We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Stay... ...go April/May.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Sun Hotel Dahab
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
London
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet Stay... ...go April/May.”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Sea Sun Hotel is a modern low rise complex in Dahab. It provides a calm, relaxing and warm atmosphere that is inspired by the exceptional hospitality shown by the staff. The rooms are clean spacious and cheerful along with the external surrounds which provides immediate access to the beach as well as hosting two outdoor swimming pools for adults and children for example.

Sea Sun's recently appointed manager is committed to improving the services provided by the hotel and both staff and management have demonstrated this. We say Sea Sun is potentially a 4 star hotel with a little TLC( tender loving care) in areas.

I officially give Sea Sun 3.5 STARS (Tripadvisor does not facilitate for "1/2" stars)

Room Tip: Fantastic sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrPeteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    82
    32
    35
    77
See reviews for
43
126
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Me and my husband were there the week Jenna was and returned home on Sunday 27th and everything she has written is absolutely true! We were both ill from the 2nd day after the so called 'Italian beach party', and i am still ill 3 days after rturning home!!! The food is awful, stone cold, with flies landing on uncovered dishes of food, plates, cutlery and glasses. We lived on bread, hard boiled eggs (as they still had shells on, oh and they even ran out of those one day and when asked why, the chef just shrugged his shoulders and said, 'no eggs' and walked off, charming customer service!) and the occasional pasta, for the whole week we did not eat an evening meal or touch any meat, and like Jenna, lived on the occasional bag of crisps from the run down shop next door. We were so ill we didnt leave the hotel for fear of not getting to a tiolet! Now lets start on the toilet, constant smell of sewage in the bathroom, that went for a short while after the room boy cleaned. Was in need of some bleach, so soiled at bottom.The room was always kept clean with clean towels every day though. Toilets in reception were disgusting, i went in once, and was nearly sick with the smell, wet dirty floors, with flies, i came straight back out!! Drinks were a disgrace, god knows what the spirits were and the wine, well turps spring to mind. The only soft drinks they had were warm coke and sprite. The good thing was the beer was cold but they ran out of it on one day. This hotel has the potential to be a lovely one, looks idealic from the outside, has a lovely pool which was kept clean daily, is quiet and relaxing, just what we wanted for a last minute break away. The new management that came in last Wed are doing everything they can to make changes, but unfortunately was too late for us!! I hope they continue to improve as like i said, this has the potential to be a lovely hotel. We have been to many places in Egypt and i can honestly say this last week has put me off going back for a long while, such a shame.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dahab hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Me and my partner were there when Colona was there......the food is an absolute joke!! Nothing was ever hot even when we arrived as soon as it opened. The staffs english is poor and not willing to help at all. At one point they ran out of Beer, lucky we went into town the night before and bought some. I lived on crisps for the last 2 days! It does not have an a la carte as it says just a really poor buffet...if you could call it that!
Snorkelling here is good and the rooms were always cleaned although the toilet needed bleach and no bath plug....one of he other guests found out why, it leaked through the drain!!
If you would like to relax and not eat or drink flat Coke then this is for you...if not avoid at all costs!!
We did meet some great people the only good thing to come out of this "hotel"

Room Tip: I wouldnt choose any room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirton boston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Hi All,
Well this is a up date on this hotel as of 22nd may 2012,
There is now new management that has been brought in to sort this place out,
The room we have is clean and has been cleaned each day and bedding changed daily,
The pool is cleaned and the beach area is cleaned daily
Food is this hotels biggest down fall, and don't expect anything to be hot' as you won't get it,
And to top things of this morning we couldn't get any eggs, excuse was they had an accident coming from Cairo, ha ha, and last night they had an ltalian night meal, what a joke, all the food we tried not hot and therefore we refused it,
We have in total 10 British guest staying as of today one couple left today as they were upset that much that they were ready to go back to UK
And the rest of the guest have the same complaint food
This is a place to come if you want to start a diet ha ha,
We have another 4 days, but if it changes we will up date again
Many thanks
Colona

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank colonaKirtonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My wife and I arrived at this hotel on 29th April 2012. Our room number 405.
We have stayed in Egypt on previous occasions and never encountered the problems and filth that we met at this hotel.
We are also keen travels many times throughout the year and have never felt the need to write a report before.
1. We had no hot water for six days
2. Toilets - at the Reception area were smelly and dirty, the floor was covered in stinking water
3. Restaurant - The food was tasteless, very little variety either chicken or fish (cooked alongside each other). After a change of chef on the 4th day things did improve slightly but you could of soled your shoes with the beef. There was no cereals for several days and we had to search to find a cereal bowl without a crack. The doors to the restaurant were very grubby with finger marks etc and not cleaned until we had made a complaint - then only on the one occasion in the 11 days we was there (should be at least 3 times a day before meals). The area around the hot plate was dirty and greasy, there were flies around the sweets and no towel to protect bread when cutting. The Head waiter appeared to have very little interest in the cleanliness of the restaurant and its surroundings, he was more concerned about chatting up young ladies (hence christened Casanova). The glasses at breakfast for fruit juice were upright and not inverted - as a result people would get a drink of orange juice and then place the glass back on the tray and if you were not looking you could have been drinking from a dirty glass. The whole restaurant was dirty including crumbs and food on the floor from previous days. is in need of a thorough deep clean daily.
4. Our Bedroom - No hot water for six days, room not cleaned properly - dust and broken glass under the bed, light fittings with dust, dead flies and moths. Towels were grey instead of white and the taps and shower would benefit from a good cleaning everyday. The curtains were hanging off their hooks. Net curtain did not look as if it had been washed in the four years the hotel had been open. The wardrobe doors were sliding and fell off. The extractor fan when on made the bathroom stink as no u bends.
5. Terrace - This area again was dirty and sticky from drinks spillage from previous visitors etc
6. Beach - Again, this area was dirty and should be cleared of rubbish daily at regular intervals.
7. Bar - Beer was served in wine glasses and as a result a bottle of beer would not fit in - the remaining beer was left out to collect flies etc and go warm, not put back in the fridge. This was served to the next customer. For 5 days there was no tonic water to put in with gin.
8. Staff - Several senior members of staff were sat at a table (in the shade) hogging that area, drinking their coffees and smoking for most of the day. When I finally confronted these members of staff to ask who was in charge, no-one at first answered. I believe the person who did respond was the General Manager and asked me what my problem was. When I told him that we had not had any hot water for six days, the Financial Manager smirked at me ( totally unacceptable to laugh at someone's downfall).
The owner of the hotel known as Mr Omar knows the hotel is badly run and asked myself and my wife to inspect a room that had been prepared for new arrivals and point out what was wrong. We pointed out the curtains were hanging off the hooks, wardrobe doors fell off, accumulated dust under beds, wall light half full of dead flies and moths, fittings full of dust, toilet bowl black in bottom and never seen bleach. Basically all the same issues as in our room. Totally not acceptable.
Mr Omar did offer me and my wife a job for 2 months to get the hotel upto scratch. We are in over 60's, retired and have no desire.
But as we know these reports are read by Mr Omar, we can strongly advise to improve standards at this hotel, we recommend that they train all staff properly, including the cleaners; have plenty of cleaning aids and equipment. That maintenance people check rooms regularly for faults and problems and put these right with immediate effect. Our at least when reported act upon instantly.
We do feel that managed properly, this hotel could definitely reach its 4-star status, but not under present management staff. A complete shake-up is needed with several senior members dispensed with.
Would never return in its current state!! from Jenn and John From Manchester

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JeNNJoHN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I came to Sea Sun Dahab with a group of friends. We were mostly out diving but even the rare moments spent in the hotel were terrible. Constant lack of hot water and problems with communication made our stay, least to say, difficult. The hotel is dirty and no wonder, since the staff is having fun instead of working. As to the food, it's even difficult to say, because it was usually all gone by the time we came. Variety was also not their strong point. Generally I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone, travelling in any purpose.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KatarzynaPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

we went the sun sea bombdi on 22 april 2012 wat a filthy place it was they ad no tonic the nite we got ther no water in the room the we ad 2 go an buy it all from the shop we went the room the wardrobe doors wer stuck u could in open them the aircondition did in work the toilet brush iv never seen any thin lik it then we went the resturant it was lik a canteen the cooker lokked as if it ad never bin cleaned the food was disgusting liver chicken fish rice thats wat u got every other nite an salad plus beef the beef i think they went out an got a camel it was just all fat an rock hard u shud of seen the way they cut it the flies wer every wer all over the food none of it was covered no table cloths on the table only dirty mates wat needed a good wash the towels out side wer minty they said ther was 3 bars only one was open the beech bar looked as if a bomb ad it hit it wi nothin in it i could go on wer people av put 4 star they all need glasses the staff wer lovly you could in fault them iv bin 2 egypt 7 times that was the worst place iv ever bin all russians go ther an thats who they cater 4 not the english it was lik ghost town the 3rd day we wer ther people wer goin 2 diffrent hotels coz they ad 10 nites we ad a week that was enough dont take any kids ther coz ther is just nothin ther 4 them bad enough adults pauline from liverpool

Room Tip: just dont go ther
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pauline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.0 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0.0 mi away
Happy Life Village
Happy Life Village
#16 of 52 in Dahab
549 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
0.0 mi away
Dyarna Hotel
Dyarna Hotel
#43 of 52 in Dahab
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
4S Hotel
4S Hotel
#34 of 52 in Dahab
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Sun Hotel Dahab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Sun Hotel Dahab

Property: Sea Sun Hotel Dahab
Address: 53 Blue Hole Road, Dahab 2345, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Sun Hotel Dahab 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Sun Hotel Dahab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing