We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to hang out at all day”
Review of Shells

Shells
Ranked #39 of 108 Restaurants in Dahab
Cuisines: Egyptian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place to hang out at all day”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We ended up at Shells almost everyday to swim and suntan. They have the best access to the corals and water. It was really nice to relax here all day. They do not hastle you to buy food or drinks and are super chill. Thanks Samir Sabry for serving us so happily and looking at all my photos!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dailybrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
466 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Good place to rest after a dive”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Just by the lighthouse beach, very nice and relaxing place, staff is very friendly, stacks and drinks are good. I went there several times between dives or at night. I love it!

Helpful?
Thank Arabianman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Lovely laid back restaurant/coffee shop”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a really beautiful casual restaurant that would be as lovely for a special romantic evening as for a place to hang out during the day. My husband and I spent a lovely morning in Shells last week. We were there primarily to use the beach and snorkel the coral out to the left hand side of the bay. The sea at our hotel was a bit rough due to the wind but as usual the Lighthouse area was calm and very swimable. There are steps down into the water giving easy access to the sandy beach and there are views to die for from every angle! For the price of a drink or something to eat if you want it (no pressure) you can leave your gear in the restaurant and enjoy the beach. You can site on the lovely comfy brightly coloured settees, cushions and chairs in the restaurant or move nearer the sea and enjoy the sunloungers with or without umbrellas. The melon fresh fruit juice was really perfect drink for me on a hot day. A choice of breakfasts were available for 20EGP and this included tea or coffee - bargain! The staff including Mo the owner were lovely to us and we felt very comfortable there and would not hesitate to return and also to recommend this gorgeous place to everyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank makoshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Winter sun”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

2 places of same name, one for sun bathing and lovely lunches. Always greeted well and looked after. The other sun downer great table watching the sun disappear. Both places, if I return I to Dahab, will be daily favourites.

Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Snorkel/swim base camp”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

When you arrive in Dahab, swimming and snorkelling should be your main priority. We were struck by an obvious yet pressing problem: how and where do you access the water? The norm on this small stretch of Coast is to pitch up in a cafe/bar and use a combination of table and sun loungers for the duration of your water time. Shells is a premium choice as the staff are incredibly helpful and knowledgeable, the food is of a good standard and it has steps for easy sea access. Not only are the staff lovely people, they are incredibly trustworthy. We didn't take enough money one day and they were more than happy to let us go back to the hotel to get more cash and pay later that evening. In conclusion, an idyllic day time Dahab hangout.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DomeroUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shells also viewed

 

Been to Shells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing