We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great value - a good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska Camp & Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dahab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alaska Camp & Hotel
Save
You added Alaska Camp & Hotel to your Saves list
Masbat South Sinai, Dahab, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Berwick St John
Level Contributor
322 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Great value - a good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

After an awful holiday, being pestered to death in Luxor I'd vowed never to visit Egypt again but I'm pleased to say I was persuaded to give the Red Sea coast a try. I found Alaska Camp on Trip Adviser and all my enquiries were promptly answered and I couldn't believe the price (around £11 a night for a double room en-suite). They also recommended Sea Dancer for some diving trips and arranged my taxi which was ready and waiting for me. I was very pleased with my room and the hotel is just yards from the heart of the village but also very peaceful. I only had one breakfast there but it was excellent and there was plenty of help and advice on hand. Most of the bars and restaurants run around the edge of the bay, and many offer free sunbeds for the day with good snorkelling right on the doorstep - it's ridiculously cheap even before the Yall Bar (which is in the same ownership as Alaska Camp) give you 20% off - I came back with over £200 left!
You need to be aware that unless you ask, rooms are not made up or cleaned however I didn't find this a problem. I'm very much hoping to go back next June and Alaska Camp will be the first place I'll want to stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AttitudeAdjuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    54
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
10
83
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

This place is amazing -- I almost wish it could stay a secret - but the guys running it are so wonderful I wish them all the success and popularity they deserve.

Dahab was my final destination after a 3 month traveling/backpacking (flashpacking) trip around the Middle East. I planned to stay for 2-3 nights, but ended up staying 8 nights because the Alaska Camp & Hotel was so lovely!

It is super-clean and brand new. The beds were so comfortable it was hard to leavve the room! The bedrooms are large with very tall ceilings, and a lot of thought was put into the functional yet stylish decor (table, mirror, stool, armoire with hangers, etc). The bathroom is extremely large by Middle East standards - with fresh hot water (many hotels in Dahab only have salt water and/or lukewarm water).

The location is perfect. A huge plus -- it is quiet! Even though it is right smack in the middle of the bustling Dahab waterfront promenade - which can get noisy -- the Alaska Camp is tucked into it's quiet little alley and very peaceful.

The staff are fantastic. They are helpful and accommodating, but not overbearing. If you need anything at all (room to be cleaned, a fresh towel, snorkel equipment, directions, a restaurant recommendation, trip info) - just ask and they'll help you out -- but they don't follow you and bug you to book tours, do this, do that. Rami, Sabry, and the hard-working guys are fantastic - always a smile on their face and always willing to help out.

The breakfast is a great deal - 20 EP for a fresh buffet - with eggs cooked as you like.

This was by far the best hotel I stayed at in my entire trip. And an incredible value -- considering the quality and comfort of the hotel it is a super value.

Be sure to have dinner & drinks at Yalla Bar (also owned by Alaska & a great pub/restaurant)! And their recommendation for diving (Sea Dancer) is top notch and professional.

Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetOffYourTushyAndGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

I staied 5 night in this hotel... I visisted several camps and hotel in Dahab before deciding to go for Alaska. It is great value for money in comparaison to all the other places I visisted in Dahab and the rooms are really really clean and the hotel is calm and the staff very helpful and frendly. I payed 130 EGP per night for a big room, AC, own bathroom, balcony.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julient05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

we had a lovley chilled out break couldnt of asked for anything better. Rooms clean and spacious and very much good value. We would definatly return and next time i would take my son faby place for kids very safe. ALL the staff were lovely nothing to much trouble. Just up the road is the Yalla bar and they do the best veggie curry i have ever tasted also the tequilla sunrises are devine.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lotusblossomScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Great location just off the main walkway along the seafront. Shops, restaurants, bars and dive centres nearby. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and well presented rooms, plus a nice bedouin tent in the courtyard to relax in with wifi. It was a bit annoying that you had to ask to have your room cleaned, for your bin to be emptied, request toilet rolls or clean towels, but the staff willingly oblige it if you ask. Absolutely fantastic value for money but don't bank on a postcard perfect seaview, you get the mountains on one side but I'm not sure you'd get much of a seaview from any of the rooms as there's construction going on around.
Recommend Sea Dancers for diving.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravelgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

Highly recommended, my friend had some hesitation when saw the name of this establishment but we were both pleased with the hotel and the service. It's a no frills (bring your own amenities, etc) place for sleep before heading out, clean sheets, exceptional service and amazing value. Location is perfect and the staff gives full attention on recommendations for food, diving, and happy to assist you in your bookings to Mount Sinai or the Blue Hole, etc.

If I ever get back to Dahab this is the place I would stay. FYI our other alternative was going to be the Meridien but I am so glad I decided on Alaska instead! And FYI don't try the dodgy massage place that's located outside on the strip. The worst money I spent in Cairo.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank daisyhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

We stayed at Alaska Camp for 7 nights during our trip to Dahab. Location is fantastic, just off the main strip and great access to dive shops and shore entry locations.

For the price of a hostel, you get your own room with A/C, en suite bathroom and free wifi.

This is a very basic, budget hotel with no frills, but very helpful staff (Jackie!) and fan in room along with A/C ensure you stay nice and cool.

The bathroom shower has no curtain nor stall, so the bathroom tends to get soaked when you shower, so be strategic. Everything in Dahab is sandy, so we used an extra towel to try and keep our feet clean before getting into bed, etc.

You can't beat the price and location, a good spot for exploring this cool laid-back town!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeftCoastTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.0 mi away
Seven Heaven Hotel
Seven Heaven Hotel
#13 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#2 of 52 in Dahab
5.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Dahab Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Tropitel Dahab Oasis
0.4 mi away
Penguin Village
Penguin Village
#28 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#18 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Camp & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Camp & Hotel

Property: Alaska Camp & Hotel
Address: Masbat South Sinai, Dahab, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dahab
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska Camp & Hotel is right in the heart of Dahab. Only 10 metres from the main beach area and the sea it makes the perfect base to experience and explore Dahab - great value, fantastic atmosphere and the opportunity to meet other travellers from all over the world. With 30 rooms over 2 floors, Alaska Camp & Hotel still retains the relaxed atmosphere of the old beach camps, with Bedouin seating areas in which to chill out and enjoy your stay. Our staff are on hand to help you get the most out of your time in Dahab and experience everything that this unique town has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaska Camp Hotel Dahab
Alaska Camp And Hotel
Alaska Camp Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing