We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Excellent hotel with great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Dahab Resort
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

le Meridien Dahab hotel is as always up to the mark. Friendly staff, delicious breakfast, nice atmosphere, and pleasant stay. Location of the hotel right on seaside is a plus. We got a SPG room with sea view which was amazing during night and day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romanzaporozhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud S, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Romanzaparozhe,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review on trip advisor, your kind comments are greatly appreciated and reflecting a strong loyalty to the Hotel & the team based on a great experience you had during your recent stay at Le Meridien Dahab Resort,
In closing, may I thank you, once again, for taking the time to share your positive comments. We are grateful for your support and look forward to welcoming you at Le Meridien Dahab Resort in the future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Best resort on earth! I've never had service like I experienced here. If I could rank it with a 10, I would. Don't be a fool and go somewhere else. Every penny is well worth the experience you will get at Le Meridien Dahab. Absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liliane12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud S, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Liliane12_12,
Thank you for having stayed with us and for having taken the time to post your positive review on TripAdvisor.
I was very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting me know how impressed you were with the service you received, your kind comments are greatly appreciated and reflecting a strong loyalty to the Hotel & the team based on a great experience you had during your stay at Le Meridien Dahab Resort.
We are grateful for your support and look forward to welcoming you at Le Meridien Dahab Resort in the future.
Kind Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I love the hotel.we enjoyed the stay,services and food.smooth check in and amazing sea view room.staff at front office very helpfull and amde our stay wonderfull.i recommend the hotel and sure we will be back soon.thanks for all dahab team and keep on going .luxury hospitality services

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Htoufeily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud S, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear htoufiely,
Thank you very much for your feedback and your nice comments about our hotel, the service delivered to you, customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise, I was delighted to read your motivating words and to learn that you had a memorable experience with us.
Be assured that your nice words have already shared with our Team. We do hope that we will be able to welcoming you again and again to Le Meridien Dahab in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our 3rd holiday at Le Meridien, Dahab and again we had a great time in a luxury room, same room for 3rd time! All areas of the hotel are very clean and comfortable and the staff are always helpful and polite.
I am coeliac and have to avoid gluten at all times,so a member of the reception staff arranged for me to meet the Food & Bevarage Manager to discuss my food requirements & made restaurant staff and the chefs aware of this. (The chef made me corn bread daily.)
The pool & recreation staff prepared our sunbeds daily with towels and ensured our comfort through out the day.
The staff here really go the extra mile to meet their guests needs and make you feel special too!
With the beach, salt water pools and infinity pool there is a choice to suit all needs.

Room Tip: We were staying in 619, really like this room! Sea views, all rooms are 1 storey here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen M G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud S, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Eileen M G G,
Many thanks for recently staying with us whilst visiting Dahab and also for having taken the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor.
I was delighted to read your motivating words and to learn that you had a memorable experience with us, We do pride ourselves on being able to accommodate our guests’ requirements and it was our pleasure to prepare all what might create your satisfaction and facilitate your stay with us, I have brought your kind positive comments to the attention of our Food & Beverage manager and the team.
We do hope that we will be able to welcoming you again to Le Meridien Dahab very soon.
Kind Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We just returned from a 5 night stay at Le Meridien Dahab (Oct.14-19). The positives: The hotel has a great location, which includes views and the Aqaba sea with great winds for windsurfing and good coral for diving and snorkeling. I will tell you that the coral looks to be in distress and is dying. I will also point out that other hotels in the area have the same views/location advantages and they are not isolated to this hotel.
The service at this hotel is quite good. It is not 5 star good or even 4 star, SPG good, but for Egypt it meets the mark. It is not fast, but most employees are friendly and want you to be a satisfied guest.
We were in room 623. The actual size of the rooms is adequate, but what is exceptional is the layout of the deluxe rooms. You enter on a terrace furnished with a lounge chair and sofa with coffee table. We had coffee and juice on our terrace overlooking the sea each morning. There is also a nice picture window in the room and you are afforded a great view. In the back of the deluxe rooms, is a private garden terrace with an outdoor shower, a lounge chair and another table. It is private and there is a covering overhead.
In the bedroom, we found the mattress too close to the floor. The bed needs a re-design. Most guests are not 4 ft. tall. Also, there are a lack of electrical outlets (one of ours was not operating).
The bathroom is nice. It has a separate soaking tub, shower with rainshower head, good water pressure. There are shutters which could be opened around the bathtub. It is quite lovely to bathe here. We did not have hot water on our final day and I had to shower in cold water (not fun).
The property is well landscaped and the employees try to keep everything clean…which is difficult due to sand from the beach, littering, and a lack of respect from some guests to pick up after themselves.
There still is no spa at this property, even though there is space to implement one. There is a great workout facility with treadmills, a weight machine and elliptical machines. Massages were not available during our 5 night stay during Eid.
The beach is quite rocky and guests are not permitted to swim off the beach due to the coral. You can walk down the jetty and swim from that point. There is very little sand and the quality of the sand that does exist, is rocky and not comfortable for walking, sand building, etc. The beach is clean and attendants are very nice and accommodating.
The strongest negatives:
The food is really not up to 4 star quality. Our package was all-inclusive, and we had access to breakfast and dinner buffets in Sea Breeze Restaurant. The breakfast did not change during our 5 night stay, but it was ok. Mostafa, the egg cook is very friendly and capable. The dinner buffet, which would cost 200LE per person if you were not on a half or full board package, is terrible at best. We had a difficult time consuming food that was poorly prepared, tasteless, and often found lines of people trying to get food that was not being replenished without delays. It was not a good experience any night. We went to Sea Breeze, tried to eat, and ended up frustrated and hungry. Hazem who delivers room service and also waits tables at Sea Breeze is very nice and helpful.
Lunch in Vie Restaurant is better and room service food is better. Service is good, but very slow, so be prepared if you have small children.
Nescafe is not coffee. Room service and Sea Breeze restaurant think it is. There is a barista coffee stand on the beach at Sails Restaurant and at Omar’s Café in the lobby. Neither opens before 10am so if you want real coffee…bring your own. How difficult is it to get a coffee maker and some ground coffee?
The lobby/front desk, are not open 24 hours. At 5am, when my wife went looking for a coffee as she watched the sunrise…she found the hotel deserted and the lobby locked. Is this an SPG hotel or a guest house/pension?
No spa. No massage. The jacuzzi was overrun with children using it as a children’s pool. The jacuzzi water was so murky, and I seriously doubt it’s been changed in weeks. There doesn’t seem to be any type of water treatment or filtration system. With so many children in the water, you can imagine what happens in there. The sauna and steam room are in the same area. There’s no way to relax with screaming children in the jacuzzi. To make matters worse…the hotel closes the sauna, steam and jacuzzi at sunset (in October, that’s 5:30pm). I managed to make a deal with the pool attendants to allow me to use the sauna after hours (before bedtime) so I could sit in peace and enjoy the sauna.
Penguin Children’s Club…adequate facilities, but no attendants…no security…anyone can access the area. It has a children’s pool, playground and playroom, but no employee was there during our stay. Leaving a children’s pool unoccupied by an employee is a serious safety issue and a liability for the hotel. One can easily imagine a worst-case scenario.
I’ve read about security issues at the hotel and the hotel’s position on investigating internally and encouraging guests not to report to local police. We had no security issues (but took great care) except….one day we came back to our room after a day out to find the door open. Luckily, nothing was missing. The in-room safe was locked and other valuables were where we had left them. I could only assume that housekeeping forgot to close the door when they exited after servicing the room. I did report the issue to the front desk and they promised to address the issue.
Pros: rooms, bathrooms, views, location, service (albeit slow), Mistral Watersports and Aquafun watersports (not run by the hotel, but by Ibertol resorts...still on property at Le Meridien).
Negs: bed height, security, lack of spa & massages, lack of hot water, sauna/steam closing times, lack of real coffee, Penguin Club, Sea Breeze Restaurant.
Do not opt for a half or full board option. The money saved is not really saved when you have to go and pay for better food elsewhere.
Would I come here again? Probably not. There are better SPG hotels on beaches. Not sure if there are better hotels in Dahab, but why drive 1 hour north from Sharm El Sheikh when there are great hotels there?

Room Tip: I would only opt for the Deluxe Rooms on the beach front. Others have sea views, but only over other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatrickErvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud S, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Mr. PatrickErvin,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Dahab and for taking the time to post your detailed review on TripAdvisor.
It was very pleasing to read that you loved the Hotel’s unrivalled location between the Red sea and the mountain. It was encouraging to see that you appreciated the comfort of your spacious room, the bath room and the Architectural style of the hotel. We are proud that it's combining the modern and the classic elements which is in line with our Le Meridien brand, however we were very disappointed to learn that we could not live up to your expectations as overall satisfaction; this surely indicates that you did not receive the typical Le Méridien experience we aim to deliver
We have shared with the concerned Department Heads the points you have highlighted, for their immediate action.
Rest assured that through each comment we receive, both positive and negative, we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our guests.
Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Been there in april. The hotel looks very nice.rooms are great. The service was very bad. Staff are not friendly at all. Food was very bad and expensive. No one seens to know what a service in a 5 stars hotel should be. When u pay this amount of money u expect alot. I'd never come again

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moe-gammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud S, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Moe-gammal,
Thank you for your feedback, we understand that our guest choose Le Meridien brand for its tradition of service and offering a relaxing and refreshing stay. It is never our intention to purposely disappoint our guests.
The Le Meridien Dahab management's goal is to ensure a comfortable and invigorating stay every time, as tastes vary, we have to try and gauge which types of meals will be popular on any given occasion/times of year. We do pride ourselves on being able to accommodate our guests’ requirements, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. It really disappoints us when we miss our mark for excellence and displease our guests.
Hopefully in the future you do allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and as such, please do not hesitate to contact us at the hotel should you decide to do so and we will do our best to ensure that you will receive a truly memorable stay at Le Meridien Dahab.
Kind Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Mum and I stayed at the Le Meridien in Dahab during the Egypt crisis (Sep-Oct 13). We felt welcomed and save at all times during our stay.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, always with a smile on their faces and when trying our Egyptian, they appreciated our efforts.

The hotel was designed by a French architect (Alain Juan) and all the rooms have amazing bathrooms and an outside shower and patio at the back. They are tastefully decorated and you have what's called a 'green choice' where for every day you don't have your room cleaned you can either make a Unicef donation, collect a $5 food and beverage credit or earn 500 Starpoints.

The swimming pools (3 salt water ones with loungers for relaxing and 1 clear water infinity pool) were amazing and the area around the pools were clean and pleasant.

The only negative thing we noticed was that the food was not that great. I brought my own fruit to breakfast as the majority of the fruit was tinned. The meat looked like it was left out since yesterday with hard curly edges and the sweat selection was mainly stale. It may have been due to the fact that we went out of season and there were really not very many guests here due to the public being scared off by the press but still, fresh fruit is a small thing to ask for a 5 star hotel. The evening meals were also rather dull, so I would not recommend going half-board.

Overall though we would come again, just for the Happy Hour (and the staff) so thank you for making our stay special.

Room Tip: Choose the superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud S, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Diana S,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Le Méridien Dahab and for taking the time to post your review at TripAdvisor.
It was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the Hotel’s unrivalled location between the Red sea and the mountain. It was encouraging to see that you appreciated the comfort of your spacious room and the Architectural style of the hotel. We are proud that it's combining the modern and the classic elements which is in line with our Le Meridien brand.
Regarding your comments about the food experience during the stay, we brought your comments to the attention of the executive chef.
Once again, thank you for posting your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to Le Méridien Dahab.
Kind Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
1.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#10 of 53 in Dahab
399 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
1.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 53 in Dahab
709 reviews
2.2 mi away
Happy Life Village
Happy Life Village
#14 of 53 in Dahab
557 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Dahab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Dahab Resort

Address: Al Tahrir St | PO Box 2, Dahab, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dahab
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dahab
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#11 Family Hotel in Dahab
Price Range: $80 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Dahab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien Dahab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Dahab Hotel Dahab
Dahab Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing