We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended, rooms could be better”
Review of Acacia Dahab Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
“Highly recommended, rooms could be better”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed 5 days in Acacia in October 2013. Very helpful staff before the stay and throughout. Perfect location, close to the city and everything you need. OK food. Only criticism is that the rooms were a bit stuffy. They're clean but the AC was dripping so the smell wasn't so nice in both rooms we booked. All in all though, very highly recommended for an affordable yet comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nada R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussam E, Guest Relations Manager at Acacia Dahab Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We are happy to read you have enjoyed your stay so much and could highly recommend the Acacia Hotel. I hope you have mentioned the problems with the AC when you were still here, because we always strive to optimal customer satisfaction. We could have had the AC looked after or change rooms for you. Thank you for letting us know and we really hope to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    32
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
66
63
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My family recently stayed in the lovely resort of Dahab at New Year. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay very much (however, some parents may prefer a hotel with a heating swimming pools for the kids).

I paid my bill mostly by cash to avoid the hotel’s charges, and as a favour to the management. However, in processing the remaining monies, the staff charged my credit card twice, for the additional sum of over 1000 UK pounds.

Despite a month passing, and countless emails and phone calls, the hotel has still not returned this significant sum of money. I AM STILL MORE THAN 1000USD out of pocket!! The owner claims to have wired the fund back to me, but these monies have not arrived.

It is difficult to judge whether the staff and management are incompetent, or if this is deliberate fraud. Either way, despite the hotels various qualities, I CERTAINLY WOULD NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE STAY HERE!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jonesblw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussam E, Owner at Acacia Dahab Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
The owner and management of Acacia Hotel would like to respond to this review. Indeed a mistake has been made charging our customers credit card twice. It appeared at the time that one of the payments was cancelled, though. Only after our customer returned to England, we were informed that the credit card had been charged twice.

We deeply regret this mistake and felt immediately the money rightfully belonging to our customer needed to be returned as soon as possible, we informed the bank that this money did not belong to us and the bank notified our customer about this immediately.
After this however, many unfortunate things have happened to delay this process, some of which even laughable unlikely, like the name of our customer resembling a name on the terrorists list of the bank so closely, that the bank held the money until the full name was provided.
From this transaction our customers had received proof of transfer, by photographic evidence of the receipt. It is impossible for us to cancel a transfer after it has been done, this can only be done by the bank.

We are happy that at this stage our customer has finally received his money.

We understand that it has caused our customer troubles and that it has been stressful for him to have to wait for a significant amount of money to be returned. The hotel management however did everything in its power to correct the mistake and is terribly sorry so many things have happened to delay the return of the money. We are also very sorry to see that this situation has caused our customer to think of fraud, rather than a genuine mistake and a range of unfortunate circumstances to delay the solution of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a wonderful week at the Acacia Hotel.in January 2014. The people at the hotel are unbelievably friendly and helpful, the setting and design are just perfect, and the rooms are serviced meticulously - the art of towel sculpture has to be seen to be believed. The hotel helped to organize everything we needed - an individually crafted trip to St Katherine's monastery and the Sinai environment, snorkelling over fantastic coral reefs and a diving course (I'll write a separate review of Sea Dancer dive centre at the hotel). We'll definitely go back there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussam E, Guest Relations Manager at Acacia Dahab Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you Ian, for your great review! We loved having you and Val around and are very happy you enjoyed your stay so much you were already considering coming back when you hadn't even left yet! Please come back for another relaxing holiday and more diving with us and we promise to look after you at least as well as we did last time. ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have stayed at the Acacia several times now and I have never been disappointed. In fact my stays have gotten better and better. The staff is incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful. The rooms are perfectly clean and comfortable. Everyday that I returned to my room, I was delighted by a new creative towel sculpture that always made me smile. The pool area is beautifully maintained and offers a relaxing oasis. I can't recommend this hotel enough. It has become the base for all my Dahab adventures and truly my Paradise in the Sinai.

Room Tip: I have stayed in all styles of rooms and haven't been disappointed. Last time I had a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAshenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussam E, Guest Relations Manager at Acacia Dahab Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you John, for giving us a great review, but most of all for your return visits! It means you really are satisfied with the service the hotel offers and this means a lot to us. We are always happy to have you back with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Beautiful setting. Breakfast looking straight out to sea and across to the coastline of Saudi Arabia. Rooms looking over the pool through the restaurant through to the sea. Snorkelling straight out from the hotel with amazing fish to see. On the edge of Dahab but 5 mins walk along the coast to the centre. Plenty of shops to browse around where you can good- naturedly haggle with the shop owners. Private taxi transfer arranged by the hotel at half the cost of what you see on the internet. We were incredibly well looked after by the helpful friendly staff. Hotel and site spotlessly clean. A special thank you to Beverley for her advice about the area and the shopping trip. More special "thank yous" to the chef and the waiters for the special meal on our last night and looking after us so well generally; Jimmy for our individually designed trip out to the desert;Sally at Sea Dancer (on site) who master minded our son's Padi certificate and looked after my beginner snorkelling needs by arranging a trip 10 mins up the coast at very low cost to easy access snorkelling in a totally untouristy area with AMAZING fish and coral in huge numbers and finally to the young man who cleaned our room and arranged our towel sculptures every day.

Only things to bear in mind is the pool isn't heated so in the winter its a "plunge" but fine once you are swimming; the access to the sea at the hotel isn't really suitable for small children or people who are unsteady on their feet ; the showers in our rooms were small with a shower curtain that can "cling" a bit but is perfectly clean. That being said the overall experience outweighs those small things.

Dahab is so so quiet due to the travel advice by America and most European countries. However it is hours away from Cairo where the political unrest is. The businesses are struggling so much with the bottom totally having dropped out of the market, most hotels and restaurants being almost empty in the week that we went.

Thoroughly recommended - go and you will not only have a lovely holiday but also feel that you will be helping the people of Dahab by spending your hard earned cash there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussam E, Guest Relations Manager at Acacia Dahab Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
We are very pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and can highly recommend the Acacia Hotel. We hope you still have happy memories of your time in Dahab and of course hope to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We Spent Our Holiday At Acacia Hotel With Our Family.... It Was The Perfect Holiday Ever The Rooms Was Very Clean They Do Lovely Towels Animal The Food Was Really Good And A Great Service .... Special Thanks For ( Mahmoud & Nemo ) They Were Sooo Great They Are Always There When You Need Them And They Were Very Helpful Always Smiling To you ... The Hotel Restaurant With A Great Sea View , Absolutely The Best Choice For Dahab , You Will Never Regret it

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hussam E, Guest Relations Manager at Acacia Dahab Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we highly appreciate it and are very pleased to see you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and would highly recommend Acacia Hotel. Hopefully you still have fond memories about your holiday in Dahab, we would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Acacia hotel in September and knew that we wanted to bring our family here over Christmas when they visited from Canada over Christmas holidays.

Our family (who have been to many resorts and hotels around North America) absolutely loved the connection they made with the hotel staff and the specialized service. When they found out it was my mother-in-law's birthday, they even made a special birthday surprise and had us come to the outdoor "hangout" area where the chef surprised us with a lovely birthday cake, and the other hotel staff treated us to songs and dancing.

(I heard that the meals the Acacia used to serve were not the best, but I think they have a new chef, and we were very impressed with the meal we had there).

There are only two downsides - Beverly is working somewhere else now (we loved seeing her during our last visit!) and the showers are tiny, but everything else is FANTASTIC.

Room Tip: some rooms overlook the pool area (pool is closed in evenings, but people can still hang out on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJHuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
2.1 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
696 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
1.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#6 of 52 in Dahab
374 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acacia Dahab Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acacia Dahab Hotel

Property: Acacia Dahab Hotel
Address: 5 Mashraba Street, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acacia Dahab Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of peaceful Dahab, Egypt is the Acacia Dahab Hotel. Our newly renovated, family-run hotel is situated directly on the waterfront. Overlooking the amazing Red Sea, you will find your stay at the Acacia Dahab Hotel an experience of serenity and a place for every type of traveler. Much like the atmosphere of Dahab itself, the hotel design creates a calm soothing, and private atmosphere for our guests. It is our pleasure to welcome you to Dahab, Sinai, and Egypt to show you the many wonders it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Acacia Dahab Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing