We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eighth time to Egypt, First time to Dahab”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jaz Dahabeya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jaz Dahabeya
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eighth time to Egypt, First time to Dahab”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed from the 8th- 22nd October, after reading all the reviews about the hotel prior to our arrival we were expecting something very special, perhaps we had to higher expectations. In reality i think the hotels grading of 4 star plus is a little over ambitious. However i must say the best thing by far and which made us more forgiving of some of the shortfalls, was the attitude and effort made by 100% of the staff. Very disappointing to see was there were no customer relations staff to liaise with to voice your comments and so give the chance to perhaps see improvements made.Would have liked to see a choice of an Al LA CARTE restaurant, as the food in the one restaurant can become a little repetitive over a two week stay.I would like to mention the Great efforts made by all the animation team who worked extremely hard and long hours, a mention to Mena at the pool bar in the daytime and the Beach bar in the evening time , what a star.A good effort made by all the waiting staff and chefs included, but both restaurants look very old and tired and could do with a complete makeover, as look more like a works canteen than a 4 star plus restaurant. Would like to thank Arafa who did an excellent job cleaning our room and always popped back in the evening to check if we were happy with everything.Thanks to Abdul and Allay main chef and 2ic also to Ragar for the extra effort made .

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberotelDahabeya, Manager at Jaz Dahabeya, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for choosing Iberotel Dahabeya to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback.
Our whole team is extremely committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest. We are very sorry that we didn't accomplish this for you. We welcome any suggestions for improving and developing our service. Please contact me by e-mail sherif.mahgoub@iberoteldahabeya.com in order to discuss your impressions in more detail.

Thank you, once more, for your visit to our hotel. We would also like to apologize again for not fulfilling your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.


Sherif Mahgoub
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    206
    41
    15
    12
See reviews for
197
425
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the14th-21st October, lovely relaxing place with lots of water sports on the beach which was a few steps away from our room, pool area very relaxing until the Russians arrived at the end of the week, they don't seem to understand keep your children under control!!
Staff very friendly and helpful, chefs appear from time to time asking if everything ok.
Rooms very spacious and clean, towel art left every day.
Entertainment is always low key in Egypt but they seemed to have it covered with either animation team putting on a show or a singer on in the bar area which was a nice touch.
Overall we had a fabulous holiday and would recommend this hotel if you want a nice relaxing holiday but don't forget a fly spray and insect repellent as the mozzys were out in force!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diver1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberotelDahabeya, Manager at Jaz Dahabeya, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for choosing Iberotel Dahabeya to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards :

HolidayCheck TopHotel 2011
Thomson Gold Award 2011
Travelife Gold Award 2011
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2011
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 hotels (Best Hotels) 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Service (Middle East 2012)
HolidayCheck TopHotel 2012
TripAdvisor Award of Excellence 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 Hotels for Service 2012

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Sherif Mahgoub
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton on Sea, New Milton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were expecting great things, having read the reviews, and we weren't disappointed. In particular we can praise Chef Ragub who would regularly come into the restaurant to check that everyone was happy with their meal - we mentioned that we like to try local dishes so from then on he prepared special Egyptian meals for the two of us every night, visiting our table to make sure we were happy with them (which we were - they were delicious - especially the fish tagine). Now that's what we call service! Also our room housekeepers were cheerful, friendly and above all, eager to please. Nothing was too much trouble. In fact, all the staff from management right through to the most junior, were always smiling, courteous and charming. Well done Sherif Mahgoub, Hotel Manager.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberotelDahabeya, Manager at Jaz Dahabeya, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for choosing Iberotel Dahabeya to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards :

HolidayCheck TopHotel 2011
Thomson Gold Award 2011
Travelife Gold Award 2011
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2011
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 hotels (Best Hotels) 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Service (Middle East 2012)
HolidayCheck TopHotel 2012
TripAdvisor Award of Excellence 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 Hotels for Service 2012

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Sherif Mahgoub
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milowka, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel is located on the beach, about 4 km from the center of Dahab. You can get there was a shuttle bus. Staff very attentive, bar on the beach and by the pool served good coffee, other drinks as well I tasted. Food very good. Animation Team organized many activities, such as lessons a belly dancing or disregard volleyball. In the evenings were also artistic programs. And the unforgettable views. All day I could not part with the camera.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magda-Goralka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberotelDahabeya, Manager at Jaz Dahabeya, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for choosing Iberotel Dahabeya to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards :

HolidayCheck TopHotel 2011
Thomson Gold Award 2011
Travelife Gold Award 2011
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2011
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 hotels (Best Hotels) 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Service (Middle East 2012)
HolidayCheck TopHotel 2012
TripAdvisor Award of Excellence 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 Hotels for Service 2012

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Sherif Mahgoub
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Arrived on the 27th of Sept for seven days it was our first visit to Dahab and the Iberotel Dahabeya,we have travelled extensively in Egypt so we thought lets go somewhere we have not visited so we ended up choosing the Iberotel Dahabeya as previous visitors had written such good reports about the hotel and staff.

Well the reviews on Trip Advisor were spot on the location of the hotel in on the beach a 10 yards walk to the sand well at least from our room,we had a second floor room with sea view and it was just brilliant the view of the bay especially in the evening just spectacular,our room was large and kept clean and the AC worked trouble free.

The Hotel staff were all very friendly and were always helpful if you needed anything,they work very long hours yet they always have a smile on their faces,special mention to Faraj,Diah who are the fastest waiters i have ever known,they should wear trainers as they move so fast,Islam in Reception a real character,the animation team Lynn,Oskar and Mahoo again just dont stop working to get everyone involved in Water Aerobics,Stretching,Boccia(Beach boules),Water Polo,Volley Ball,Darts,Snooker etc etc, I will have to return to defend my Boccia title next year.

Food was good as I said I have travelled a lot in Egypt and there was always something you could find to eat at all meal times,in fact I put on a little weight so that gives you a clue to the quality and choices.

The beach has several large Wind Surfing,Kite Boarding and PADI diving schools hire and teaching facilities for the more energetic,also glass bottom boats to see the fish.

We had a very enjoyable stay and were sad to leave at the end of the week,so we we will have to return next year for a longer stay - Inshallah.

George and Lynda Hood

Room Tip: Select higher floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GeorgeHood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberotelDahabeya, Manager at Jaz Dahabeya, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for choosing Iberotel Dahabeya to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards :

HolidayCheck TopHotel 2011
Thomson Gold Award 2011
Travelife Gold Award 2011
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2011
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 hotels (Best Hotels) 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Service (Middle East 2012)
HolidayCheck TopHotel 2012
TripAdvisor Award of Excellence 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 Hotels for Service 2012

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Sherif Mahgoub
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel was well set out and spacious in the public areas , and was kept spotlessly clean and tidy by a great team of cleaners . A very nice well kept beach was feet away from our room . About 40 naturally made parasols with wood surrounds and sun loungers were available to guests , but you had to claim one before 8 am or miss out to the well organised Germans .The sea had been roped off in sections and you could walk out about 75 yrds until the water was above waist level , any further beyond the ropes and it was deep . The pool was a good size with varying depths and not over busy even when waterpolo was played . It was very hot even at night , did not see a cloud . If you like sun , sea , sand and a pool you should love this place . The staff , especially Samy and Farag in the restaurant , could not do enough and were rushed off their feet at times . Now the downers , we both had a dicky / nervous tummy for 2 days which meant a loss of appetite and the runs for a day too . We had done everything right , plenty of water etc. and using the clean hand's dispensers at the entrance to the restaurants . After speaking to other guests , including some germans , they also had been down with similar symptoms . Some people blamed flies and other insects that had easy access to uncovered salad dishes and other cold foods . Plenty of food was always available however the variety was limited and more suited to the Germans who seemed to make up a large chunk of the guests . However fresh tuna , an Egyptian version of beef wellington , a beautiful chicken dish ( sunday only we were told ) and Beef stroganoff were some highlights . Breakfast was nice a choice of eggs different ways , toast , yoghurt , sausages , cooked veg and fruit . The fruit juice was okay but the fresh coffee and teas were lovely . We have to say we were disappointed with the food for 5 star hotel . The drinks during the day / night varied in quality red and white wine poor with the rose the best but only okay , and the beer decent be it was not Leffe blonde . All the soft drinks , tonic , cola , fanta ? and Sprite ? not outstanding . The ice cream was more of sorbet in style . Any day time snacks seemed invisible or had been quickly eaten . The pool music was nice but a bit loud at times and a bit annoying you heard the same loop of music everyday . Any night entertainment had finished by 9 30 pm and as we like to eat late was usually missed by us , however what we saw we enjoyed . We went into Dahab town which seemed like another world to the hotel . Dahab was rundown , half finished buildings , holes in the road , no pavements in parts , dirty , smelly and shopowners who would not take no as an answer . A final plus was the £ 5 two hour boat trip from the beach next to the hotel to see the coral and fish through a glass bottom boat with the opportunity to go snorkeling if you wanted .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tigernation1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberotelDahabeya, Manager at Jaz Dahabeya, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for choosing Iberotel Dahabeya to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback.
Our whole team is extremely committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest. We are very sorry that we didn't accomplish this for you. We welcome any suggestions for improving and developing our service. Please contact me by e-mail sherif.mahgoub@iberoteldahabeya.com in order to discuss your impressions in more detail.

Thank you, once more, for your visit to our hotel. We would also like to apologize again for not fulfilling your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.


Sherif Mahgoub
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our second stay at the hotel. The staff are friendly, helpful and work incredibly hard. The rooms are clean, spacious and well ventilated with air conditioning. There is a good selection of excursions from the hotel and a free shuttle bus that runs into town. The staff couldn't do enough to make your stay comfortable. The only aspect to improve on I would say is the food-it is more tailored for the European palet so the food is a little bland and more tailored for the majority of Germans and Russians who visit there. I would also like to see more authentic local food being served.

Room Tip: Sea view room or pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberotelDahabeya, Manager at Jaz Dahabeya, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for choosing Iberotel Dahabeya to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.

As a result of our efforts, we have achieved the following awards :

HolidayCheck TopHotel 2011
Thomson Gold Award 2011
Travelife Gold Award 2011
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2011
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 hotels (Best Hotels) 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Service (Middle East 2012)
HolidayCheck TopHotel 2012
TripAdvisor Award of Excellence 2012
TripAdvisor - Top Egypt 25 Hotels for Service 2012

This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2012.

Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Sherif Mahgoub
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
0.2 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
2.0 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
1.7 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Dahabeya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Dahabeya

Property: Jaz Dahabeya
Address: Lagoon Area, Dahab, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Dahabeya)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dahab
#6 Family Hotel in Dahab
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Dahabeya 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaz Dahabeya is situated directly on the sandy beach of the natural lagoon by the Red Sea resort of Dahab, just a one hour drive from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport and only two hours from Taba International Airport. You can reach Cairo in around six hours, driving through the beautiful mountains of Sinai. Away from it all and not as bustling or as yet commercial as some other Red Sea resorts, Jaz Dahabeya offers serenity in an unspoilt landscape with some of the best adrenalin fuelled watersports action and diving in the world. The scenery surrounding the hotel is breathtaking, looking over the lagoon to the mountains of Sinai and Saudi Arabia as a backdrop. The bay is one of the most sought after destinations for windsurfers keen for the ultimate challenge and many other attractions, such as the Mountain of Moses, St. Catherine Monastery and the Coloured Canyon are close to hand. Service and warm hospitality complete the picture as Jaz Dahabeya has won several awards including Holiday Check 2005, TUI Holly Award 2006 and L’Tur best 100 hotels word-wide in 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jaz Dahabeya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Dahabeya Dahab
Iberotel Dahabeya Hotel Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing