We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel to stay in Dahab”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Sea Relax Resort
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
2 reviews
“Best hotel to stay in Dahab”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

When I saw what Red Sea Relax had to offer I immediately changed hotels and spent the next 3 weeks in this excellent hotel. Although room prices were similar, this English owned and run establishment was far superior - particularly with regard to cleanliness, quietness and service - also the fact that the bar prices are the cheapest in Dahab didn't do any harm at all!!!
It also has it's own dive school!!
Situated in the Lighthouse area of Dahab, the location is nothing short of superb. You are not "captured" 4 kilometres away where the far more expensive "all-inclusive" hotels keep their prisoners. You are in the "happening" part of town, and just a promenade width from the sea, (The world famous Lighthouse Coral Reef is all of 100 yards away - isn't that a hardship!!!).
The outdoor bar, on an upper level overlooking the promenade and sea, is the perfect place for a sundowner ( which can turn in to a sun-upper if you're not carefull!!). At night you can see the glimmering lights of Saudi Arabia in the distance. The bar food is very good, and people came in from many outlying hotels to see the big Rugby (and Football) matches. These are featured on a few "big" nights, but not allowed to take over the general relaxed ambiance of the bar.
There are a myriad of reasonably priced restaurants in the immediate area. We particularly enjoyed Blue House Thai Restaurant, Nirvana Indian Restaurant and Il Pescatore. Also, Ralph's German Bakery was great for coffees and subs during the day.
The late clubs are about 10 minutes walk away around the bay - and the fact that breakfasts are served until 11am becomes very relevant if you venture in that direction!!!
Chris, the owner and genial host, supported by Osama, Said and Tariq, and their teams ensure that you have a great stay and I am planning my return already!!
I havn't even mentioned the beautiful pool, and how much fun the weekly quiz night is, how effective (and silent) the air-conditioning was etc etc...

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are right at the pool. Upper floor rooms have private balcony's overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CosserIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    84
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
99
81
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have 2 nights at this friendly hotel located perfectly in Dahab along the main strip /promenade of restaurants and in front of the Red Sea. We have 2 interconnecting rooms and the rooms are spacious enough and we are the closest to the reception ( 101 and 102). Besides the location, the biggest draw is the super friendly owner, very helpful.

Upon entering our rooms after checkin, first thing we notice is a big cockroach in the shower and another one in the room. We kill them both and discard them, hoping that's the last of them. However that night after we came back from supper, we killed about 20-30 more cockroaches. We went to the staff at the desk and ask for some cockroach killer. Within minutes, the staff member was at our room with some spray and apologizing profusely. At that time, he witnessed a cockroach. About 5 mins later the owner/manager came to our room and he also saw a cockroach, apologized profusely, gave us our 1st night in the hotel for free, as well as our laundry was done for free. The next night we kill about another 10 more cockroaches, less than the 1st night. Both nights we slept with the lights on needless to say.

The room is relatively clean otherwise, though the chairs are quite dusty. The lighting is very dim/poor in the rooms. However there is LOTS of hot water with good water pressure in the showers which was awesome.

There is a nice clean attractive pool, a restaurant and bar, and even a gym and dive shop. Laundry facilities are also available and quite cheap, I believe 2 LE for larger items and 1 LE for smaller.

Breakfast is included with an ok selection. Small choice of fruit, potatoes, 1 cereal option, plain yogurt, sausage, pancakes (aka crepes) and omelettes. Bread was gone consistently by 9AM. We had the omelettes and pancakes every morning which served us well.

The beach is very tiny, during high tide almost non-existant, however many of the restaurants have lounge chairs right out in front of the water to hang out in for the day. You aren't required to buy anything from the restaurants when you use the lounge chairs, but for buying drinks , lunch, water, etc, we did.

Would I recommend it? Once the cockroach problem is taken care of, definitely! I'm assuming we probably had the worst of the problem due to being the closest to the restaurant /kitchen/reception area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris88Dahab, Owner at Red Sea Relax Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Halilee,

Thank you very much for your review, and we're delighted to hear you loved the Resort, its perfect location, friendly staff, our array of services and the fact that you'd stay with us again. In turn we 'd like to thank you for bringing the undiscovered pest situation in Rooms 101-102 to our attention.

As you mentioned in your review we did our best to make amends on the ground when the problem occurred, offering a a free night, and attempting to address the situation. Nevertheless, I once again will apologise personally for the annoyance you suffered.

We have a regular spraying program to eliminate the threat. I suspect as a seasoned traveller with 90 reviews you must have come across lot of these little pests before - they're worldwide- but you are obviously much more expert at killing them than we are!

Looking back we realise now how the situation originated, and I am confident this was a one off problem. We had two spells of heavy rain in February- about the first heavy rain in 5 years- and I'm sure it must have hatched large numbers of dormant ones. If you remember they were all baby sized.

Anyway, I'm now happy to say the situation has been eradicated ,and as future precaution- (although we don't expect rain for another 5 years) we will be doubling our pest control measures.

Thank you once again for your review, and indeed once again for alerting us to the situation.

I very much hope you enjoyed (or are enjoying) your further travels and very best regards from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqaba, Jordan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed with my girlfriend at the red sea relax during our first visit to Dahab. Sleeping in one of the dormitory. Good room for the price, and you get to meet other people.
Breakfast is really good in the morning, freshly made omelette and pancake. Cheap and good food at the restaurant with probably the best burger in Dahab.
The Churchill's Bar on the roof top is perfect to relax at the end of the day, cheap drink, good atmosphere. Perfect to watch sport on the big screen or for the PubQuizz on the wednesday.
Dive centre accesible directly outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Went the other day to have drinks with freinds and a Gin and Tonic was really affordable. The view on the roof top bar is facing the sea and the promenade. Great place for drinks before grabbing a bite to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pai, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Located right on the beach, Red Sea Relax Resort was the perfect place to relax in Dahab. The beautiful swimming pool had plenty of lounge chairs for relaxing and was cleaned daily. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Perhaps the best thing was the included breakfast. it featured made to order omelets or pancakes and a big buffet of Western and Arab items. The restaurant and bar served food as well.

The lobby area had plenty of couches and chairs as well as wifi which reached the rooms also. There was free purified water and coffee or tea 24/7.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulacorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel offers a good all round package including both dorms and rooms, pool area, nice indoor bar, rooftop bar with a great view of the bay and a breakfast with free coffee, tea and water. The SCUBA school located at the front of the hotel and i think a discount on the rooms are offered when booking dive packages.

I booked into the dorms which were good value at £4 a night but decided to have a look around Dahab and found alternative accommodation for less and my own room. The male dorms have storage for cloths and a safe box (take your own lock). The bunks are free standing so move a bit when you turn over, the top bunks only have a guard on one side so not the safest. Both male and female dorms are quite small and sleeps four. The kitchen area/communal area is large enough but the walls are paper thin and sound carries into the dorm rooms, not the best when your trying to get some sleep. The dorms are Located on the second floor of an annex across the road from the main hotel and only one combined toilet/shower is available between 8 guests. Other than that its good value with breakfast and the use of a pool included in the price.

The staff are very helpful, the beer in the bar is around the best value in Dahab, the bar snacks are good and the roof top area has great views of the bay, very relaxing at night. Free internet is available at the reception, didn't check out the WiFi so cant comment.

Located in the lighthouse area of Dahad with loads of top quality eating places right on the doorstep.

The hotel arranged a taxi from the airport for 220LE, later we discovered 150LE is the going rate.

Totally fell in love with Dahab its a real gem, i will be back!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Dorms are now located behind the hotel across the road in a small annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were visiting our son (a dive instructor in Dahab), for 10 days in March 2013, our son recommended the Red Sea Relax and it couldn't have worked out better ..... central to the main hub of Dahab, the promenade shops and restaurants etc, terrific staff (including the owner) who did all they could to make our stay comfortable, not a 5 or 4 star hotel, but clean, comfortable and a joy to stay at, we really felt part of the family, thanks Said and Omar at Reception, Tarek the Bar Manager and Mr Chris (the owner)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay047_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.5 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acacia Dahab Hotel
Acacia Dahab Hotel
#6 of 52 in Dahab
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Beach Club
Blue Beach Club
#19 of 52 in Dahab
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
705 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
2.0 mi away
Swiss Inn Resort
Swiss Inn Resort
#8 of 52 in Dahab
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Sea Relax Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sea Relax Resort

Property: Red Sea Relax Resort
Address: Lighthouse Rd | Musbat, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Dahab
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dahab
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Sea Relax Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach, Red Sea Relax Resort lies within meters of teeming reefs and colourful beach cafes while still close to the modern amenities of central Dahab. A small family business, we offer superior on site facilities, including a free Gym, free Internet, a PADI Dive Centre, restaurant/bar and a 100m2 pool! Most importantly we pride ourselves on our excellent rates and a customer service solidly built on a friendly and personal approach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Sea Relax Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Sea Relax Hotel Dahab
Red Sea Relax Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing