We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a meal!”
Review of Essence Brasserie - CLOSED

Essence Brasserie
Price range: $4 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Modern British Cuisine. Our ethos is to serve a smaller, evolving & well executed menu using the best seasonal produce for all the seafood, meat & vegetarian foodies that visit and live in Dahab. These dishes are all cooked by our accomplished London chef, who also oversees the bar menu, serving the best burgers & steaks in town!PLEASE NOTE WE WILL BE MOVING LOCATION AT THE END OF MAY!!
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More than a meal!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Eating at Essence is a true gastronomic experience. The menu is quite mouthwateringly creative and the food fully delivers to the tastebuds the flavours they expect. Add on a discreetly friendly service and the whole show is reminiscent of a top notch eatery in the City -at a fraction of the price. I do not want this comparison to be off-putting: there is only so much baba ghanoush and bedouin bread you can eat in a week and Essence offers an alternative of elegant on-the-beach sophistication of location, decor, service and menu.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Dahab”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us by Julia from Dahab Net, and we are happy to have discovered this gem of a place. You can choose from a small menu (I understand they change the meny depending on the seasonal availability), a choice of vegetarian or meat/fish starters, which are all good portions, the steak salad is fantastic, excellent mainmeals, and divine desserts (the chocolate mousse!). All food has a special twist of spices or sauces, which is something rare to find in Dahab. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonnenfisch2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I live in cairo but everytime i come to Dahab this is the first place i go...the food is amazing, aswell as the atmosphere the owners are extremely friendly i would and do recommend it to everyone and anyone :D LOVE IT!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fabulous...”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just back from a delicious meal....steak was superb Well worth the extra few pounds and definitely deserves the consistently good reviews. One small critique... that staff wear a uniform of sorts (even if just black shorts/back tshirt and a black apron to further distinguish the restaurant ). The food certainly lends itself to being "a little bit of special" in Dahab. Fabulous food, attentive staff and a very pleasant ambience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gigconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant for Vegetarian Food in Dahab”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Although every restaurant in Dahab has a veggie section on the menu it was only at Essence that Veggie food was cooked with love and understanding. The Aubergine Roulade was a taste sensation with every mouthful and unlike many dishes I never got bored with it (my husband and I usually choose different dishes and share for variety) In fact my mouth is watering thinking of it. Essence has a great location. I am sure there non-veg food is out of this world too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank siouxied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence Brasserie also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing