We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest in November”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rest in November”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is very nice .large and beautiful area, in November there were few people . I had calm rest. I lost my mobile phone in the hotel . Employer Zakaria found and returned it to me . Pleasant for me . Thanks . Do not believe by bad review about hotel. Ramadan special thanks for the pleasant pastime in his bar with shisha (hookah ) Anna from Moscow

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    144
    59
    31
    21
See reviews for
90
180
29
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Let me use this opportunity to express only positive emotions and experience from our two weeks stay at this hotel.

Excellent and friendly staff always willing to help.

Especially were amased by chief cook Mohammend Mostafa. This wonderfull man not only surprised us by tasty food but also helped to my husband with some recipies to fight with illness. In this end of the day Mohhammed bacame our friend. Thank you hope to stay in togch with you!

Elena

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 195Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and myself returned yesterday from a very nice stay at this hotel in Egypt. We really enjoyed it and i would recommend it to others. The resort is very quiet, set in the mountians, our rooms was lovely, very big and the shower was fab - very powerful and hot , it was great! Our view was nice and we looked out at the sea, we found all the staff very nice and helpful. The bar tender Sheriff was especially attentive and and really looked after us, the chef Mohammed was really great and constantly walked around the resturant asking if we were ok with the food and did we want anythign else, the beach bar tender was so helpful and friendly and was always smiling and laughing. The hotel evening entertianment was a bit lacking but that might be beacuse we went in winter - im sure if you went in summer it would be better, so guests all congregated in the lounge bar in the evenings where they had MTV in the background on and we socalised with other guests every night from germany and russia and found it very nice and didnt actually need the entertainment.
Some days the food was a bit "samey" but the desserts were very nice!!!!!
I would go back here if i was going to Dahab.

Room Tip: Sea View is a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and i have just returned from holiday at this hotel. It was the second visit this year, We go to this hotel because It is quiet and all the rooms have a sea view and the coral reef is very good for snorkeling. Lots of marine life. We had a few problems which were sorted out by the Executive Housekeeper Zakaria Samir. He is a very good manager well done Zakaria. I also want to mention the new Ex Chef Mohamed Mostafa he is making a real difference in the food choice in the restaurant. The Lemon Pie was fabulous keep it up Mohamed. So overall the hotel has improved from our first visit and we think the mercure is value for money.

Room Tip: Try rooms on the third level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Note: Before I start this review, be aware that the hotel management encourages positive TripAdvisor postings by offering staff bonuses if you mention them in reviews. There is nothing wrong with this, but a few employees will follow you and ask for this regularly. The result is....it is hard to write a critical review and then praise a staff member to help them earn extra cash. Ignore these requests and tip when you feel service has justified it.

I purchased a package for two via Travel Wasp for this hotel. The rate for a two week all inclusive was £600 pp. We booked express transfers from AtoB travel from Sharm el-Sheikh to Dahab, but there is no value in this extra "EXPRESS" charge, as the vans (12 seaters) run to Dahab with both express and non-express paying customers on them. On the way to the resort you will pass several security check points, and the ride takes about 45 minutes to Bay View.

Arrival and check in are pretty straight forward. The Bay View has room blocks on six levels, with level six sold as the VIP level...which means you are closer to the buffet (on level 5) but 250 steps down the hill to the beach. There is a pool there and it is quiet during the day, but noisy at night from the sound systems on the hotel patios. A good compromise is level 3...with level 1 appearing to be the quietest (lower pool side) and level four closest to the open air patio with music and entertainment.

The rooms are clean and airy, with tile floors and open patios. Request an end unit with a covered porch as these are a bit larger and afford more privacy. All views out to the Red Sea are good. There are no hotels to either side so the views up and down the coast and over to Saudi Arabia are wide and clear. The units have air conditioning units which are loud (ish), but if there is a large party below or around you, it will ensure good white sound for sleeping. Housekeeping is consistent and we had no major problems aside from missing water and soaps, which were easily resolved.

The buffet is predictable after a few days, but adequate variety is available. The lobby posts "themes" for the meals, but most of the food was the same (beef, chicken, fish, steamed veg). Salads were always fresh but deserts were of spotty quality and it was easy to tell which were made in house and which were bought in. The head chef will follow you, give you a business card and ask for a TripAdvisor recommendation. Of all the areas in the hotel, he was the most visible and pro-active manager. Given the importance a lot of people put on the food in all-inclusive, he did a good a job or ensuring (or at least trying) to accept and apply feedback of his food.

The beach was casual and the only place to escape the barrage of piped in music throughout the resort. The lower pool area was nice, but not a place to sit and read a book due to noise. The various activities were good fun and the pool staf kept the area clean and safe.

The beach has an excellent reef, and from there it is possible to walk south for about 30 minutes to the next resort, for the Three Pools which is on a lot of tour agendas. The beach bar is open 10-6 and staff there is excellent. Unlike many areas of the hotel, the beach staff was engaging and helpful. Spend your time down here and you will be well taken care of.

Evening entertainment deserves a mention...we saw all the shows while there. There are three rotating acts..Open Air Disco, A singer and a Fakir show that features (sometimes) a whirling Deirvesh or Belly Dancer. I would suggest you stay for 10 minutes and judge for yourself..Kids will love the Fakir show, but watch Ishtar and you get the idea.

All in all a good choice, but not good enough to return. We will go back to Dahab, as it is more "real" than Sharm, quieter and less commercial. The town is pretty sleepy and we always felt safe. I encourage you to travel here to show support for good people trying to work hard and support families in challenging times for the Egyptian tourist industry.

Room Tip: Second end uits with covered balconies work best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sammythefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I won't create anything I'll just copy the words which I left for the hotel manager in a letter: "Thanks to your work these 11 days were the best holiday in my life despite of the fact that I was here with my 3(!!!) daughters alone. It's as you understand not a very easy work.
But you have done everything to make our life here comfortable, safe, clean and TASTY! Today I've already given my respects to your main cook for his wonderful cakes (with chocolate and nuts - my favorite!!!) and his delicious fish and chicken. Also for his creativity as he could wonder us every evening with something unusual and tastier than before!
Special thanks to the manager of the hotel who can every day organize the work of the hotel in such excellent way!!!
I hope I'll be able to return here with my big family. And of course with great pleasure I will be recommending your hotel to my friends!"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinxFromRussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

what a wonderfull place the mercure dahab bay view is . the staff at this hotel are all five star the service is very good and nothing is too much trouble for them they smile from dawn till dusk. the new head chef mohamed is brill, the food is very good and the cakes and sweets are to die for. there are a lot of steps up and down to the beach so if you cant walk very well maybe this is not for you however having said that we are nearly 60 and the exercise was good for us .we went all inclusive and the bar staff were great especially sherif in the lobby bar he works his head off he will look after you. take snorkling gear with you its a must the fish on the reef at the hotel beach are fantastic and the sea is warmer than the pool. the rooms are clean and tidy fresh towels every day and your beds made for you too. all in all this was a really good relaxing holiday and the sun shines every day, watch out for the mosquitoes if like me midge get you, then get some protection from them you have been warned

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
7.1 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
2.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
5.1 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#7 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.3 mi away
Happy Life Village
Happy Life Village
#15 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
3.7 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort

Property: Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
Address: | Qunai Valley, Dahab 46617, Egypt (Formerly Sol Dahab Red Sea Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dahab
#10 Family Hotel in Dahab
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located next to 18,000 m2 of private sandy beach overlooking the Gulf of Aqaba Three swimming pools (two for adults and one for children), one of them heated in winter The resort captivates the senses with unrivalled facilities and a relaxing atmosphere. Great diving spot and world-famous windsurfing destination 217 fully furnished rooms, family rooms and suites overlooking the sea Great choice of restaurants and bars to delight your taste buds and indulge your senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Dahab Bay View Hotel Red Sea And Sinai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing