We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints food and service excellent.”
Review of El Fanar

El Fanar
Ranked #26 of 109 Restaurants in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Egyptian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Business, Local cuisine Excellent, Entertaining clients, Cheap EatsDining options Brunch, lunch, dinner, booking, until last night
Louth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never disappoints food and service excellent.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Its a year since we last visited dahab and El Fanar.As always lovely meal sitting by the sea nice extras thrown in.No hassle you can relax take your time.The staff are great and the fish was delicious.El fanar remains a great place to eat...thanks .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    55
    12
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Lovely place & friendly service”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had several meals here and enjoyed them, though the vegetarian dish I ordered had a very limited selection of vegetables. The calamari was delicious. When it's breezy in the evening, they close their seafront windows, so it's not so cold for the customers. They also do a better job than some of the other restaurants at keeping the pesky cats away! Waiters were friendly, however the last night I went there I was ignored for about 20 minutes after being handed a menu, and when I saw my waiter just chatting with other staff, I left since it was getting late and I had to catch an early flight. But generally the service there was good and the complimentary warm bread and starters were very filling. I will definitely go back there on my next visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egypt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent as ever”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great place excellent views couldnt ask for more friendley hosts have a new menu as well but can still order of the old one service great can never fault it just sit back relax and enjoy every thing there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank maraqia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot with great seafood and service”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were recommended to eat here by a dutch friend who now lives in Dahab and eats here regularly.
It was exactly as she said: fantastic seafood: we shared a calamari and king prawn platter.
Service was great and dips and lovely bread came out to start and the staff insisted we tried an Egyptian dessert on them and some Bedouin tea to finish off. All really good.
Highly recommend: will be back - thanks

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A1ex7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another fantastic week”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Yet again another fantastic week of eating at El Fanar. Whether it be a full meal or just tea and shisha a warm welcome is guarateed from Mohammed and his team. The food as always was great as is the company, a real home from home. Can't wait to return agaon next year

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SusieqCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Fanar also viewed

Dahab, South Sinai
 
Dahab, South Sinai
 

Been to El Fanar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing