We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rather A Disappointment.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Sun Hotel Dahab

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Sun Hotel Dahab
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rather A Disappointment.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

If you want a basic holiday that's handy for diving and water sports then this is the place for you. The location is good, the beds are comfortable, the water is hot and the food is just about OK. The air on worked and there's free but patchy wifi.

I was booked for three weeks but after a few days was so cheesed off I moved to a better hotel just up the road.. I really didn't want to celebrate Christmas in the very dire Sea Sun Hotel,

So what went wrong? When I arrived I wasn't immediately shown to my room. They wanted to sell me an upgrade, what would I want, a single traveller, with a huge great suite with a jacuzzi for an extra 200$? On reflection I guess they might have needed the cash.

The all inclusive tariff didn't include bottled water so being TT I negotiated. Then the mains water dried up twice in two days, I found cockroaches running around the breadboard in the restaurant, the bread was stale, the butter was being kept back, then when it returned it was rancid, jam ran out, food was tepid. Coffee was instant and the cheapest brand, tasting like roasted barley. Fruit was scarce. Crockery was chipped & cracked.

All areas were delapidated, grubby & shabby, I wanted to give my room a good clean from top to bottom. Dead flies on the windowsills in the main lounge area, marble tables and floors with evidence of ring marks or spilled drinks left for days. The restaurant had food under the tables. Outside some sun chairs lacked arms, no one bothered about the litter.

Even though there were pictures suggesting entertainment nothing offered at all, apart from an outdoor table tennis table. The old analogue TV in room only showed local channels.

The staff's attitude was lackadaisical, very few guests around so why should they bother? Lots of bods wandering around but not sure if they were they staff, if so what were they doing? The atmosphere and ambiance of a place where everyone was having a good time was non existent.

The other guests were Russian so you could end up being 'Billy No Mates'.

This dilapidated place reminded me so much of Eastern European hotels just after the fall of communism. Grim, Grubby & Dire.

The only thing I shall miss are the friendly beach dogs that belong to the local Bedouin.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    82
    32
    35
    76
See reviews for
42
126
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Although the hotel does have some issues at the moment there is a new management team there who are fantastic and we could see the improvement in the 12 days we where there .
The cleanliness is not great but improving ,
But if you like a nice quite relaxing holiday this is the place
Your less than a minute from the red sea so if you enjoy snorkelling or scuba diving its ideal
The food is great very tasty never had a problem with eating
The staff are fantastic can't do enough for you
At the moment we would say this a 3 star hotel with 5 star service
We had a wonderful time and will be retuning next year

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

lovely setting great views staff were freindly we were offerd a chpice of rooms when we arrived we thought we had found the best hotel then we found the food what was there was well cooked and presented but there was not very much of it and no choice althoigh the chef would cokk you someting else if asked, the bar was poorly stocked no wine and ran out of vodka allthough there were only about a dozen guests most pf which were out all day or just sun bathing,the cleaner came to the rooms every day and the room was still dirty when he left we had a whirlpool bath but no plug we were told to use the sink plug which didnt fit but was not realy a problem as we didnt have hot water,the taps were rusty and loose the toilet badley stained and the hotel ran out of water twice all though we didnt pay much hot water and more choice of food would have made all the difference we wont be stayong at the sea sun again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim3474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dahab hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed there for one day in October, the rooms were unclean ,the bathroom was rusty including all the taps, the toilet seat was broken and leaks water to the bathroom floor, the food was terrible I ate dinner outside the hotel that night.
no AC remote control and when I requested I got no response till I borrowed one from the room beside me.

beside all that key employees were rude and unfriendly.

really it was the worst stay I've ever experienced.

Room Tip: don't go there unless you wanted to have a really bad time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talaat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

we only had to sit for only 1 night as part of a trip and it was on 18 oct. 2013.the problem was with the following:
1. staff is not enough for running a hotel(only 2 for HK, 2 for buffet serving and cleaning... etc)
resulted in:
1.Rooms,towels, lobby,restaurant tables,pool and everything is unclean.
2.service is too slow
3. no maintenance for the rooms as the bathroom door can't be closed.
4. no soap, or shampoo... we got the towels upon request.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abeermelligy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We're not the most sensitive family (I went to several archeological expeditions). But now this place is awful.
I hope that this is due to that riots stuff. It's about 10-15 guests in 90 rooms right now.
Seems that because of that there's no food, drinks and hot water.
Personel tries to be nice, but you have to struggle to have a glass of red wine for supper.
Pool is cold and dirty.
No safe sea entrance (you still can use the one in the next hotel).
If you have a choice now - buy just plain tickets and book a hotel in Dahab.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denniskl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

After several holidays in Sharm decided to try Dahab. Sea Sun Hotel looked great as advertised.
Arrived evening 17/9/13.
Very quite to be told only 6 guests in total because most foreign tourist's
had been prevented from travelling due to Egypt's problem.
The few staff present were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us especially Oma and Micky.
Afraid it went downhill from there on. We were shown two rooms to choose neither were great,
Wall light hanging by wires, only one bath towel, half a toilet roll.
All meals we had no choice only what was put in front of us and to be fair they were presented
very well. We understand no chef present.
The pathway leading to the beach had dog foul that had been there sometime also the beach
had dog and apparently camel foul. The sun beds were filthy and hadn't been cleaned for some time.
I'am sure this hotel has seen better times but we were so disappointed with everything that we left for another hotel after 4 days.
I would not recommend Sun Sea it certainly doesn't live up to it's presentation.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodney v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.0 mi away
Penguin Village
Penguin Village
#24 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0.0 mi away
Jowhara Hotel
Jowhara Hotel
#15 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dahab Dorms
Dahab Dorms
#40 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
0.0 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Sun Hotel Dahab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sun Hotel Dahab

Property: Sea Sun Hotel Dahab
Address: 53 Blue Hole Road, Dahab 2345, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Sun Hotel Dahab 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Sea Sun Hotel Dahab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing