks and included me and my husband, our 1 year old baby and my parents for one week.

Before we start, we have stayed at the Four Seasons in Sharm and the Oberoi in Hurghada, amongst others, and we found the service and attention here was as good, if not better. We could not fault them. My parents, who usually stay at top hotels around the world, also made a point of saying how good the service was, particualrly in the room cleaning. They had never considered Egypt before, and this hotel was a very good eye opener for them.

The hotel itself is a unique style, modern architecture with a touch of Miami-cool. Lots of terraces, sunbeds, and wonderful 'pods' to keep off the sun and the breeze, and 5 pool areas, some fresh and some salt water. Fresh water pool was 30 degrees - lovely!

Nothing was too much for the hotels. Our parents arrived on a different day to us, but they ensured us adjoining rooms. We got what we needed for the baby - cot, bath, etc. In fact our daughter was the star of the show. All the staff - from the cleaners to the pool guys to the waiters - couldn't have been more attentive and charming. She even had a heart shape in her bed and her toys arranged most days! When our daughter got tonsilitis the doctor was there within minutes, and she made a good recovery as he prescibed appropriate medication. Everyone gave her their blessings, and showed their concern.

The food was delicious - dinner = starter and dessert buffet which was well presented and main menu was varied. Thai/Asian menu was good/authentic, and there was plenty of selection. We actually ate most nights on our terrace, as our baby was sleeping, and room service never got tired of bringing our food and wine (which was a good price by Egyptian standards), and they were happy for us to select from the buffet and then bring it to us. Poolside waiter always remembered what we liked (usually Turkish coffee, lemon juice, Sakara beer!!!)

Call us stupid, but we left computers, cameras, baby monitors, video camera, phones in our room...nothing at all was touched. Nothing. I wouldn't recommend it of course, but we took the risk, and all that happened was our cables were unknotted and arranged for us!!!

House reef was limited, but the dive school was on site and within 5 minutes boat ride there were some great dives. The hotel and the dive school are not connected though, and paying for this was the only thing we were not able to 'put on our bill.' Dive school made us do a refresher, which I appreciated being made to do after 4 years even though I am very experienced as a diver. It made me much more confident (plus it was done in the 30 degree pool, so no chill factor!!)

We would definitely recommend Le Meridien, although of course we liked it being exclusive and are quite happy if you chose to go somewhere else, as that keeps the special experience for us!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJK_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

what a location with warm water and ideal conditions to have a great time windsurfing.
expert knowledge from jay at the centre that is 4 or 5 steps from the sea.
wear booties but not really needed once in the sea just to launch.

while others down in the bay might struggle, in the mornings from here its straight out and straight back,simply the best spot in dahab,the kit was north and mistal i prefered the syncro and 6.8 set up and had easly 14 hrs on the water in our 10 day trip.
when it picks up at lunch you can head across to speedy and hit some good bumps on the way out and blast for what seems forever back in .
jason at the centre knows his stuff and can teach you to jump or laydown and for me it was mastering my duck gybe(i didn't get one but who cares)

the hotel is fantastic and i would recommend the food.its buffet style in the evenings and is at a very high standard in all areas from service to selection of international cusine. they were great with thw kids and they ate eveything on offer with no stomach upsets at all.
The days were mostly spent windsurfing and diving, this was also done here at the hotel and again it was faultless and stunning.
the kids club was great they have lots of toys games and ativities the staff working here made the kids feal safe and happy in the penguin club.
at the seafront bar the team were exceptional with there service and it was impossible not to tip as you were treated as valued guest's and not jo bloggs.

to have a windsurfing holiday this good, was worth every penny try to juggle two kids and a wife who all want to do there own thing and for me to sail and get away with it for hours is a great way of telling you it can be done when the enviroment is right..here its all spot on.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dazzlerdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

On the face of it, the hotel is luxurious and the staff are friendly. We stayed there for 2 weeks and our room floor got progressively dirty. The Bedouin men who cleaned the rooms where never very friendly. The on house staff, however, where obviously trained to smile! One day my friends camera got stolen from his room, now we didn't have a doubt in our minds that it was taken while they were out. The manager and eventually the police made out that if we wanted a police report for the insurance it had to say that my friend lost the camera. Incredible.
A few days later, after religiously looking everything in the safe and putting everything away while out in the room (you don't pay premium to have to behave like this!) I notice that someone did go through my suitcase, which I put in the closed and stole my Vit C! ( I bought a full bottle and there were only 2 left!) I knew that the men in reception would only tell us that I obviously took a 100 pills since I got here to left it. I did however mentioned this in my comments card, I doubt this goes past this management. Oh, and whilst trying to relax on the beach hoping in anticipation that all your stuff will still be there when you get back, you had to fight back the group of Bedouin men on camels that frequent the beach every hour asking if you want camel. At first this was cute on the first day on the beach, try and do that for 2 weeks! One day a younger boy pointed at a came we had and instead that we look at where he was pointing shouting 'give to me', annoying! needless to say you had to watch where you where going on the beach with all that [--] laying around.
Other than that the main hotel areas are kept clean, the staff in the restaurant where nice, the food was good, but all that effort was obviously ruined by the state the rooms are kept and thiefs that clean them! Go, but be aware, don't take anything you don't need, lock everything and take sandals on the beach.
Also, don't be afraid to ask any Egyptian driver to drive slow, give them a tip to drive slow if need be, we witnessed 2 accidents while there.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We booked our 1-week stay directly via lemeridien.com and were very happy to find that the pictures on the website aren't too good to be true. The hotel is located in a quiet and scenic area outside Dahab. The architecture is stylish and modern, and everything feels new and clean. Our room was very nice and spacious, in the first row, overlooking the Red Sea. The outdoor shower is a nice touch. The hotel itself is beautiful, and after dark, everything is lit with very nicely designed indirect lighting. Although we didn't book "all inclusive", we chose to eat every meal in the hotel's restaurant, and we actually only left the resort once during our week long stay! Every member of staff was very friendly, service-minded and proud of their hotel - and rightly so. For a quiet getaway to soak up some sun when it's dark and cold at home, this is a perfect choice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copenhagen2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2009

Just back from an unforgettable 4 days at the Dahab Le Meridien and already planning our next visit. This is BY FAR the best hotel we've stayed at in Egypt (we moved here a few months back and have been exploring the country every chance we get).

First, the setting. It'll take your breath away! Nestled between the stark Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, the view is stunning and the hotel itself is modern and elegant.

The rooms are fantastic (spring for a deluxe room if you can) - spotless, tastefully decorated, flatscreen TV, comfy king beds, crisp white linens, fluffy pillows and duvets, soaker tubs, outdoor shower...a real treat if you've stayed at other so-called 5-star hotels in Egypt.

We were on half board (breakfast and dinner included) and the food was excellent. The best hotel food we've enjoyed during our stay in Egypt. It's fresh, delicious and there's tons of variety (including traditional Egyptian fare).

If you'd rather sit by the pool than head down to the beautiful beach, you won't be disappointed. There are two huge pools (one salt water, one heated), comfy loungers, towels a-plenty and complimentary water to keep you hydrated while you soak up the sun.

Contrary to other reviewers' comments, we didn't have to tip our towel attendant (the fabulous Sayed) to get a pod on the beach each day. We were friendly and courteous, and found our comfy pod waiting for us each morning. There's also a lounge on the beach so even if sunbathing's not your thing, you can chill on one of the white couches and gaze at the Red Sea.

The Meridien is located outside of Dahab on the lagoon side (with a private, very secluded beach) so it's perfect for a quiet, romantic getaway. If you're interested in spending time in town, there's a hotel shuttle and you can also grab taxis if you walk towards the Hilton.

Dahab itself is incredibly chilled (especially compared to Sharm, Hurghada and other beach destinations). We loved heading into town at night for drinks, shisha and backgammon under the stars at one of Dahab's beachside cafes. Our fave was Funny Mummy - grab a spot around one the bonfires to keep warm (it gets chilly when the sun goes down).

I highly recommend Le Meridien (and Dahab) for a fantastic place to unwind, soak up the sun and get away from it all.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canuckincairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
6.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
4.2 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
2.8 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Dahab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Dahab Resort

Property: Le Meridien Dahab Resort
Address: Al Tahrir St | PO Box 2, Dahab, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dahab
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dahab
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#11 Family Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Dahab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien Dahab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Dahab Hotel Dahab
Dahab Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing