We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Dahab Resort
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I try and write a review for able bodied as well as disabled travellers when I've returned from holiday, so I hope this may help anyone who is thinking of visiting this hotel.

The hotel is classed as 5*, but to be fair as with most hotels in Egypt this would be more in keeping with a 4* as say to Mauritius or the Far East, but don't let this deter you,because it more than makes up for this with the impeccable service and the can do attitude of all staff.
The hotel is approx 5 years old, a little faded round the edges in parts, but as soon as you arrive you feel comfortable with your surroundings.

Le Meridien is situated on a hillside, so everywhere you look you have lovely views over the bay and to the rear, the magnificent backdrop of mountains. Reception/lobby area is capacious with lots of quiet places to sit and if you wish free Wi-Fi is available here. The Horizons bar (with happy hour twice a day) offers comfortable surroundings with magnificent views. Bar prices are not extortionate e.g. large measure of gin with tonic and a good quality cocktail worked out at 113 EGP. Decent bar selection also. Bedrooms are simply furnished, reasonably sized with good a/c and heating, TV, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities with copious amounts of tea and coffee, toiletries replenished every day and bathrobes and slippers whiched are changed whenever you need them to be. I missed not having turndown service in the evening, but it was no big deal.
Mozzies are a problem anywhere in Dahab, and the Meridien is no exception, but we soon had that sorted ---- 3 Raid anti mosquito plug ins in the room!!!, a/c turned down to 18 degrees in the evening, spraying the room prior to going out and before long the little blighters didn't dare come into the room. Nets are provided if you have wee ones, just ask, and also the hotel offered to provide us with nets if we so wished. We found Boots tropical strength mozzie spray (50% deet) a god send.
We only booked room and breakfast which I find is much better, as it's such a shame to come to Egypt and not try the local cuisine, so we did a mixture of eating in the hotel and in Dahab town. The main dining room offers Buffet service approx 200 EGP p.p., plenty of choice but mediocre food. The A'La Carte restaurant, mainly oriental, was very good, with reasonable prices. We paid 395 EGP for two course meal for two people. Room service menu had a good selection and again very reasonable. Breakfast was a delight and Chef Saber was an absolute treasure with the personal service he gave to us. Porridge (we are going to award him the "Golden Spurttle" for porridge making in Egypt), and smoked Salmon with scrambled eggs, but there are plenty of choices too numerous to mention, and all cooked well. There is a shop within the lobby area which stocks most of your holiday needs, in fact if you venture into the rear of the shop you will find an Aladdin's cave of artwork, all agreeably priced. We spent many an hour happily drinking tea and having conversations with Isaac who has the shop, such a lovely man. If you just take time to talk you find out so much more about the culture and family life etc.
The beach is of a very coarse sand, and as Dahab tends to be windy at times, the whicker pods are a boon, they keep you sheltered from the wind whilst being extremely comfortable. Diving and wind surfing schools are on site, also bar, eatery, jetty and a house reef.

For the disabled traveller
The hotel does cover a large area with many inclines, but golf buggies( with ease of entry) are available if you wish at any time day or night. Smooth roads all around the resort. Good access down to the beach, with staff on hand to lift wheelchair if you would like to go onto the beach. Entry to reception and lobby, not good, access is by approx 6 steps down, but plenty of staff to assist. Breakfast/Buffet restaurant accessed through lobby area and then a further 6 steps down, again staff on hand. Horizons bar is level entry and also some toilets on this level. A'La Carte restaurant, level entry. The best pool I would say for ease of use is by this restaurant. I think the bedrooms that are better situated are superior and de luxe in the 700 block, near to amenities etc. All rooms are on one level with shower and level patios, but I'm unsure if there are specially adapted rooms.
In an ideal world hotels everywhere would be designed with the disabled traveller in mind, but alas that's not the case. This hotel does try and fit the bill in most areas, but staff are more than willing to assist, without one having to ask.
In conclusion: Wonderful staff, comfortable beds, fantastic service, good quality breakfasts. What more could one wish for.

Room Tip: Definitely more privacy with superior rooms that are set out just behind de luxe rooms
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank celidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud S, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback and your nice comments about our hotel, the service delivered to you and the fantastic location and it's unique nature between the mountain and the red sea. customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise, I was delighted to read your motivating words and to learn that you had a memorable experience with us. Be assured that your nice words have already shared with our Team. We do hope that we will be able to welcoming you again and again to Le Meridien Dahab in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Dahab Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at Le Meridien in Dahab with my girlfriend to celebrate New Year and for some Winter sun. Your reading this for an honest review of the hotel and the area so here it is.

We arrived at the hotel about 7pm on New Years Eve after an hour transfer by private Taxi with Thomson, the rep and driver were very friendly but we were felt pushed into tipping them straight away we were prepared for this but not straight away after a 6 hour flight. We were then greeted by a friendly receptionist he checked us in straight away without any problems however again after showing us to our room he waited awkwardly hinting for a tip of some sort again we were left pressured into giving one which I purposely didn't, everytime we saw him the rest of the holiday at reception or in the lobby we felt like we had offended him in some way because we didn't tip him. I totally understand Egypt isn't as well of as say Britian and other places in Europe or around the world but for a member of staff who is doing his job by checking us in and showing us to the room its hardly going out of his way, in my profession if I asked for a tip everytime I did my job id be earning thousands on the side. Anyway getting back to the review as some people have mentioned the hotel is set in a isolated area of Dahab this isn't a bad thing infact probably the best part of the holiday as the views are stunning with each day being able to look out from the hotel pool area and see Saudi Arabia plus the back drop of mountainous Sandy dunes u don't see this everyday anywhere else in the world with weather for the week between 23-26 degrees for January it was great to be able to lie in the sun during the day, however the pools are def in need of the heating being sorted out during winter months with only the salt water one being heated it was such a shame the fresh one wasn't. The pool attendants are prob the best staff in the hotel very friendly the one looking like a young Lionel Richie who used to wave and acknowledge us everyday, he also was kind enough to put our towels out once he knew where we liked lying.

The Hotel rooms are def becoming shabby and dated we had a standard sea view one with a good lick of paint needed and an upgraded decor job. U can tell the room isn't cleaned to a 5 star standard as u might get in the UK or in Europe Hotels this can be quite a shock when u first arrive with a rather pungeant foist smell as u come in the room, but after a day or 2 u get used to the standard, just think for what u pay u should be provided with better standards on this part. Again another incident with feeling pressured into tipping was with one of the cleaners he introduced himself around the Thursday when he saw us going into our room friendly chap then the next day my girlfriend went back to the room for a drink to be greeted by him where he said he was going back to Cairo that day at 5pm and he will miss her, ok after only meeting this bloke for 2 mins for him to say that was a bit strange. I then bumped into him about 2 hours later he shouted at me not in a nasty way as I was going into the room and then followed me in he said the same thing to me about missing me and started asking about my girlfriends portable DVD player we'd left on the table hinting at me maybe giving it to him as he has no chance of getting one of these in Egypt, again just don't get this whole expecting to tip and give things unless its genuine.

In terms of food the hotel isn't the best with only trying breakfast on one morning i'm not normally fussy with different countries breakfasts but this was prob the worst ive had def wasn't fresh, although the steak sandwhich looked nice which my girlfriend had again drinks and food are a little bit more expensive in the hotel so your best bet is to get a hotel taxi into Dahab town and get the hotel shuttle bus back to the hotel this is the safest way to do this as there are alot of bedouins that come down to the town and tout for giving u a taxi ride they spot the tourists a mile off and try and follow u cause they don't believe u have booked a proper taxi this was quite intimidating for my girlfriend. These bedouins touting for business are the ones in full Egyptian clothing and drive either white pick up trucks or jeeps just to be on the safe side they might seem friendly at first but obviously could be doddgey.

Dahab town itself is an ok setting/harbour area with plenty of nice restaurants to choose from the best probably being Essence( the steak and sticky toffee pudding was great) and AliBaba which the mixed grill keebabs being great also.

So to sum up Dahab isn't a bad place at all its def not Sharm in terms of commercialisation and def behind the times but sometimes its nice when u go on hol to get away from whats happening back at home. If u want late nights/ busy/hussle and bussle of Sharm this isn't for u its def more relaxed. The Le Meridien isn't the worse hotel in the world but we were definately left feeling it should be better for what we payed in terms of cleaniness, some staff pressuring u to tip when its there job and not really going out of there way to do anything extra apart from the pool attendant which we did tip, and the rooms are looking old and shabby now. Would we return? Prob not after experiencing both Sharm and Dahab now, but it was nice to get away for some warm weather at this time of year.

PS Def take some descent fly spray this is a problem in Dahab where u are bitten during the night in bed some bites were quite bad and sore on my grilfriend unfortunately.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichieWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridien1937, Director of Rooms at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear RichieWalton

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on Trip advisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel location in a private bay just in front of the Gulf of Aqaba with exceptional view into the sea and the mountains of Saudi Arabia.

Definitely I will pass your comments to the pool team and thank them in your behalf for the outstanding work they perform.

We feel sorry and disappointed that we did not meet your overall expectations especially with the rooms’ cleanliness and the Room cleaner attitude in regards to tips.
I would like to assure you that this singular behavioral does not represent the entire hotel associate and it will be subject to investigation to make sure it is not repeated again.

Once more many thanks for your comments, and we look forward to welcome you back to Le Meridien Dahab Resort.


Best regards
Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very nice resort with good size rooms, overall good facilities and very friendly staff. Very good if you want to go diving with young kids as you can do boat dives from the dive centre that is located in the resort whilst leaving the kids in the kids club (next door to dive centre). The trip all in all takes about 2.5 hours, which leaves plenty of time to spend with kids.

Probably due to low occupancy the quality standards of the hotel have dropped compared to two years ago. During our stay there was no gas to heat the sweet water pool which therefore was only 18 degrees and really too cold. Also there regularly was no hot water in the shower and one day there was no electricity to prepare hot food. Not huge issues, however not what you would expect from 5* resort.

With exception of breakfast the food is pretty average. Would advise to stay on B&B basis and go for dinner in Dahab where you will find much better restaurants (AliBaba probably the best choice).

Room Tip: I would certainly recommend a deluxe room with sea view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud S, Front Office Manager at Le Meridien Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback and your nice comments about our hotel, the service delivered to you and the fantastic location and it's unique nature between the mountain and the red sea. customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise, I was delighted to read your motivating words and to learn that you had a memorable experience with us. Be assured that your nice words have already shared with our Team.
Regarding your comment related to the dropping in the service standard please be assured that we conduct training to our team members to keep our level of performance as high as our valued guests used to find and to present our mark of excellence we used to have.
We do hope that we will be able to welcoming you again and again to Le Meridien Dahab in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just spent a family (two adult daughters) pre-christmas break here for some sun and sea. The weather in mid-December was great - 22-25 degrees and the sea temperature was about 23 degrees. The hotel has a reef off its beach which is accessed via steps so as to protect the coral - amazing range of fish that really did change daily. The little town of Dahab has the usual tourist shops and a dozen or so very good restaurants. The sellers are anxious for your business - which is understandable given the current state of the economy - but they were not overly pushy.

Room Tip: Sea view is probably worth it - although flies can be a bit of an issue so we didnt use our outside...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Incredibly nice staff. The hotel is fantastic and has unfortunately remained at 20% capacity over the last year due to the uprisings (needless to say the Dahab/Sharm areas are incredibly safe to maintain their main source of income- tourism). This means you are waited on hand and foot. The room was amazing and for the price we got for it an absolute bargain. December was windy at times and colder in the evenings- but still hot enough to sunbathe during the day and be in a shirt in the evening.

Highly recommended and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crouchfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our 4th visit and this hotel is as good as ever. Fantastic staff and it was so quiet due to very few guests so we were treated like royalty. As so few guests dinner was taken in the a la carte restaurant by the pool so really nice atmosphere. Pay extra for a seaview room as its amazing to wake in the morning looking out at wonderful sea. Take some shoes that will take you into sea for swimming as the coral reef will cut your feet. Well worth taking mask and snorkel as the coral reef is amazing.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a seaview room well worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackson280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Very nice Place to relax and very nice peope there very attentive staff and freindly very clean rooms
Very good location and amazing value
Big thanks for all teamwork there
So now I can recomended for all people visit dahab

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canonrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
1.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#9 of 52 in Dahab
397 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
2.2 mi away
Happy Life Village
Happy Life Village
#14 of 52 in Dahab
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
1.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon Hotel
4.2 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Dahab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Dahab Resort

Address: Al Tahrir St | PO Box 2, Dahab, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dahab
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dahab
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#11 Family Hotel in Dahab
Price Range: $80 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Dahab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien Dahab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Dahab Hotel Dahab
Dahab Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing