We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All day breakfast is a must!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Food Urge

Food Urge
Ranked #25 of 106 Restaurants in Dahab
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“All day breakfast is a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Pancakes! Lemon and sugar! Banana and chocolate! Savory! Whatever you want you won;t be disappointed.
My 14 year son and I ate at Food urge for over a week and loved every meal we had. there is plenty of food and it is all freshly cooked and delicious.
Of course you don't have to have pancakes for breakfast you can have traditional Egyptian food or a cooked English or porridge and honey or toast..........
Milk shakes were great - including a scoop of ice cream after a long dive.
The Egyptian desserts were fab too.
But - the Portuguese chicken was my favourite - so I'd highly recommend it for any age group and service was very friendly and kind.
You are literally on the beach so you can sit in the Bedouin area or at a table or a sun lounger. If it a bit windy then there is a lovely sheltered area - all glass so you don;t miss teh view of hte sea and the mountains.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne G, Owner at Food Urge, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and we are glad you loved our choice and flexibility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious food, wonderful staff and a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Located opposite Eel Garden in Dahab, Food Urge isn't located in the main lighthouse bay area of town along with the other main restaurants and therefore doesn't necessarily get it's fair share of passing trade. In fact had I not been staying at Dive Urge, who operate the restaurant, I may never have ventured to this part of town...and that would have been a terrible shame.

The food is wonderfully fresh, artistically presented and at a value you just wouldn't be able to find back home in the UK. Even if you are just stopping off for a quick pit stop the selection of juices, milkshakes and snacks is just right when relaxing by the Red Sea.

Alongside the food the staff are the also the stars of the show and ensure that whatever your tastebuds fancy you will not walk away dissappointed. The whole team are attentive, polite, friendly and provide a sense of popping round to a friends for lunch as opposed to a more clinical retsuarant.

Relaxing on the beach at Food Urge is my absolute favourite place to chill out and relax...you will literally feel the stress wash away with every wave that crashes just inches from your feet.

So whether or not you are staying and diving with the Dive Urge team I would still encourage anyone to pop in to Food Urge and enjoy true local hospitality at it's best.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Capt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne G, Owner at Food Urge, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
It true, that as we are at the end of the promenade, we are out of the main stream, but definitely worth the visit. Find us near Eel Garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“kGreat service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

A lovely building, right on the seashore where the staff are very hospitable. The food was very good, freshly cooked to order (which is the norm in Dahab) The restaurant is past Eel Garden, so therefore a bit off the beaten track, which means it may not get the patronage it deserves. Food was very highly salted, too much for me, but this is easily remedied. Just ask for less salt when ordering.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank philomena l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne G, Owner at Food Urge, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
thanks for comments...our staff are one of our best assets and are more like family, glad you enjoyed your eating experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Fab fresh & tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Food urge is a wee walk from the lighthouse but the walk is worth it for anyone not staying at Dive Urge itself.
Fab brunch - fruit juices, porridge, banana pancakes etc. Superb fresh fish dishes from grouper, to prawns to calamari.
Presentation of their dishes were really colourful and different each time.
The staff great you with a smile each time and ensure you have everything to your liking.
Venue itself if very chilled with a view over Eel Garden.
Local music in the background.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenners13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne G, Owner at Food Urge, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
What can i say, its def worth a stroll up, plus as it is quieter this end of Dahab, you enjoy the stars and natural setting more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Delicious, fresh food served with a smile.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Food Urge is a great restaurant with a beautiful location over-looking the Eel Garden reef. It has a broad menu offering meals made from scratch, using only fresh food, the chefs create delicious dishes that are attractive and generous. If you fancy something not on the menu, ask, and I am sure they will try their best to oblige. The team working their are lovely and will ensure you relax and enjoy your meal.

You can choose from 3 areas of the restaurant to sit, low cushioned area or tables and chairs on the beach (shaded or not) or in the glass covered indoor area; all beautifully lit at night. If you fancy relaxing some more there are sun beds so you can mooch for a bit and soak up the view and sun rays.

Ahhh enjoy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Whattodof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne G, Owner at Food Urge, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Unlike most restaurants we offer plenty of choice in where and how to sit, making it a very personal eating experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Urge also viewed

 
Dahab, South Sinai
 

Been to Food Urge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing