We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came as guests and left as friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Sheikh Ali deserves its top spot in Dahab. Clean, green, spacy, cool, friendly...I could continue the list. We arrived to meet friends there who spend a whole month there and we enjoyed every of the 18 days we were there. The pool is great for the kids. The place is safe and welcoming for young families. Its just a stroll away from the beach (the Dahab beach outside the lagoon is not very attractive, so a beach front place is not a must) and Dahab center (restaurants, bars, shops and diving places). Sheikh Ali is an oasis. The best place in town.

The staff is friendly and very service minded. The manager is a lovely lady who understands hospitality to perfection. That some of the reception staff did not speak English too well, is just a very minor point.

We had a family room with two seperate rooms for us and the kids. The whole place was more like an appartment. Spacious rooms, big living area and good shower. All air conditioned (and you need that in summer!). The place was made spotless every day!

Breakfast was good and plentyfull (they might just want to think about a buffet just to make life a bit more manageble for the staff). We often had lunch or dinner there as well (nice and convenient for us and the kids). They went out of their way to provide for special requests or dishes.

The hotel arranged taxi's for us and did not overcharge. This was great because of the almost traditional conflicts you end up having with Egyptian cabbies.

The only less than positive point might have been the lack of wifi in our rooms, but that is really the only one. It just made you go outside and sit at the pool if you needed internet.

From a more practical point, the total bill for 17 nights, food (we went out to eat in town 3 out of 5 nights), drinks was certainly not high and pretty fair. Great value for money I would say.

When we left we all felt a bit sad. We had a great time and met a lot of great people!

I will certainly come back to Sheikh Ali.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobMat2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear RobMat2009,

Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing such detailed and positive feedback from your stay. We were sad when you left too and hope to seeing you here again very soon!

Feedback from our guests – good and not so good – is central when we make decisions, changes and improvements here at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort. We do our very best to rectify any problems immediately and if not possible to improve it for the future. With regards to the wifi, I regret to inform you that we have already made some considerable changes to improve the wifi coverage but without being able to solve the problem of spotted service at times. As internet service in the Sinai is limited to 3G we are unfortunately not able to guarantee 100% reliable internet connection at all times, but we hope this will change in the future. We will for sure keep up to date and do our share when a better service is available. Meanwhile, it is good to know you had no problems connecting to the internet when staying in the public areas.

We would like to thank you for sharing your high opinion of everything from location, service, room standard, cleanliness and food in the restaurant. Our hotel manager Rasha thank you specifically for mentioning her attitude, we dear say that hospitality is part of her nature!

A big thank you and best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 245 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Sheikh Ali (two couples and two teenage children). This is a real gem of an hotel! As the hotel has only 22 rooms the service is relaxed and personal. Rooms are large and well thought out. The whole complex (built around a good sized pool) is spotless, and the food thoughtfully prepared and tasty (Tito, who heads the restaurant staff, deserves a special mention). With a town centre location the hotel is conveniently situated for the sea front and local shops, restaurants, dive centres and other amenities. However, through clever design noise from the surrounding area is not a problem. Indeed, stepping through the door of the Sheikh Ali from the dusty streets of Dahab is like stepping into a tranquil oasis.
I would thoroughly recommend the Sheikh Ali and have every intention to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Andrew H,

Thank you for your stay with us and your great feedback and recommendation here on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted you had such a good time during your Dahab holiday. We are very happy you found the hotel facilities, room standard and cleanliness to be of high standards. We wouls especially like to thank you for mentioning the small size of the hotel and the personal service offered from our team.

Tito thank you and we all look forward to your return.

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A family of five, we spent two weeks in July and August at the Sheikh Ali. We were most impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms, the pool and the hotel as a whole, the attentive service that could not have been better, and the quality and variety of the catering (with two qualified chefs), all at a family-friendly price. The suites offer palatial accommodation for two, and are easily large enough for three persons. Indeed, we saw little reason to venture out for meals at all. The hotel lies in a quiet location in Mashraba, a couple of minutes from the start of the bazaar and the beachfront promenade path that stretches for several miles in both directions with restaurants, cafes and tourist agencies as well as shops. Supermarkets and pharmacies also close by. Dahab itself has a relaxed and laid-back atmosphere, even the market store holders and restaurant promoters usually accept a polite 'no' first time. Heavy emphasis on diving and snorkelling, windsurfing and kite surfing are other watersports available. If you are not especially enthusiastic about desert trips however, whether on camel, quad-bikes or 4x4, then you might find the range of alternative pastimes a bit limited. But most people go to Dahab to relax. And for that, it is the ideal location. Much look forward to returning.

Room Tip: First floor suites offer greater privacy but ground floor if you want pool-side accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Nigel D,

Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday in Dahab and Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort. We are very happy your family and yourself enjoyed Dahab in general and Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort in particular.

Dahab is a perfect spot to escape day to day life for a little, weather that being underwater, in the desert of under an umbrella on the beach. We see that most families coming to Dahab have consciously chosen a experience based and genuine holiday for their children. We celebrate the attitude and do our best to let young family members have a great time during their stay here.

Many thanks for sharing the experience of your family Dahab holiday here on Tripadvisor, we are very much looking forward to you return.

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent a week at the hotel in July 2013 and were extremely satisfied with all services.
The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Our room was lovely and large, always very clean and provided all amenities one could wish for. The pool area was very relaxing with comfortable sunbeds and provided the perfect calm environment for ending an exciting day at the beach. The restaurant was really a surprise and after the first evening eating out we did not stray again: PLEASE follow the chefs and waiters recommendations and you will get the finest, freshest dishes you could hope for. We had excellent Egyptian food as well as extraordinary international cousine. Respect to the chef!
We hope to be able to return to this lovely place again in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasLangmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear ThomasLangmann,

Thank you for your stay with us at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort and for your great recommendation here on Tripadvisor.

Over the past months we have made considerable changes to the restaurant menu. We are therefore pleased you enjoyed the meals on offer and the personal recommendations from our chef.

Furthermore, we believe that the central location, high standards and overall facilities at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort is our strength. We want the hotel to be a comfortable base for those who want to explore the Sinai and the Red Sea, as well as a little oasis’ for guests who just want to relax by the pool.

Many thanks for sharing your experience and pinpointing our vision in your own words!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days this June and had the most lovely time. After reading lots of good reviews we were certainly not disappointed on arrival. Lovely staff, massive rooms, great pool with lots of space and beds and a very clean overall environment. So pleased we chose to stay here. Will definatley be back. Thanks very much

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckd80123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Beckd80123,

Thank you for your stay with us and for letting other Dahab visitors know about your positive experience here at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort. We are of course very happy to have so many nice Tripadvisor reviews - and we also know the expectations are high when new guests arrive. We are therefore delighted to read that your expectations were met and look forward to having you here again soon.

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at Sheikh Ali in June 2013 for two weeks and had great time. We had family room which is huge including two bedrooms and a living room. We booked the hotel through dahab.net and got a really nice deal as well, price for such accomodation was very affordable. Room, hotel in general and the pool area was very clean and in good condition. Restaurant serves good food with reasonable prices. Staff was friendly and ready to help all the time. Hotel is located in Mashraba area and is couple of minutes walk away from restaurants and shops. We had really nice holiday and would go back to this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peehoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Peehoo,

Thank you for your email and your wonderful words here on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay in one of our 2-bedroom suites, and at our great summer offer too. Many thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers, we hope to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying at Sheikh Ali three times now and it's always the same - fantastic!

In Egypt, quality and service tends to deteriorate after a new property opens its doors - however, Sheikh Ali has managed to stay on top of its game. The rooms are gigantic, clean and well air conditioned. The walk-in showers are a nice touch, as well as the large vanity (both inside the bathroom and in the small 'changing room' of the room itself) to unpack your belongings.

It's true that the hotel is not on the beach front, but I wouldn't let that deter you from booking here. Remember, Dahab may be 'on the water', but it doesn't mean it's 'on the beach'. Much of the coastline is much too rocky/coral-y/sea urchin-ed to enter with comfort and safety and the true 'beach' hotels are located outside of town (Meridien, Hilton, Mercure). There is something to be said about being able to walk to Blue House Thai or to yoga at Coral Coast and not relying on a vehicle to get you there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RealisticTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear RealisticTraveler123

Thank you for your visits to Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort. It’s your place and you are welcome back any time!

We are very happy you like the facilities and layout of our rooms as well as the hotel standards in general. It can certainly be a challenge to keep the standards over time but we are lucky to have some truly dedicated team members who do their very best to maintain and improve, day after day. An equally big thank you to them all, and to you for pointing out their efforts.

Many thanks for mentioning the location and for sharing your favourite spots with other Dahab visitors. Speaking of sandy beaches, we could add that the public beach of Laguna is within walking distance too.

We hope to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
2.1 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#2 of 53 in Dahab
714 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#9 of 53 in Dahab
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 53 in Dahab
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#1 of 53 in Dahab
551 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jaz Dahabeya
Jaz Dahabeya
#3 of 53 in Dahab
882 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort

Address: Mashraba Palm Tree Garden, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range: $82 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dahab and the Sinai are full of amazing spaces on land and in the water. Echoing the open spaces of the Sinai landscape, our light and airy pool-side suites welcome you to a revitalizing break away. At Sheikh Ali Resort we have created space for you to be truly free and relax your mind - in your room, in yourself and in our natural surroundings.At Sheikh Ali, we have brought together the best of what Sinai has to offer. Red Sea diving and snorkeling, wind- and kite surfing can easily be arranged from the hotel. Deep desert treks and trips to Mt Sinai, St Catherine, Canyons and the Bedouin village of Ras Abu Galom are other highlights in our nearby surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing