We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WATERSPORTS”
Review of Jaz Dahabeya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jaz Dahabeya
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location, right on the beach and all the facilities are first class. For all water sports and snorkelling trips, seek out Alex at Babyfish. They are on the left hand side of the beach. He took us on some fabulous trips to Blue Hole and Ras Mohammed. He organised everything and acted as our guide. He couldn't do enough for us.

Room Tip: We were on the Ground Floor with Pool View. Room 1121 is right by the pool and only 25yds from the b...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevo009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberotelDahabeya, Manager at Jaz Dahabeya, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for choosing Iberotel Dahabeya to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards :

HolidayCheck TopHotel 2011
Thomson Gold Award 2011
Travelife Gold Award 2011
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2011
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 hotels (Best Hotels) 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Service (Middle East 2012)
HolidayCheck TopHotel 2012
TripAdvisor Award of Excellence 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 Hotels for Service 2012

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Sherif Mahgoub
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
There are newer reviews for Jaz Dahabeya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 850 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

Fantastic. All the positive comments have already been made by other people so I won't go through them again.
Downside - I believe that this hotel is going in to the Platinum brochure next year and this will come with Platinum prices.
We came here for a relaxing beach/pool holiday and that is just what we got.
I love snorkelling and the wife wanted to lie on a sun bed near a pool both of which we got here.
There are two small reefs just off the end of the swimming area and a house reef(man made) about 100 yards to the left of the swimming area. I would like to suggest that the hotel extend the protected swimming area to enclose these areas as the windsurfers and motor boats seem to enjoy going as fast as they can right over these areas.
We actually saw the man from the windsurf place next to the hotel stop and tell people swimming to get out of his windsurfing area and get back into the swimming area. Why can't they have a speed limit for the motorboats close to the shore?
If you go to the swimming area for the Swiss Inn their reef is inside the swimming area and is much safer.
Also the hotel right at the end before the lagoon has several small reefs also inside their swimmers area.
At low tide you can wade through the lagoon at the end of the beach and there is very good snorkelling over there in front of the area with sunbeds(take sea shoes or flip flops).
It was also nice to get straight in to water of swimming depth without having to walk out on a wooden pier as you do in Sharm.
All rooms have hair dryers, kettles with tea and coffee and herbal teas provided, flannels shampoo conditioner and shower gel.
The food is very good with excellent choice.
Dogs - there are a lot of strays - if you are worried about them there is a charity box in reception to have them spayed and vaccinated. They are nothing to do with the hotel in fact security chase them off the beach. They are friendly and harmless
but people from the hotel feed them. They never bothered us.
The trip in to Dhahab is worth doing. Early evening seems to be the best time. I went in shorts and flip-flops and felt a bit under-dressed.
Take a good insect repellent that you can rub on your skin. Mossies and sand flies gave us a good chewing and the flies will annoy you.
I wore long trousers in the evenings at least they can't bite your legs then.
The plug in repellent was a waste of time you might as well throw it at them.The two pin plugs
here are aligned vertically so unless you have a rotating plug you won't be able to use it anyway.
Temperatures- we came on November 9th for three weeks and it was 28 at 7am and 35 by lunchtime.
Evenings were very warm.
Towards the end of November it was 21 at 7am and 28 at lunchtime on average and the
pool was definetley a lot colder. Evenings were just warm enough to sit outside.
We had two or three windy days where it was a lot cooler(24) during the day and one amazing thunderstorm
with hail stones the size of small marbles followed by torrential rain. This closed the pool and beach bars for the rest of the day.
How the staff managed to clean up all the water and open the main restaurant by the evening I do not know.
They worked very hard.
If you want to know how sunbeds get reserved by 5.30 am have a word with the man who
gives out the towels.
Finally on arrival at the airport watch out for the people who grab your cases out of your hand and want a £5 tip for carrying them 50 yards. They say they are working for Thomson.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberotelDahabeya, Manager at Jaz Dahabeya, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for choosing Iberotel Dahabeya to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards :

HolidayCheck TopHotel 2011
Thomson Gold Award 2011
Travelife Gold Award 2011
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2011
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 hotels (Best Hotels) 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Service (Middle East 2012)
HolidayCheck TopHotel 2012
TripAdvisor Award of Excellence 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 Hotels for Service 2012

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Sherif Mahgoub
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from our second visit to the Dahabeya Hotel. This was better than the first time.
Though I had a few health issues while at the hotel, which was of no fault of the hotel, the staff and manager could not have been more helpful.
I could tell you how good the service, cleanliness and food was, but I am sure you do not want to read another boring script about that. Everything was fantastic.
This hotel is perfect if you want a quiet holiday. What is more the animation team do not try to bully you into taking part in their games if you do not want to.
We are already planning our return early in the New Year.

Room Tip: Over looking the pool, avoid sea view as can be windy.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naederac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberotelDahabeya, Manager at Jaz Dahabeya, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for choosing Iberotel Dahabeya to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards :

HolidayCheck TopHotel 2011
Thomson Gold Award 2011
Travelife Gold Award 2011
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2011
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 hotels (Best Hotels) 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Service (Middle East 2012)
HolidayCheck TopHotel 2012
TripAdvisor Award of Excellence 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 Hotels for Service 2012

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Sherif Mahgoub
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just back from this hotel two days ago and would thoroughly recommend it. Just fantastic staff, always smiling and very helpful. Just can't believe how quickly they cleaned up after a major storm with hailstones.Food good with a good choice every day.The service could be improved at times and more especially with drinks being served in the front lobby.It was quicker at times to get them oneself. Wonderful beachside location, however the main problem we had was with flies on the beach and being biten badly with mosquitos/sand flies, not sure which, so take plenty of protection. If you like water sports etc then the company Baby Fish on the left of the beach is the tops. Alex is just great and very knowledgable and if you are a novice he is only too willing to help you. Did three trips with him and we just had an amazing time.He knows the area very well and can tailor make trips for your convenience.Evening entertainment was poor but who needs it in this lovely location.Thank you Dahabeya for a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Were happy on the first floor over looking pool as no swimming is allowed after dusk so quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberotelDahabeya, Manager at Jaz Dahabeya, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for choosing Iberotel Dahabeya to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards :

HolidayCheck TopHotel 2011
Thomson Gold Award 2011
Travelife Gold Award 2011
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2011
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 hotels (Best Hotels) 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Service (Middle East 2012)
HolidayCheck TopHotel 2012
TripAdvisor Award of Excellence 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 Hotels for Service 2012

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Sherif Mahgoub
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

After a much needed break, this holiday was not a disappointment it exceeded our expectations. The staff were very helpful and friendly from the moment we got there until the moment we left. Checking in was seamlessly easy and everything was explained to us thoroughly. We did have a minor issue with our shower being cold but this was quickly rectified as soon as we went to reception where the lovely Mohamed sorted everything out without hassle.
The food was good with a wide variety to choose from, we especially enjoyed the scrabbled eggs. With one of us being quite a fussy eater there was always something that we could eat and it was all delicious. The waiters sure knew how to put a smile on our faces. There was no request big or small that they weren't happy to deal with.
Very clean hotel and we were amazed at how quickly the place can go from being flooded from the terrible rain we had on one day to it being back to perfection just like nothing had happened, as they all worked extremely hard to achieve this. Housekeeping were especially attentive to making the towels and bedding into different shapes which was always a lovely surprise after a busy day.
Our days and nights were made by the wonderful animation team Mizo, Line, Kimo and Mahoo. They put on a superb range of activities during the day (water aerobics, yoga, darts, volleyball, water polo, bowls and stretching) something for everyones tastes. They even managed to persuade us into helping them do there comedy show on our lastnight, which both of us felt nervous about but they made us feel very comfortable and we actually really enjoyed it. Mizo is a talented guy with all his great ideas for the shows, from back stage we could hear the whole crowd in laughter. From our experiences this is one of the best animation teams we have come across they encouraged us to join in but didn't continuelly pester you when they could see you just wanted to relax. We had a perfect combination of relaxation and entertainment.
We would highly recommend going to this hotel and we will be returning next year as it was just fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberotelDahabeya, Manager at Jaz Dahabeya, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for choosing Iberotel Dahabeya to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards :

HolidayCheck TopHotel 2011
Thomson Gold Award 2011
Travelife Gold Award 2011
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2011
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 hotels (Best Hotels) 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Service (Middle East 2012)
HolidayCheck TopHotel 2012
TripAdvisor Award of Excellence 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 Hotels for Service 2012

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Sherif Mahgoub
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed from 15th to 22nd Nov and could not fault this lovely hotel, Everyone works so hard and the excellent standard is maintained daily, Thankyou to our lovely beach chappy Ahmed , Diaa, Samy Shady, Mina who had no end of smiles etc! So nice to see the management always involved. This hotel has that personel touch, was just a shame we had to come home. You will just love this little gem in Dahab!

Room Tip: Superior twin with pool view, also had a lovely sea view, top floor are the best, Worth the up grade...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morleyjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberotelDahabeya, Manager at Jaz Dahabeya, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for choosing Iberotel Dahabeya to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards :

HolidayCheck TopHotel 2011
Thomson Gold Award 2011
Travelife Gold Award 2011
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2011
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 hotels (Best Hotels) 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Service (Middle East 2012)
HolidayCheck TopHotel 2012
TripAdvisor Award of Excellence 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 Hotels for Service 2012

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Sherif Mahgoub
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Relaxing, great service, good food. Fantastic staff. If you are going to Egypt, stay here. The service and attention to detail is second to non. The hotel goes out of its way to make sure you have a great holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Fist floor is better than ground.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberotelDahabeya, Manager at Jaz Dahabeya, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for choosing Iberotel Dahabeya to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards :

HolidayCheck TopHotel 2011
Thomson Gold Award 2011
Travelife Gold Award 2011
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2011
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 hotels (Best Hotels) 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Service (Middle East 2012)
HolidayCheck TopHotel 2012
TripAdvisor Award of Excellence 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 Hotels for Service 2012

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Sherif Mahgoub
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#9 of 52 in Dahab
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon Hotel
5.3 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
709 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
1.8 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Dahabeya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Dahabeya

Address: Lagoon Area, Dahab, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Dahabeya)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dahab
#1 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#6 Family Hotel in Dahab
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Price Range: $56 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Dahabeya 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaz Dahabeya is situated directly on the sandy beach of the natural lagoon by the Red Sea resort of Dahab, just a one hour drive from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport and only two hours from Taba International Airport. You can reach Cairo in around six hours, driving through the beautiful mountains of Sinai. Away from it all and not as bustling or as yet commercial as some other Red Sea resorts, Jaz Dahabeya offers serenity in an unspoilt landscape with some of the best adrenalin fuelled watersports action and diving in the world. The scenery surrounding the hotel is breathtaking, looking over the lagoon to the mountains of Sinai and Saudi Arabia as a backdrop. The bay is one of the most sought after destinations for windsurfers keen for the ultimate challenge and many other attractions, such as the Mountain of Moses, St. Catherine Monastery and the Coloured Canyon are close to hand. Service and warm hospitality complete the picture as Jaz Dahabeya has won several awards including Holiday Check 2005, TUI Holly Award 2006 and L’Tur best 100 hotels word-wide in 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jaz Dahabeya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Dahabeya Dahab
Iberotel Dahabeya Hotel Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing