We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel next to a great dive centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Star Of Dahab Hotel
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great hotel next to a great dive centre”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for seven nights while diving with Big Blue. The hotel rooms are clean with air-con, fridge, tv, hot-water, balcony etc. The staff are very helpful and friendly and let us check-out late at no extra charge.

Breakfast was at the on-site Sultana restaurant which was very good. I'd recommend the pancakes and cereal.

I would definately recommend the hotel and would happily stay again next time I dive in Dahab.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
10
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We arrived late at night and we were quickly shown to our room. The next morning we found that there was no hot water, that the room had not been cleaned recently and there were only a couple of towels. It was quiet season and I think we were about the only guests staying. We had a word with the staff about the problems and from then on the hot water system was made to work and the room was cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. The air conditioning worked fine, the shower room was basic and the room had a stocked fridge but no safe. We were pleased that we had very little bother from nuisance insects (in July) in Dahab. During our entire weeks stay I only suffered two mosquito bites.

The location is very good, adjacent to the sea front with good local bars and is 15 minutes walk from Dahab centre. It’s a great place for keen divers as the Big Blue Dive School is located next to the hotel which is very convenient as you can leave your room in just a pair of shorts, change into a wet suit, take a dive, and return to the hotel for a shower. Some rooms have good views out over the Red Sea to Saudi Arabia. It is a shame that the hotel does not have a swimming pool otherwise I would have spent more time on site. As it was, we simply used it as a bed for the night and were happy to spend our time eating out, relaxing at the water front bars and enjoying holiday excursions. Our B&B deal included breakfast at Sultana Restaurant in front of the hotel which was never very good. The let down was that the service here was very slow, the food was of poor quality and we felt that that there were far better places to eat along the front.

We would be prepared to stay at the Star of Dahab again because we felt we were provided with simple and convenient value for money accommodation despite the poor breakfasts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The location of the hotel is nice, a minutes walk to the market, and also in a considerably calm place, which is 5 minutes walk to the Islands reef or a 10 minutes walk to the lagoona, the rooms were clean and the staff were friendly but could have been more professional.

It's not very famous among the hotels of dahab, even the local driver spent some minutes searching for it.

at last you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmrMekawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Star of Dahab and Big Blue is a perfect choice for a quiet, relaxing holiday. You don't have to worry about anything. The management of both the hotel and the diving center is extremely professional and helpful. They take care of everything. From a transfer from Sharm-el-Sheikh airport to diving trips or mount Sinay expeditions.

The rooms are clean and safe and the staff is very friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect! It's just 5 - 10 minutes walk from the centre of Dahab but you are far enough to have peaceful night.

Star of Dahab and Big Blue is a great choice!!!

Magda

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I wish we could've stayed longer. The hotel is clean, safe, well situated and the desk staff are incredibly friendly. The amenities are that of a 3 star hotel, but the service and cleanliness made it feel like so much more. Staying here felt like the home I wish I had! All staff knew your name, the restaurants nearby had good/cheap food and were incredibly relaxed. We were allowed to just hang out in the restaurant for seemingly unlimited amounts of time while waiting to get to the airport. Also adjoined to the hotel is Big Blue Dahab - which is an absolutely amazing dive centre. They are managed by different people, but the operations are very close, so the handoff in customer service were excellent. I will return to the Star of Dahab again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Den186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at Star of Dahab for almost a week recently and had a lovely stay.

The hotel is in a fabulous location just back off the waterfront in Dahab right next to the Big Blue dive shop.

Khaled, the hotel manager was extremely helpful and efficient in the lead up to our stay, booking the room for us, answering our various questions and organising a transfer from Sharm El Sheik to the hotel for us at a reasonable price.

We were welcomed with a complimentary drink at the Sultana Restaurant right on the waterfront in front of the hotel which was a nice touch.

We stayed in a simple, clean room on the first floor with a nice balcony that had a partial view of the ocean. The airconditioning worked well and there was a fridge in the room stocked with drinks and other goodies if you needed anything. Bathroom was again a pretty basic affair, but felt clean and had good hot water when we remembered to turn on the heater.

If we had any small gripes it was that the towels could do with replacing, and the room wasn't cleaned as often as we would have liked - but this might be down to us not asking for this to happen which is the case n some hotels in Egypt and elsewhere. If ypou are a real stickler for such things then be sure to ask for a room clean when you hand your key in to reception each day. When we finally worked out to ask for a clean the room was made up very quickly and cleaned very well and the bed was dessed up in a lovely pattern with towels shaped like swans :-)

Breakfast was included in the room rate and was served by the sea at the Sultana restaurant - we tried continental, American and English breakfasts, all of which were very nice, and we also had banana pancakes one day which were divine. Overall all the meals we had at Sultana were very nice and the guys that run the place were all really nice and friendly, special mention though must go to Andy, a true character, and Hamid, a lovely young guy that really made us feel very welcome!!

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and thought the hotel offered good value for the price - would definately be happy to stay again next time we visit Dahab.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twofortheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I spent a week at the Star of Dahab at the beginning of October (2011), I was travelling alone (female) specifically to do some diving with Big Blue (really recommend these guys too, they're brilliant). The hotel was right next to the dive centre which was great for earlier dives. I really liked my room, it was clean and the door was solid with a good lock. I didn't feel concerned for myself when I was in or for my belongings when I was out diving. I loved that my room had a balcony with room to sit and look out to the Red Sea which was about 10 metres away! The breakfast (served at the attached restaurant) were so good, divers who were staying at more expensive hotels were very jealous of my breakfast choices! The only thing I would have liked would have been wither a mosquito net above the bed or a hook to attach your own net, luckily the mosquitoes were hardly there when I was in Dahab but I have been before and they have been rife. Really friendly staff. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you;re a solo female traveller ask for a room off the ground floor as these rooms have doors lead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travelbug_1986_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.0 mi away
INMO Divers Home
INMO Divers Home
#30 of 52 in Dahab
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#22 of 52 in Dahab
331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bedouin Moon Hotel
The Bedouin Moon Hotel
#10 of 52 in Dahab
420 reviews
0.0 mi away
4S Hotel
4S Hotel
#34 of 52 in Dahab
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daniela Village Dahab
Daniela Village Dahab
#19 of 52 in Dahab
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Of Dahab Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Of Dahab Hotel

Property: Star Of Dahab Hotel
Address: Al Mashrabah Street, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Star Of Dahab Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Of Dahab Hotel is located on the sea front side of Dahab Village and is the perfect place if you are looking for a chilly holiday; visit us and you won't regret it! We offer a wide range of rooms: from rooms with single occupancy to 4 and 6-bed family rooms. They all come with private en-suite and private balcony and side sea view. Breakfast is included in the on-line room rate; we usually have a 24/7 reception and are available daily between 6 am and 1 pm; we would really appreciate to be contacted in case your estimated arrival time changes. We are really looking forward to having you at Star of Dahab. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Star Of Dahab Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing