We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveler rating
231
22
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
22
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue oceanfixed shower headmoderate pricesmodern hotelfalafelwouldn't stay anywhere elseamazing hospitalitydahab resortshort walkrooms are bigspecial thanksexcellent hoteli highly recommend this hotelfive star hotelegyptian breakfastperfect staydiving
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 255 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had a wonderful week. Cleanest rooms, very pleasant staff all over and a very personal touch (though never too much). We loved our stay, breakfast and other meals very nice by chef Ahmed and a day by the pool is a bliss. Next door divingcenter Blue Ocean also recommended. Dahab in general is a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra vL V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Sandra vL V,

Thank you for choosing Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort for your Dahab holiday. We are delighted you left with happy memories from both the hotel and Dahab in general.

Thank you for mentioning room cleanliness, staff attitude and the food at the hotel, as well as our on site diving centre.

We hope to seeing you again for another blissful Dahab holiday!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our first stay at the Sheikh Ali resort and it really met our expectations. We were a little reluctant at first when we arrived as the entrance is sort of in a back alley.

The hotel however was great all around. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were very accommodating and helped us out whenever possible. Our breakfast chef was excellent, fast and served lovely food.
The food overall was of good quality, better then in then city of Dahab.

Location was great, just a few meters away from the city centre, bars and restaurants.

The only small point of critisism was the overall understanding of English and the wifi connection. Apart from this, excellent stay!!

We went on a scuba diving holiday and the hotel provided excellent care. The diving centre itself was ok. Equipment was good, but the instructors lacked some excitement and enthousiasm.

We would certainly recommend this resort and would visit it again,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Ilse K,

Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased you enjoyed your room, the food, the location and the overall experience at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort.

We would very much like to improve the look of our neighborhood on the entrance side of the hotel in the future. For now we can only comfort ourselves and our guests with the fact that all our rooms have beautiful pool- and garden views.

We have the best wifi connection available in Sinai at the hotel, but regret to say that it is not always to European standards.

With regards to your experience with the dive centre, we have discussed it in detail with the management from Blue Ocean Dive. They are very sorry you left with this impression and they have given us thorough information about your diving activities. We understand that the matter was discussed with yourself during your stay too. From what we understand from the dive team, it was a matter of chemistry between your group and your first instructor. Our dive centre has taken note of your feedback and will make sure to provide you with one of the other instructors next time you visit.

We look very much forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have travelled to Dahab many times but this was the first time we had stayed at The Sheikh Ali. In our opinion, it is by far the best hotel we have experienced in Dahab, and this included the 5* rated, Hilton etc.

Before we travelled we did think that our 4 year old son may become bored here, however this was definitely not the case. The hotel was not overrun with children but there were 3-4 families which gave our son company and us a rest! The staff & management were first class, especially Rasha, whom my son is still talking about,

The rooms were the most spacious we have some across and were immaculate. The bed was HUGE and we did not find it hard as some reviewers have stated, it was very comfortable. there was plenty of space for an extra bed for our son, the family next door had 2 children and again there was plenty of room to sleep more than one child.

Breakfast was OK, not lots of choice but certainly adequate. Aside from breakfast, we didn't eat in the hotel as there was so much choice within a short walk. They were in the process of completing the Pizza Oven whilst we were there and did give our pizza a couple of afternoons, it was very nice and I am sure the Pizza Oven will be a nice addition.

There was a good mixture of guests, some families, couples and a small group. There hotel had a small family feel to it and we got to know some of the other guests, who were lovely. To retain a family feel and also give such excellent facilities, plus 1st class service is a great achievement.

The pool was comfortable and with the exception of one occasion, plenty of loungers. On this one day, a couple of guests did try to 'reserve' sun beds with towels (they were English!!) we simply moved their towels. This may have been irritating had it continued, however, we left the next day and it did seem an isolated issue which I am sure the management would have dealt with. I am sure this was just down to the people concerned as they also made a comment about 'noisy child' if you do book your holidays within school holidays, there are very likely to be children around - deal with it or book a couples only holiday. Again I must stress this was an exception, and all other guests were great and all other days there were loungers available, despite the hotel being fully booked.

Please don't let the media put you off Egypt, certainly not Dahab, it is safe, peaceful and the town needs tourism to survive. We would never endanger our son and at no point did we feel anything but 100% safe & secure. I may think twice about visiting Cairo at the minute, but that is like saying you wouldn't visit the Lake District as there was trouble in London..........the 2 vicinities are poles and miles apart.

We have enjoyed many great holidays in Dahab, this was the best, peaceful, relaxing and brilliant accommodation. We tried to book again as soon as we returned but have not found suitable flights yet, once thing is certain, this will not be our last trip to Sheikh Ali and we have recommended to many of our friends.

Thanks Rasha and everyone else for giving us a memorable 10 days.

Room Tip: if you have children a ground floor room is better as you can sit on your terrace and still watch the pool. also easier for the children to go to/fro the room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FairytoesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear FairytoesUk,

Thank you for choosing Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort for yet another Dahab holiday. We are of course very happy to learn that seasoned Dahab visitors like yourself find Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort to be the best place to be! Many thanks for sharing all your positivity in detail here on Tripadvisor.

We are very lucky to have Rasha here at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, she is a key member of the team and a favourite among our young visitors.

We are happy to let you know that our pizza oven is now completed, along with a general upgrade of the breakfast and restaurant menu. While other guests have already mentioned the quality of the food, we can only regret we were not ready at the time of your visit.

As you have pointed out, we have a nice mixture of guests at the hotel – and our guests are really nice people! If there are issues of any kind we are of course happy to help and hope our guests will let us know immediately if anything requires our attention.

Finally, we would like to thank you for reassuring other travelers that Dahab is safe and secure despite the political situation elsewhere in the country. We are following the situation closely and our first priority will always be to keep our guests safe and happy.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

this is a lovely hotel set back from the main street which is very quiet and relaxing. rooms are big and very clean. no shampoo etc provided though. mosquito plug ins and mesh on window really keep rooms moszi free. lovely walk in shower. no room safes. large beds although a bit hard for me. pool is great as are the sunbeds. breakfast probably biggest disappointment. poor selection although nothing wrong with food. can definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room on 1st floor if you want to discourage cats. small balcony on 1st floor rooms and terrace on ground floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear carol s,

Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing the pros and cons of your experience with us and other travellers.

Feedback from our guests is central to our relentless improvements and upgrades here at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort. When catering for a vast variety of guests from all over the world we know we may not meet every guest preference straight away. For this reason, we are always happy to make adjustments and changes whenever we can during your stay, and we take note of all feedback for future use. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay overall and have noted your suggestions for further improvements.

A big thank you to you!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was our fourth time in this fantastic hotel. Every time we coma back it has improved. The kitchen is constantly upgraded and now they have built a Pizza oven in the garden !. Tried the pizza's more than once and they are absolutely fantastic. We found out later that the chef had been working in Italy for 15 years or so. Service is excellent with a special word of thanks for Rasha and Mr Gabaly Ali for their very personal touch. Although location is not on the beach this means that the area is very quiet and its only a 5 minute walk to the main road with all the shops and 10 minutes to banner fish bay with all the restaurants.

Room Tip: South sunny side, north shadow side. groundfloor garden, topfloor balcony. Pick your preference.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheovanEeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheikh Ali D, Manager at Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear TheovanEeden,

Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your opinion here on Tripadvisor. We have almost lost track of your number of visits by now but hope the next one is not far away! It is a please having you here whenever you come.

We are very happy you liked our new Italian pizzas and your feedback has been passed on to our restaurant team. Rasha and Gabaly Ali sends their thanks and regards to you!

Best wishes from Sheikh Ali Dahab Resort,
Rasha, Gabaly, Guro & the Sheikh Ali team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews