We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a nice place with nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alaska Camp & Hotel
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
“a nice place with nice staff”
Reviewed May 5, 2010

A clean, nice and quiet place, a perfect place to stay. The staff members are nice. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boreasmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    56
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
83
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Miklos Volner
PADI Master Diver Trainer
owner of Octopussy Diving Center, Croatia

I'm a Hungarian dive instructor who brings diving groups twice a year to Dahab. My customers like simple, clean accommodation and good service for a relatively low price. In the last 8 years I've tried a few camps in Dahab, but for the last 3 years I've stayed with Alaska as my guests are always leaving satisfied in the end of their trip and a lot of them are choosing to return next year.
I hardly understand those negative comments, where some guests are missing hotel services at a camp. Comparing to its definition the place looks more like a hotel to me. Rooms are clean and nice, the crew is helpful and they help my guests in any kind of request even if sometimes those are not the requests that would belong to their duties.

Hang on Ramy, Sabry and Jackie! The hungarians will return again next november too! :)

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikidiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Would not recommend due to:

1) The rooms were not cleaned unless asked for; when you cannot flush paper etc in the toilet in Dahab, this means having to ask for your stained toilet tissue etc. to be removed. The bins provided were just open paper baskets. Our requests to have this done seemed to be met with disapproval at times. The actual "clean" appeared to consist of empyting the bin only. The toilet was never once bleached. There were skidmarks when we arrived.

2) No towels, the ones that were provided were utterly disgusting

3) The manageress tried to seriously rip us off on trips. She wanted $140 for a bus trip to Cairo. These cost $50 in Sharm. It is the Sharm bus you join. So she tried to charge us $70 each for a taxi to Sharm. The going rate for a private taxi is 20Euros. We ended up paying half what she quoted, by going through the agent she uses directly. This was really an insult to anyones intellegence. It only takes one comparison to realise what a fast buck she was trying to make.

4) The breakfast is average. Same price on the promenade gets better quality.

5) The rooms face a building site on one side, and and waste ground on the other. There are no sea view rooms in reality.

In summary there are multiple equally competative resorts in Dahab. I chose this place based on the feedback from Tripadvisor, but we were disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlaskaHotel, Manager at Alaska Camp & Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2010
We always appreciate guests taking the time to post reviews on Trip Advisor. We are just sorry that this guest was disappointed with their stay.

The drainage system in Egypt cannot cope with paper being flushed. This is why customers are asked to throw paper in the bins provided. Each toilet is equipped with a hygiene spray which should reduce the use of paper. There are also environmental problems with plastic bags and taking both issues into account, swing bins have been ordered to replace the open basket style.

As a budget hotel, there are towels available on request. However, listening to the feedback we have received, new towels will be provided in every room from May 2010.

All our excursions are arranged through a registered safari company here in Dahab. We offer 2 kinds of day trips to Cairo. The first is where you join the coach trips which depart from Sharm El Sheikh.

The trip offered for $140, as mentioned, is a more personal trip. Guests travel directly to Cairo by mini-bus from Dahab. Both of these options are discussed with guests and we can only apologise for any confusion that may have occurred on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We moved here from a different and more expensive hotel as this was so much better. A really friendly atmosphere and Jacquie is really helpful. The breakfast buffet is good value, the chill-out lounge lovely and everyone was very friendly. Free wi-fi too. Some rooms are definitely better than others so you may want to see a couple, but we really enjoyed our stay here and would happily return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pastygringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2010

we realised that we came to a right place at once. at the end of first day we felt in love with alaska.
was feeling totaly relaxed with atmosphere. guys (i can't even say staff, cause they are more friends to visit) were realy great: helpful, funny and confident.
rooms are simple - don't expect much, but it's very clean, practical and safe.
some people are living in the hotel for a whole winter.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilippZa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

This hotel / camp is in the heart of Dahab, & yes the beach is 10m away - however lined with restuarants so inaccessible. The " mountain view " room also had a view of a busy main road & building site. Some positive features, but certainly bad value in comparison to other similar, better loctaed , establishmnets in Dahab . We stayed one night & then moved elsewhere , with direct beach access . Dahab is great , 10 days wasn't long enough !

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Miezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Thanks to Jackie and all her friendly staff at Alaska, my stay in Dahab was a prefect treat to beat the January blues. My friends and I chose the camp because it was the first good all rounder we saw on websites and in Lonely Planet. We initially booked just a couple of days, convinced we would find an apartment to share to for better value. We were wrong! After exhaustive searches and talking with others in Dahab, we kept on extending our stay until we finally realised we would not find better and remained in the relaxed ambience of Alaska for the rest of out three week stay. Breakfast was always perfect and the value was unbeatable. With all the staff, from management, to cleaners and night security, nothing was too much trouble and we made some genuine friends. Relaxing, secure and unbeatable value!

Thanks guys, missing you already and cannot wait to bring more friends with us next year. (Or maybe later this year!)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.5 mi away
Penguin Village
Penguin Village
#16 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jowhara Hotel
Jowhara Hotel
#13 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#30 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seven Heaven Hotel
Seven Heaven Hotel
#20 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.6 mi away
INMO Divers Home
INMO Divers Home
#28 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Camp & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Camp & Hotel

Property: Alaska Camp & Hotel
Address: Masbat South Sinai, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dahab
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska Camp & Hotel is right in the heart of Dahab. Only 10 metres from the main beach area and the sea it makes the perfect base to experience and explore Dahab - great value, fantastic atmosphere and the opportunity to meet other travellers from all over the world. With 30 rooms over 2 floors, Alaska Camp & Hotel still retains the relaxed atmosphere of the old beach camps, with Bedouin seating areas in which to chill out and enjoy your stay. Our staff are on hand to help you get the most out of your time in Dahab and experience everything that this unique town has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Alaska Camp & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Camp And Hotel
Alaska Camp Hotel Dahab
Alaska Camp Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing