We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
No fees just great deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Amro H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Would not stay anywhere else.
Review of Star Of Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 22, 2012
Clean, spacious rooms with easy access and view of the sea. Air conditioning and tv for those that want it. Service was friendly and helpful.

Good location for any Dahab activity. Midway between lighthouse and the lagoon. Snorkelling and diving available on site.

Date of stay: October 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
StayForLong
$81
$56
  • Booking.com
    $57
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $81
1.2 miles from Star Of Dahab
Free parking
Pool
Lounge/Restaurant Area
Booking.com
$5
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.1 miles from Star Of Dahab
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
    $84
  • Expedia.com
    $110
0.2 miles from Star Of Dahab
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $95
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
1.7 miles from Star Of Dahab
Free parking
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $49
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $90
1.2 miles from Star Of Dahab
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    $71
  • Booking.com
    $80
1.5 miles from Star Of Dahab
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $45
  • Booking.com
    $48
4.3 miles from Star Of Dahab
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
    $34
  • Trip.com
4.6 miles from Star Of Dahab
Free parking
Pool
eDreams
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
    $16
  • Vio.com
34.5 miles from Star Of Dahab
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dahab
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
40
19
7
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
40
19
7
1
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 71 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We, my husband and I, spent a week at the Star of Dahab in September 2012. He was diving, I was snorkeling, chilling out, reading, relaxing... The hotel is GOOD! The rooms are clean and comfortable, the AC is working, the breakfast is a little bit slow but good. It's not a luxury resort, there is no swimming pool and room service facilities but it's a "good-enough" hotel. Perfect place to explore Dahab and if you are into scuba diving... it's perfect! But even if your are not, it's a wonderful place.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edefig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for seven nights while diving with Big Blue. The hotel rooms are clean with air-con, fridge, tv, hot-water, balcony etc. The staff are very helpful and friendly and let us check-out late at no extra charge.

Breakfast was at the on-site Sultana restaurant which was very good. I'd recommend the pancakes and cereal.

I would definately recommend the hotel and would happily stay again next time I dive in Dahab.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8James
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We arrived late at night and we were quickly shown to our room. The next morning we found that there was no hot water, that the room had not been cleaned recently and there were only a couple of towels. It was quiet season and I think we were about the only guests staying. We had a word with the staff about the problems and from then on the hot water system was made to work and the room was cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. The air conditioning worked fine, the shower room was basic and the room had a stocked fridge but no safe. We were pleased that we had very little bother from nuisance insects (in July) in Dahab. During our entire weeks stay I only suffered two mosquito bites.

The location is very good, adjacent to the sea front with good local bars and is 15 minutes walk from Dahab centre. It’s a great place for keen divers as the Big Blue Dive School is located next to the hotel which is very convenient as you can leave your room in just a pair of shorts, change into a wet suit, take a dive, and return to the hotel for a shower. Some rooms have good views out over the Red Sea to Saudi Arabia. It is a shame that the hotel does not have a swimming pool otherwise I would have spent more time on site. As it was, we simply used it as a bed for the night and were happy to spend our time eating out, relaxing at the water front bars and enjoying holiday excursions. Our B&B deal included breakfast at Sultana Restaurant in front of the hotel which was never very good. The let down was that the service here was very slow, the food was of poor quality and we felt that that there were far better places to eat along the front.

We would be prepared to stay at the Star of Dahab again because we felt we were provided with simple and convenient value for money accommodation despite the poor breakfasts.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The location of the hotel is nice, a minutes walk to the market, and also in a considerably calm place, which is 5 minutes walk to the Islands reef or a 10 minutes walk to the lagoona, the rooms were clean and the staff were friendly but could have been more professional.

It's not very famous among the hotels of dahab, even the local driver spent some minutes searching for it.

at last you get what you pay for.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmrMekawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Star of Dahab and Big Blue is a perfect choice for a quiet, relaxing holiday. You don't have to worry about anything. The management of both the hotel and the diving center is extremely professional and helpful. They take care of everything. From a transfer from Sharm-el-Sheikh airport to diving trips or mount Sinay expeditions.

The rooms are clean and safe and the staff is very friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect! It's just 5 - 10 minutes walk from the centre of Dahab but you are far enough to have peaceful night.

Star of Dahab and Big Blue is a great choice!!!

Magda

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews