We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”
Review of Shams Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shams Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Lindfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great place!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Shams has a lovely relaxed atmosphere, and it benefits from being positioned in a quiet spot by the sea front, within a two minute walk from the central restaurants and shops. This makes it perfect, as you can enjoy the night life of Dahab and have a peaceful place to retreat when you wish to get some sleep yourself! The accommodation is clean and comfortable and you are well looked after during your stay. Shams restaurant provides lovely food and a great selection of breakfasts and juices that you will remember for ever! It's a really chilled place to relax by the lapping red sea and enjoy a post diving drink.
The dive shop is ran in an efficient but relaxed way, so you can get the most out of the diving opportunities available, without ever feeling any pressure to hurry! The equipment is kept in perfect condition - it's all new anyway, and the dive guides and instructors are patient, organised, extremely knowledgeable and very safety conscious (and nice people as well!)
I really enjoyed my stay (March 2013) and would recommend Shams for those looking to dive, rest and relax!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2016
Dear Jenny

Thanks for your time to review us
I am happy you enjoyed your holiday in Shams Hotel & in Dahab
Looking forward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    92
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
45
96
47
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2013

hotel shams is our favorite for five years now. Because the shamspeople are not only very friendly but also very funny and kind. The hotel is small so it makes you feel at home very easy. It's clean, light and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2016
Thanks for your time to review us
I am happy you enjoyed your holiday in Shams Hotel & in Dahab
Looking forward to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a nice room with a view of the ocean which was great. The staff were excellent too and really looked after me. The location is very close to the main promenade so I didn't have to walk far to get to the local bars but at the same time I wasn't right next to the main areas so it was pretty quiet which was nice.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank AutSeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2016
Thanks for the nice words & thanks for taking time to review us
I am happy you have enjoyed your stay & looking forward to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurmala, Latvia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Shams for 7 nights with some friends in February. We loved Dahab, and will definitely stay at Shams again when we come back. Our room was basic in comfort, it was always very clean, and they made the coolest designs out of our towels everyday. The shower water was clean and fresh (sometimes you get salt water showers at other places). We even had a decent sized refrigerator in our room!

The best though was breakfast every morning, by the sea, lounging on the pillows. The menu gives you many choices from a full egyptian breakfast, several egg choices, as well as choices for more continental foods like fruit and yogurt. With that and some bedouin tea, it's an amazing value and great start to the day.

Staff was very kind and attentive! On our last night my husband and I both fell ill, and when the one of the staff members found out, he made me peppermint tea to help us along.

Thanks for everything! We're already looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerriddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2016
I am glad you liked your stay at Shams Hotel
You are always welcome to come any time
All the best & see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights when we initially visited egypt in December 2012. The best thing about this hotel is its great location looking right onto the boardwalk and beach. it is in a great location where the restaurants are just at your doorstep and the souk is only a short walk. it is in vey quiet yet central part of Dahab.
The breakfasts are very good- as is the restaurant food.
The room was always very clean and the cleaner would always create these wonderful shapes out of our clean towels. Each day we anticipated what shape he would create.

The other great thing is the owner Shams, who is very very helpful and friendly. He arranged some great tours for us to Mount Sinai and the Coloured Canyon. They were much better value than other places. Shams also has a dive centre for those wanting to dive.

On the downside everything seemed old and in need of a refurbishment.(A lot of Egypt seems to be like this now especially over the last few years since political unrest in this beautiful country). Our bed had sheets that did not fit- I think we had a double bed but the sheets were probably king single sheets. There was no soap in our bathroom. The menus in the restaurant were falling to bits and the outdoor furniture needed to be revarnished or painted and pillows needed to be updated, Proper fitting sheets, soap in the bathrrom and new menus are things that can be easily changed without too much cost.
We stayed in Dahab again in January 2013 with a small group tour and realised that for only a few dollars more we could have got a much better room in a similar location. I think with a bit of thought to detail and money spent on it Shams Hotel could be very good.
Couple in their 50's from Australia

Room Tip: Great location, fantastic owner but needs some money spent on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2016
Dear Thanks for a great review
Shams Hotel team is greatfull for the positive experience you had here
Welcome at any time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Since I dive with Shams Dive Center it was obvious to stay at Shams Hotel also. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious and clean with nice beds. Also my room had a nice balcony where I could sit in the evening watching the sun go down into the Red Sea. Also the restaurant is good and is located on the beach just next to the water. Not only did I eat my breakfast and other meals there but also spend time smoking a good shisha and drinking Bedouin tea and just chilling after diving. I can also highly recommend this place and the diving Center as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LunaFez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2016
Thanks for a great review
Shams Hotel team is greatfull for the positive experience you had here
Welcome at any time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a perfect stay in Shams. Eeveryday breakfasts at 8 on pillows in a restaurant on the shore watching the sun comes up. Atmosphere of peace and relax.10 minutes by car to Lagoon and the same to Light House.

Room Tip: Wooden bungalows are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marbarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamsiii, Owner at Shams Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2016
Thanks for a great review
Shams Hotel team is greatfull for the positive experience you had here
Welcome at any time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
2.1 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
696 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
1.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#7 of 52 in Dahab
271 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#6 of 52 in Dahab
374 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ecotel Dahab Bay View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shams Hotel

Property: Shams Hotel
Address: Al Mashraba Street, Dahab, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shams Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shams Hotel & Dive Centre – the premier budget accommodation catering for rec, tec and CCR divers in Dahab. Shams Hotel recently opened in 2006 and comprises two stylish accommodation facilities. Designed in an oriental style, the hotel is located right in the heart of touristic Mashraba in Dahab, about 15 metres away from the shores of the gorgeous Red Sea. We welcome you in our airy and scenic reception area, where you can check out our latest dive trips, safaris, entertainment options and selection of books to escape right there... right now! Between the hotel and the beach, comfortable Bedouin-style seating and chilling areas enable you to enjoy breakfast whilst contemplating the harmony of the rolling waves on the ocean... feet in the water, or just about. The hotel is kept small, with a friendly feel and atmosphere, and offers a total of 20 single, double or triple rooms. The accommodation options are divided between 14 standard hotel rooms located at ground or first level, and 6 wooden bungalows. Most rooms present a sea or a mountain view, and are just perfect for your ideal romantic escape to the delightful sea resorts of Egypt. Families are groups are well-catered after too... trust us to make your vacation eventful or restful, just as you wish it to be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shams Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing