We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect place in a perfect place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matarma Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ras Sudr
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matarma Bay
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place in a perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Simply perfect, all! It's the first time in my life that I've been in a place so quite, so beautiful and overall so relaxing. The beach is something unforgettable, we've been alone for 90% of the time we spent there, when there's someone else is also perfect because the space is not enough to be filled in with few persons like we were. The place is clean, the service is perfect, not absent but absent when you don't need, present when you need something and fast enough. The rooms are perfect, small enough to don't let you wanna stay in loosing the amazing space you have around. The kitchen is very good (I'm Italian...). In one sentence is not possible to describe all but it's good so you MUST spend some time here. We'll come back for sure. Thanks a lot

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    14
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
9
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The lodge may still be being developed, however what they have created so far is truly a fantastic place. it's Relaxing, enjoyable and friendly! Fantastic food! Great atmosphere! Lots of fun. All the staff made our stay memorable.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank katzacoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Hats off for the matarma bay team, incredible job I'd say. Designed for a perfect weekend getaway, only 2 hours away. Ideal for winding down form the hectic Cairo, with lots of chill out areas, impressive beach view comfy rooms, friendly staff and not to forget their delicious food ,make sure to try Their BBQ chicken. Ras sudr is famous for its kite surfing centers and local beach bars all 5-10 mins drive from matarma bay. There is something for every one in matarma bay it's perfect for groups and families , defiantly coming back for more.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osawalhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ismailfarid, Owner at Matarma Bay, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Omar,

Thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor, we really do appreciate customer feedback and telling us how you really feel about us.

Please let us know how we can improve, especially in the areas where you gave us 4/5 such as service and cleanliness.

We always take customer feedback very seriously, and are always looking to communicate with our guests in order to provide them with constant improvements.

We hope to see you soon back at Matarma Bay

Warm regards,

Matarma Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The minute you arrive it all starts. You park your car and you're in front of the beach.
Checking in under a huge bedouin tent with smiles and welcomes, reflects the pure and humble egyptian spirit.
The rooms are absolutely amazing and comfortable. You are literally sleeping on the beach with a very convenient price.
Excellent service ''with smiles''. It's the perfect place to stay at ras sudr. It's very close to the best kitesurfing centres and spots.
The food was very delicious. One can say ''I HAD A PERFECT WEEKEND''.
Thank you matarma bay family

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asyut, Egypt
Level Contributor
190 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

It's a small boutique hotel... With Simple A/C Bangalows , reception is a big relaxation scene, all directly on the beach... Pity there was no wind for kitesurfing. But we enjoyed ourselves, food was very good..
Warning, ras sudr is for relaxation or kitesurfing, nothing else..if its for you, this a great place.. Price is reasonable too...owners were very welcoming , thx Zeina, ismail and Sherif.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HatOrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

an amazing hotel, thats the least that can be said
The location is breathtaking, all rooms/huts are less than 20M from the beach, all you have to do is get out of the room and walk down to the beach for a great swim
Rooms are very clean and spacious, compared to other hotels/camps in the area they are extremely well designed and equipped with powerful AC's and LED TV sets

The food is one of the highlights, go for the Grilled Chicken with Honey Mustard, thats the special, other dishes like the Shish Tawook and Pastas are also breathtaking

Room Tip: all rooms are very similar in location and size
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nouresm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

It's rare that a place impresses me enough to write a review about it. Visiting Matarma Bay was one of the best decisions I've made this summer. Only a couple hours of drive from Cairo, the hotel is situated on beautiful private beach. Matarma has 16+ private huts, equipped with flat screen TVs, A/Cs, comfortable beds, and sheets that seem like Martha Stewart herself sowed. It didn't take long for me to get the vibe of Matarma Bay. Basically do whatever it is you like doing. If you want to do yoga, go swimming, chill under the tent, watch the stars, kitesurf, drink, exercise, collect sea shells, or just simply read a book....Matarma welcomes you with open arms. If you think this sounds good...wait till you meet that staff that promotes all this. I was constantly greeted with smiles, lovely light conversation, and the answers to all my questions. Still sounding good...I haven't gotten to the food. So apparently one of the owners is a food buff, so nothing that comes out of that kitchen is less than perfect. I had my style eggs for breakfast, honey mustard grilled chicken for lunch, pizza for dinner, and a crepe as my midnight snack. Ok, so I may have over did it a little on the food but no need for my skinny jeans here. Take your buddy, girlfriend, or group of friends....this place will leave you all saying the same thing "I think I found heaven."

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MirayeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ras Sudr
4.5 mi away
La Hacienda Beach Hotel
La Hacienda Beach Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ras Sudr
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ras Sudr
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
14.9 mi away
Cancun Beach Resort
Cancun Beach Resort
#1 of 23 in Ain Sukhna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Porto South Beach
Porto South Beach
#4 of 23 in Ain Sukhna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
18.0 mi away
Porto Sokhna Resort & Spa
Porto Sokhna Resort & Spa
#21 of 23 in Ain Sukhna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sinaway Lagoon Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matarma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matarma Bay

Property: Matarma Bay
Address: Ras Sudr | Cairo, Sharm El Sheikh Road, Ras Sudr, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Ras Sudr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ras Sudr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matarma Bay is located in the middle of all kitesurfing centres in Ras Sudr. The hotel is comprised of 27 luxury bungalows, most of them with sea view and a couple of hours away from cairo, sandy beach, most of the bungalows have LED flat screen TVs and Acs. The hotel has focused on providing guests and outside visitors with a delicious international menu. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing