We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect mid-range option in middle of Dahab”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alaska Camp & Hotel
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Dahab
Certificate of Excellence
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect mid-range option in middle of Dahab”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

So...I'm too old for backpacker hostels but Dahab isn't the kind of place you (I) want to stay in a resort, either. Alaska Camp offers a nice medium between these extremes. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and the location can't be beat. The price is a bit more than other "camps" but you get a clean room in a quiet place. The location is perfect; right in the middle of the strip of bars, restaurants and shops. My one complaint would be that the rooms are a bit cave-like; if you are looking for a view of the sea or a balcony, try elsewhere. To make up for that, though, they do have a nice bedouin style lounge area where you can hang out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modesto111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    56
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
83
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is our second stay in Alaska Camp. The first stay was back in 2010, we were very satisfied with our choice, so this time we decided to stay again in Alaska! With no doubt, still great service with great price!

The location is perfect for everything, you have restaurants just a few min walk away (I mean across the bridge to the north, don't like the restaurants close to Alaska much). The room is very clean with hot shower available.

The hotel helped us arrange airport pickup which is a good value too.

Nothing else to say, very satisfied, will come back for sure!

Room Tip: we stay in room 105 in which you can have wifi signals.The shower is good in this room as well. Othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soleil_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very green and cozy family-run hotel, located just 5 minutes from the center of Dahab, on the promenade. The rooms have all the essentials - a bed, a wardrobe, a small boudoir with mirror and shower. Our room was on the 2nd floor, balcony with views of the mountains and you can see the sea. The stuff was nice and helpful, but a bit slow

Room Tip: 2nd floor has balconies with nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerasdorf bei Wien, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Very nice place,little expensive.Breakfast is not included in price.But Alaska is very cozy.It has a nice calm atmosphere,friendly staff and comfortable numbers.It also has a nice sitting place near to reception.Gonna come back there.Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed twice here in two years period and both time I was satisfied. It is a simple but good enough place to stay in Dahab and You really got what You pay for! Not so expensive and fashionable hotel but rooms are clean and OK, furniture is satisfactory - nothing special and extra but it does the job!!!. Staff is very friendly and helpful, always at your disposal. Excellent location for the "promenade" and close to the good reastaurants. You won't be dissappointed!

Room Tip: In spring and autumn time do not search rooms with A/C - no need for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piper056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great location in the heart of Dahab, quiet, clean and basic comfortable room. A stones throw from the shore where all the house reefs can be enjoyed for snorkelling or diving. I travelled on my own and Alaska was safe, well run and the staff very friendly. A nice lounge area with cushions, tv, refreshments and the wifi connection worked well. My room was a double bed with a walk in shower room, spacious and perfect for me to crash after a days diving. Jackie is on hand if you ever need anything and made contact with me straight away after receiving my booking through Lonely Planet to see if I needed any information before I got there and to introduce herself...great service! I would absolutely recommend Alaska to anyone looking to be in the heart of Dahab in a quiet and safe location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent value for money camp/hotel. My room was basic for a hotel but excellent for a camp, in keeping with its surroundings literally tucked away in the heart of Dahab. If you are wanting somewhere to just relax or for diving then I would recommend Alaska, they assisted me with everything from dive guides to helping with my trip to St.Catherines trip. Jackie was always on hand with a smile for helpful information and also for a sun downer at the local bar 'Churchills' which is a brief walk away. The 'arisha' is a great place to hang out and use the free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dahab hotels
0.5 mi away
Penguin Village
Penguin Village
#16 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jowhara Hotel
Jowhara Hotel
#13 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dahab Plaza Hotel
Dahab Plaza Hotel
#30 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seven Heaven Hotel
Seven Heaven Hotel
#20 of 52 in Dahab
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shams Hotel
Shams Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.6 mi away
INMO Divers Home
INMO Divers Home
#28 of 52 in Dahab
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Camp & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Camp & Hotel

Property: Alaska Camp & Hotel
Address: Masbat South Sinai, Dahab 46617, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Dahab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dahab
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dahab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska Camp & Hotel is right in the heart of Dahab. Only 10 metres from the main beach area and the sea it makes the perfect base to experience and explore Dahab - great value, fantastic atmosphere and the opportunity to meet other travellers from all over the world. With 30 rooms over 2 floors, Alaska Camp & Hotel still retains the relaxed atmosphere of the old beach camps, with Bedouin seating areas in which to chill out and enjoy your stay. Our staff are on hand to help you get the most out of your time in Dahab and experience everything that this unique town has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Alaska Camp & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Camp And Hotel
Alaska Camp Hotel Dahab
Alaska Camp Dahab

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing