We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
135
53
4
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
53
4
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eco lodge nubian style the owner lake nasser nubian house abu simbel temples mud brick stayed for one night ramses ii air conditioning modern facilities charming hotel small town tagine sound light show egypt trip bed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 202 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Yes, we came to Abu Simbel to see the temple and the giant statues but what a surprise to find a real ecolodge 40 km from the border with Sudan! Others have already written about the Nubian style house and rooms but it is really worth writing about the owner's ongoing work to irrigate the property and his success at growing, organically, flowers, fruit trees, corn, wheat and vegetables. And then there are the animals, cows, some horses and a donkey and its off-spring. There are chickens, and goats and sheep and a turkey. And all is beautifully kept--a labour of love! We took our meals at Eskaleh and found them wonderfully prepared and presented in Nubian pottery.

When my husband had a small accident in the shower there was immediate first aid and an offer to call a doctor.

We found Eskaleh reasonably priced considering almost everything has to be brought in from far away. Perhaps those finding the prices too high for what is offered at Eskaleh, an authentic Nubian experience (plus a modern bathroom), have not travelled to too many out-of-the way places. Perhaps, they may wish to reconsider going on a safari.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank inkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

There are not a lot of overnight lodging options in Abu Simbel, but this hotel is a decent, if expensive, option in town. Eskaleh is a peaceful and quiet place that feels like a mix of a Nubian home stay and an African safari lodge. The hotel is located just off the main road through town (Temple to Airport road), off a small street across from the fire station. It is about a 20 minute walk to the Abu Simbel temple. The hotel is beautifully decorated with local handicrafts and there are plenty of areas to sit, drink a cold beverage and just relax. Rooms are similarly decorated, in a rustic, local style. Beds are very firm, but comfortable. Bathroom was clean, but fairly basic at this price point. Rooms also have mosquito netting and fans. There is a free onsite PC, as well as wi-fi. The owner was very helpful in providing information on local sites, arranging a taxi to the airport, as well as providing small currency exchange services. The hotel has on-site meal service with a prix-fixe menu daily, but they can also make smaller meal choices if needed (food was decent). Dinner is served on the patio, which overlooks part of Lake Nasser. I highly recommend insect spray (for the mosquitoes) while sitting on the patio. Prices for rooms vary depending on the room type and view, but run about 60-70 Euros/night. From my perspective, this is a little high considering the condition of the rooms. Yes, you are getting an authentic Nubian experience and a great peaceful location, but there are too many rough edges to be charging this amount. I found a lot of little issues, such as unswept floors, loose or missing bath & electrical fixtures, loose door handle, no hand towels. I think that Eskaleh is still a good option for an overnight stay in Abu Simbel, but I feel like they should either lower their prices 10-15 Euros/night or work to really tighten up their operation.

Note: there is very little to do in Abu Simbel, outside of visiting the temple. In town, there are a handful of small shops and grocery stores, but little else.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It would be worth staying at Eskaleh even if it weren't at Abu Simbel--but if you're really after the temples, Eskaleh makes that better too. All the great things about the place aside, just for logistical reasons staying at Eskaleh makes it easier to enjoy Abu Simbel. You avoid the mid-day heat and busloads--the three of us had the monuments to ourselves at 4:00pm!--and you get the opportunity to see both the sound and light show and the sunrise at the temples if you want.

On top of all that, the hotel is fantastic. We immediately felt welcomed by the happy, competent, attentive staff. The food was excellent, our room was lovely, spacious, and air-conditioned (and that was with three of us in a room for two!). Nubian music is always playing; after I asked about the music, we were given a CD with their mix.

The building itself is built in the style of a traditional Nubian house with five guest rooms. It has many spaces to relax in, indoors and out. There are also conveniences like wifi and an espresso machine as well as necessities like mosquito netting and air-conditioning.

The staff is understanding and accommodating--one of us left a kindle on the airplane, and the hotel phoned, located it, and arranged a car to retrieve it (happily the airport is only ten minutes away). And you can eat alone or with friends you make there, at the time of your choosing.

If you're in the area, you're likely learning about Nubian history and culture as part of your touring. Living in a Nubian house for a night brings it all together. Go!

Room tip: You can book 3 in a room and because of the dressing room and bathroom, it's still very spacious. But it's not that much more to book a second room.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed one night in the superior room with good A/C. The place was neat (Nubian style) and staff were friendly. One could see Lake Nasser from the roof top. It was good that there were mosquito nets in the room although it was kind of weird to have two nets for one big bed. Basically, the big bed was put together with two twin beds, and the nets were above where the individual beds would have been. But we managed to get the nets over the beds and had a good night sleep free from mosquito bites.

We were glad that there was a place to stay after visiting the temples in Abu Simbel since we opted to fly to Abu Simbel instead of riding in a bus for couple of hours each way between Aswan and Abu Simbel. Not only did we have more time to enjoy the temples by ourselves, we were also able to stay for the sound and light show in the evening.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you are going to Abu Simbel, it is worth it spend a night so that you can see the temple at dawn. And the Eskaleh Lodge is a great place to treat yourself to. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the building and grounds are beautiful and the food is wonderful. Plus, the staff is very friendly and helpful.A very relaxing and comforting place.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews