We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't take my eyes off it!”

Abu Simbel Temple Complex
Book In Advance
More Info
$103.00*
and up
Private Tour: Abu Simbel by Minibus from Aswan
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Private Day Tour: Abu Simbel from Aswan
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Private Day Tour to Abu Simbel Temples from Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Couldn't take my eyes off it!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I don't think I even saw Lake Nasser because my eyes were on the temple the whole time, I couldn't take my eyes off it. Amazing what a person will do if in their means to assert their power. Ramses wanted to show anyone that might enter into Egypt see what I can achieve, the power I have, well think twice about who you are dealing with. During the solstice the temple is aligned so the rays of the sun make its way to the back of the temple and shines on Ramses and the gods. This is truly an AMAZING site, not to be misses at any expense. Not to mention the moving of such a monument in recent history to save it when the dam was built at Lake Nasser. Let's also not forget Nefertari's temple right next to it. Go go go!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PatKtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,088
    217
    33
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Abu Simbel - dangerous driving”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Abu Simbel is well worth a visit. We travelled in January during winter and the weather was perfect. We travelled in a private tour van which left Aswan at about 2am, maybe 3am. We started with police escorts but at times were well out of site of any other vehicles. It was nice awaking to a lovely clear sunrise. But it wasn't long before I realised that the driver of the van was speeding travelling at 170 kph, although the speed limit was only 80 kph for vans. Furthermore, the driver played 'cat and mouse' with another van - chasing each other and driving on the wrong side of the road. It was terrifying. No wonder the road toll is so high in Egypt.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jockaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“enchanting temple”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The temples at Abu Simbel were built by Ramses II, Egypt's longest ruling pharaoh. One temple is guarded by four statues of Ramses and the other honours his favourite wife Nefertari. Views of placid Lake Nasser set the backdrop to the extraordinary engineering feat that moved this site 200 feet to avoid being flooded by the creation of the Aswan Dam. Fabulous experience!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank highlandbeachflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“fascinating”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The location of this historical site is significant in that it had to be moved and reassembled in order to build the Aswan Dam. The temples at Abu Simbel were built by Ramses II, Egypt's longest ruling pharaoh. One temple ___four statues of Ramses and the other honours his favourite wife Nefertari. Views of placid Lake Nasser set the backdrop to the extraordinary engineering feat that moved this site 200 feet to avoid being flooded by the creation of the Aswan Dam. Fabulous experience!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank highlandbeachflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“fascinating”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The location of this historical site is significant in that it had to be moved and reassembled in order to build the Aswan Dam. The temples at Abu Simbel were built by Ramses II, Egypt's longest ruling pharaoh. One temple ___four statues of Ramses and the other honours his favourite wife Nefertari. Views of placid Lake Nasser set the backdrop to the extraordinary engineering feat that moved this site 200 feet to avoid being flooded by the creation of the Aswan Dam. Fabulous experience!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank highlandbeachflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abu Simbel Temple Complex also viewed

Abu Simbel, Aswan Governorate
 
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Abu Simbel Temple Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing