We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coral Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral Coast Hotel
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Just returned from 7 days stay at the Coral Coast where we had a lovely time. We enjoyed our stay and had a relaxing time. I think the hotel is in need of an update specially the showers and the rooms without sea view. After our first night we decided to upgrade our room and we got a room facing the pool and it was better kept but as others have said you get what you paid for and everything is very basic but than we did not go to Dahab for a luxury holiday, we went for the diving. We had our open water course with Fantasea the diving centre at the hotel and it was worth it. The best feature of the hotel was the Arisha just in front where you can relax at the end of the day having a drink and watching the sea. In total I have to give the hotel 4 stars for the location which was 5 minutes away from town (restaurants, market) also just 100m from a nice diving, snorkelling spot and also the service, big thanks to Ahmed from the reception always their to help us.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony or the rooms in front of the pool are worth the upgrade, more space and quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luanabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    67
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
27
63
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We were independant travellers and the hotel had been picked for us by Caroline who was running the Bellydancing workshops, and she couldn't of picked a better hotel.
The staff were wonderful, the rooms were lovely, once we worked out how to use the boiler for hot water! we obviously missed the instructions when we arrived!. We had a fridge and kettle which we weren't expecting, the towel art was a work of art and the rooms were basic but clean and tidy - we had a brilliant view of the bay and could see Saudi Arabia on a clear day!.
The breakfasts were ideal for us - simple but with the days we were having we didn't need a huge breakfast - lovely omlettes and pancakes and the staff quickly got used to our need for 10 cups of tea to get going, they were always polite and helpful when we probably asked the stupidest of questions!
We had one evening where they had put on a buffet and Caroline (and some of the waiters) danced, we ate in the tent over the path as well - it was all good - they put everything onto the room bill and let you pay when you want to.
The pool was lovely and not too cold, and there were sunbeds around the pool and on the beach (along with hammocks which I didn't bother with as I didn't want a trip to the hospital).
The hotel has a yoga room and lots of yoga classes going on, we used if for some belly dancing lessons and had a really good laugh and learnt some new moves.
The hotel is on the front, a reasonable walk from the rest of the restaurants and bars so it wasn't too noisy, you could hear the generator from the shops at the front of the hotel but personally I find that soothing, and missed they when they weren't going. There is a path at the back of the hotel that goes left to a variety of other hotels and then beach and right to the main drag where the restaurants and bars are - this is a bit dark at night so take a torch or walk the front way, where you might see goats running down the road, or get a taxi back from the bridge - sit in the back of a open backed van - first time I've done that in about 30 years!
A really good choice of hotel - I've started my penny jar to go back - next time I want to try snorkelling and maybe the next time diving!(It has a diving centre and everyone who used it seemed happy with it) Need to get some contact lenses first and have a go at the yoga as well - Think I'll need two weeks next time not one!!
We booked a trip to the Coloured Canyon with Embah tours who have an office in the hotel and they were very good, our driver, Mohammed should be a rally driver but was very calm when we had a flat tyre 10 minutes into the dessert and fixed it quickly. Our guide, Addel, was excellent, a real fount of knowledge and our local guide, Abraham was a charmer who was very helpful on our trip.
We went during the festival week so it was quite lively - lots of parties and things going on.
The staff told us things have been quiet since the uprising so the restaurants are really eager to get you in.

Not sure why I am writing this review - I should be keeping it a secret - don't want it to get too popular but we had a lovely relaxing holiday and it's effect is only just beginning to wear off after a week at work and the rain that hasn't stopped since we got back - it hasn't rained properly in Egypt for 7 years - they can have some of Wales' rain - I'm fed up with it!

Room Tip: We had room 40 which was clean tidy and all worked, don't know about wifi as we didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinefromCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

....and theres a reason we do!!

The Coral Coast is a gem in Dahab. Its as close to being a relaxed place as I think its possible to get. I have just come back from my third visit and will keep coming back - why? Let me tell you :-)

- Its in a brilliant location, a short walk from "town"
- It has the "Arisha", right on the beach where you can eat yummy food
- Cold Sakara in the bar area
- The bedouin tent where you can enjoy bedouin food & music
- It has an on site dive centre (Fantasea - who are amazing)
- The staff are second to none
- It is off the beaten track so you are not stuck with the all inclusive brigade
- Space for yoga people to do yoga
- Highly recommended massages
- Did I mention the dive centre?

Rooms are basic, clean, we had a fridge and a kettle and the beds were slightly hard but lets face it - if you are coming to Dahab you are not coming to sit in your room to enjoy the view!!!

Extremely friendly, very welcoming and you feel like you are coming home when you come back. See you all again soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

You don't go to Dahab for luxury and the stay was everything that we expected for the price, amenities were quite basic but the room and balcony were a great size, wi-fi was a little patchy through thick walls but we just used the balcony to get signal.
Breakfasts were simple and OK, but found ourselves stopping to buy some real coffee on the walk down to the strip each morning.. Overall a great stay for the price and the pool and beach out front of the hotel were lovely.

I loved Dahab for its relaxed setting and fantastic food and would stay at the hotel again if i returned

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the reception if you need wi-fi in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nocharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

You don't come to Dahab for luxury, the again Package Tourists stay away in droves. Amenities are fairly basic but Chris, one of the owners whom I met, and chatted to and the staff are just wonderful, made me feel very welcome—and, you get to eat Real Food with local flavors, cooked to order and served on low tables while you lounge on cushions in a Bedouin Tent right next to the beach. Don't worry, there are plenty of western choices on the menu as well. This is close as it gets to the Real Thing. I hope Dahab never changes. Because of a visa problem I experienced one of those 'luxury, all-inclusive' horror shows in Sharm for a night—one of the most depressing nights of any vacation I can remember.

Room Tip: My room was a little too close to the kitchen and office so my view of the ocean was minimal, so ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Modish86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
309 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We spent a week here while attending a yoga course out of the UK and were completely satisfied without being thrilled. The rooms are very simple, although our deluxe room came with fridge and coffee maker, which was good. On the downside, the bathroom was small and the shower simply primitive. Peeling paint on walls was atmospheric possibly, and king bed was huge and comfortable. Breakfast simple but filling, with solid Egyptian offerings. Staff was very good and accomodated every request. Excellent cheap laundy across the street. Beautiful location, albeit on the windy side of Dahab and about ten minute walk to the centre. Perhaps a bit of a dark walk into the main nightlife at night (donkey poo and uneven pavements, not worse), but lots of great restaurants just north in "Eel Gardens". Food just OK at the restaurant...stick to the simple things. Very nice pool. Relatively pricey transfers to SSH airport, oddly priced in UK pounds. Excellent yoga and diving offerings, which means that this good value place is often deservedly quite full, even in these trying times for Egyptian tourism.

Room Tip: Second floor toward the north will have fabulous views of the sea and (yes) Saudi arabia across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

The staff are very polite, friendly and helpful. It is clean and has a nice sunbathing beach in front but too reedy and rocky to swim. Food is ok. Quite a dark walk into town - about 10 minutes. Nice views from superior rooms. The restaurant and shop guys in town are nice but hard sell which is a bit annoying when you just want a casual stroll. Weather very dicey in February. But overall unspoilt and unusual. Low rise and hippified. Nice.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Beach Club
Blue Beach Club
#16 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mirage Village Hotel
0.8 mi away
Nesima Resort and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Sea Relax Resort
Red Sea Relax Resort
#3 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Coast Hotel

Property: Coral Coast Hotel
Address: Eel Garden, Dahab 4600, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Coast Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Coast Hotel hosts 30 en suite rooms with a choice of standard or superior rooms. Recently renovated, our rooms are comfortable and airy with seaviews from the superior rooms. The perfect choice whether your thinking of do some diving, enjoying a relaxing Yoga Holiday or looking for adventure. Swimming pool due to be completed early 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Coral Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Coast Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing