We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Basata

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Sea and Sinai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Basata
LA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

If you appreciate good people and responsible tourism, this is the place to stay. I stayed in the chalet and had a lovely experience. The food was delicious. The snorkeling was great. If you are looking for a Cancun experience, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for an experience with meaning, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    7
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The idea of living simply and enjoying the seen was more than enough, it's not even expensive .. get your own equipments ( tent and sleeping bag) and enjoy the ride ..
the sea is very clean , and the main hut is amazing .. being this organic and sustainable oriented is inspiring ..
Never forget the sunrise and the sunset .. and the stars in the night .. is divine

Room Tip: you own tent , may a hut as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaylaZi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I used to go to Basata regularly until they increased the prices that it became not worth the value in compared to other camps in the same line.

Last time we were there, we camped in our tents and had our meals in Newuiba as its much cheaper and more delicious. Maria (the owner’s wife) rudely told us that we are not paying enough, so she decided to add charges for using the kitchen and refrigerator although we didn’t use them. She was so rude to us that we decided not to go there again, and we never did.

Staff has an attitude issue, especially the young collage kids that volunteer to welcome and give orientation. They think they are too cool for the guests

The huts are nice, clean, few feet away from the beach. It is suitable for people who are not used to camps. i have never tried the shallet.

The beach is nice since as it is mostly sandy and there are not much corals, so its pretty safe and enjoyable to swim specially if you are travelling with small kids. There are couple of coral reefs where you can swim to watch couple of colored fish.

Food is horrible, mostly you make your own food buying the ingredients from the place, however since the ingredients are very limited so you are kinda stuck with pasta, tuna, and fava beans. You also pay for using the kitchen.

they bake tasteless oily bread in the morning and fish or veggie dinner at night but you have to make reservation for dinner.

Alcohol is not allowed in the place, so it is good to know if you are planning to bring any.

Overall, find another camp where people are friendly and welcoming and ready to make your food. I can comfortably recommend Ananda or crazy horse which is 1 km away from basata. Also there is Magaana, which is close to Ras Shitan.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank shera111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We wanted to get pampered for two nights since we had a rough night in Zalagi Valley and took the chalet for 400 LE. Although the ecolodge presents their huge solar water heaters in front of each chalet sadly it did not perform. So that was a bit of a pain but when I told the owner she seemed indifferent and didn't do anything about it. When we came to pay she asked us kindly if there was warm water the second day. When we said no she gave us 100 LE discount for each night. That was nice but she could have done better by giving us a different room with warm water for example.

Anyway the rooms are clean , everything but the duvet cover. The self help kitchen is nice but poor, meaning most of the time you do not find what you want. The eggs I had to ask for, the chocolate milk done, the lemon done. Also the guests do not really care about cleaning their dishes and stuff after they ate so you have to clean the stuff you will use once before you use it and once after your done eating.

The view is AMAZING, the sea HEAVAN, and the atmosphere cozy and chilled. The staff is very nice, that's if you are lucky and see one. And a stray dog called Ba7r (meaning the sea in Arabic) is the cutest thing ever. So go but stay in a hut or check the hot water in the room before you take it.

Room Tip: Choose a hut or check the warm water first if you want o stay in a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Salli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is one of my favorite places where Sherif and his wife Maria has built a very special relaxing resort. The bamboo huts are nicely decorated and clean. The standard is simple but perfect for a time relaxing along the Red Sea Coast. A common meal served at night give you a special beduin treat!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawalli, Kuwait
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

basata is on of the best places i ever been to ..........................................................................its quite nice if you want some peace of mind you should go there ,people are so friendly every day at 7 time for dinner dont miss it , you can find all your needs in basata but better and cheaper if you take all your needs with you,torch is a Precious thing in basata so tray to take one with you.

Room Tip: hut in the first row
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank superman-q8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Undeniably one of the "must visits" in Sinai. Definitely not your place if you're looking for a fancy room service dinner, a/c or fresh sheets every morning, but what Basata lacks in luxury it definitely makes up for in simplicity and beauty. You will have to put some work in making your own dinner and dishes but a positive atmosphere allows you to gladly get your sleeves up. The setup is simple but attention to detail and cleanliness makes Basata second to non when it comes to lodging. Sherief and his crew are friendly, helpful and flat out a pleasant company. My take against Basata is that prices in the kitchen are too steep. I love it though and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mina_Kelada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Red Sea and Sinai hotels
0.0 mi away
Nakhil Inn & Dream - Nuweiba
0.0 mi away
Nuweiba Coral Resort
Nuweiba Coral Resort
#1 of 15 in Nuweiba
641 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dahab Paradise
Dahab Paradise
#1 of 52 in Dahab
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bedouin Star
Bedouin Star
#14 of 42 in Nuweiba
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ayla Camp
Ayla Camp
#5 of 42 in Nuweiba
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marsa Shagra Village
Marsa Shagra Village
#1 of 12 in Marsa Alam
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basata

Property: Basata
Address: Taba Road, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 199 Specialty Lodging in Red Sea and Sinai
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Basata Hotel Red Sea And Sinai
Basata Egypt/Red Sea And Sinai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing