We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“All that's said is true” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eskaleh Nubian Ecolodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abu Simbel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eskaleh Nubian Ecolodge
Save
You added Eskaleh Nubian Ecolodge to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Herten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“All that's said is true”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

All the good comments about his lodge are true. If you go to Abu Simbel we would recommend to stay here at least a night and have dinner. Their food is indeed very good. We don't understand why somebody would call this lodge expensive, since it truly isn't. We are used to 5* resorts all over the world. This offcourse isn't but the atmosphere and service make more than up for that. Besides, the beds are good, there's a good airco and everything functions and is clean. Just book it and find out yourself. If you have time left, rent the owners boot and take a short tour on Lake Nasser. You will love it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MoniqueSchmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    38
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
75
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Yes, we came to Abu Simbel to see the temple and the giant statues but what a surprise to find a real ecolodge 40 km from the border with Sudan! Others have already written about the Nubian style house and rooms but it is really worth writing about the owner's ongoing work to irrigate the property and his success at growing, organically, flowers, fruit trees, corn, wheat and vegetables. And then there are the animals, cows, some horses and a donkey and its off-spring. There are chickens, and goats and sheep and a turkey. And all is beautifully kept--a labour of love! We took our meals at Eskaleh and found them wonderfully prepared and presented in Nubian pottery.

When my husband had a small accident in the shower there was immediate first aid and an offer to call a doctor.

We found Eskaleh reasonably priced considering almost everything has to be brought in from far away. Perhaps those finding the prices too high for what is offered at Eskaleh, an authentic Nubian experience (plus a modern bathroom), have not travelled to too many out-of-the way places. Perhaps, they may wish to reconsider going on a safari.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank inkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

There are not a lot of overnight lodging options in Abu Simbel, but this hotel is a decent, if expensive, option in town. Eskaleh is a peaceful and quiet place that feels like a mix of a Nubian home stay and an African safari lodge. The hotel is located just off the main road through town (Temple to Airport road), off a small street across from the fire station. It is about a 20 minute walk to the Abu Simbel temple. The hotel is beautifully decorated with local handicrafts and there are plenty of areas to sit, drink a cold beverage and just relax. Rooms are similarly decorated, in a rustic, local style. Beds are very firm, but comfortable. Bathroom was clean, but fairly basic at this price point. Rooms also have mosquito netting and fans. There is a free onsite PC, as well as wi-fi. The owner was very helpful in providing information on local sites, arranging a taxi to the airport, as well as providing small currency exchange services. The hotel has on-site meal service with a prix-fixe menu daily, but they can also make smaller meal choices if needed (food was decent). Dinner is served on the patio, which overlooks part of Lake Nasser. I highly recommend insect spray (for the mosquitoes) while sitting on the patio. Prices for rooms vary depending on the room type and view, but run about 60-70 Euros/night. From my perspective, this is a little high considering the condition of the rooms. Yes, you are getting an authentic Nubian experience and a great peaceful location, but there are too many rough edges to be charging this amount. I found a lot of little issues, such as unswept floors, loose or missing bath & electrical fixtures, loose door handle, no hand towels. I think that Eskaleh is still a good option for an overnight stay in Abu Simbel, but I feel like they should either lower their prices 10-15 Euros/night or work to really tighten up their operation.

Note: there is very little to do in Abu Simbel, outside of visiting the temple. In town, there are a handful of small shops and grocery stores, but little else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It would be worth staying at Eskaleh even if it weren't at Abu Simbel--but if you're really after the temples, Eskaleh makes that better too. All the great things about the place aside, just for logistical reasons staying at Eskaleh makes it easier to enjoy Abu Simbel. You avoid the mid-day heat and busloads--the three of us had the monuments to ourselves at 4:00pm!--and you get the opportunity to see both the sound and light show and the sunrise at the temples if you want.

On top of all that, the hotel is fantastic. We immediately felt welcomed by the happy, competent, attentive staff. The food was excellent, our room was lovely, spacious, and air-conditioned (and that was with three of us in a room for two!). Nubian music is always playing; after I asked about the music, we were given a CD with their mix.

The building itself is built in the style of a traditional Nubian house with five guest rooms. It has many spaces to relax in, indoors and out. There are also conveniences like wifi and an espresso machine as well as necessities like mosquito netting and air-conditioning.

The staff is understanding and accommodating--one of us left a kindle on the airplane, and the hotel phoned, located it, and arranged a car to retrieve it (happily the airport is only ten minutes away). And you can eat alone or with friends you make there, at the time of your choosing.

If you're in the area, you're likely learning about Nubian history and culture as part of your touring. Living in a Nubian house for a night brings it all together. Go!

Room Tip: You can book 3 in a room and because of the dressing room and bathroom, it's still very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
151 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed one night in the superior room with good A/C. The place was neat (Nubian style) and staff were friendly. One could see Lake Nasser from the roof top. It was good that there were mosquito nets in the room although it was kind of weird to have two nets for one big bed. Basically, the big bed was put together with two twin beds, and the nets were above where the individual beds would have been. But we managed to get the nets over the beds and had a good night sleep free from mosquito bites.

We were glad that there was a place to stay after visiting the temples in Abu Simbel since we opted to fly to Abu Simbel instead of riding in a bus for couple of hours each way between Aswan and Abu Simbel. Not only did we have more time to enjoy the temples by ourselves, we were also able to stay for the sound and light show in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searsmont, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you are going to Abu Simbel, it is worth it spend a night so that you can see the temple at dawn. And the Eskaleh Lodge is a great place to treat yourself to. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the building and grounds are beautiful and the food is wonderful. Plus, the staff is very friendly and helpful.A very relaxing and comforting place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our Tour Operator recommended this Ecolodge and we could not have been happier.
Unfortunately we only had one night here and wished we had been able to stay longer.
The food was absolutely delicious the chicken tagine was too die for - I did try to get the recipe but was assured this was secret.....
Our room was large and spacious, well decorated and finished.
We arrived mid afternoon and checked out 10am the next day but they managed to do our laundry for us which was very much appreciated and well done too.
The atmosphere is very warm and the staff are all super friendly and helpful.
The position is good - walking distance to shops and you could walk to the temple if necessary.
The only problem we encountered were mosquitoes - they do have plug in mossie repellent and nets which were helpful.
It is well worth the overnight stay to see the light show and the temple at sunrise - so very special!

Room Tip: Our tour operator organised an upgrade to Room 1 for us which was fabulous - with a private ouside s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SVP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abu Simbel
0.9 mi away
Seti Abu Simbel Lake Resort
0.7 mi away
Nefertari Hotel Abu Simble
Nefertari Hotel Abu Simble
#2 of 4 in Abu Simbel
3.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ekadolli Nubian Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eskaleh Nubian Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eskaleh Nubian Ecolodge

Property: Eskaleh Nubian Ecolodge
Address: Abu Simbel City, Abu Simbel 81636, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Abu Simbel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Abu Simbel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eskaleh ..... an Eco-Lodge Guest House , located a few minutes away from Abu Simble temples , marvelously overlooking the Lake Nasser, where Nubia was located. The hotel was built using natural materials such as Nile mud bricks. With a maximum capacity of 16 guest , Eskaleh ensures the best services for its guests in a relaxing , natural and warm atmosphere... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eskaleh Nubian Ecolodge Hotel Abu Simbel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing