We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Sealark Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sealark Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Avalon B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have been staying at the Sealark Bed and Breakfast for 11 years. The place feels like a second home to our family. It is located one block from the town shops and one block from the beach, boardwalk and playgrounds. The area is very safe and has sidewalks that allowed our children at an early age to adventure out to the candy store, arcade, ice cream shops and library.
Pat and John (the owners of the bed and breakfast) are wonderful people that are like family now. They are the most honest and accommodating people you will have the pleasure to meet. They provide a wonderful breakfast each morning that includes a different cooked item. During the breakfast, this is the opportunity to talk to the other guests and hear about fun things to do in the area. The place has so many returning guests that we have developed friendships with the other guests over the years that make breakfast a fun event each day. During breakfast, the rooms are cleaned, sheets are changed and towels are replaced. What a treat over renting a shore house!
Pat and John are always there to offer any help to make it a wonderful vacation. We normally stay in the apartment style rooms across the street from the bed and breakfast that offer a private deck with a gas grill along with a full kitchen when you want to eat in. The place is pet friendly and our dogs just love it there. There is a grass yard for the kids to play in and puzzles, books and TV for the rainy days (not many of them in Avalon).
If you are looking for a wonderful place to have a family vacation, this is the spot!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
10
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

The Sea Lark is the only Bed & Breakfast on the 7 mile island of Avalon & Stone Harbor. It is one block from the beach, and a very short walk into town. There are a variety of rooms to fit your budget. The owners didn't hover over you, but were available when needed. I found it clean and very nicely decorated. The sitting room was very comfortable, and the breakfast offered was delicious, fresh and had something for everyone's taste. The rate was very affordable, even cheaper than the "budget" hotels in Stone Harbor. They are open year round, which is a plus if you want a weekend get away in the spring or fall. They also offered free wireless.

Room Tip: Pets are only allowed in one of the rooms, so you need to check availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mb1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed in the apartment across the street. We have never been in such a terrible place and we have travelled extensively.
The place was rundown and very dirty. There were spiders on the bed and the bedspread had not been laundered, probably all summer. Maid service consisted of simply throwing the bedspread on the unmade bed - the bottom sheet and mattress pad were all crumpled and not smoothed out at all.
The biggest insult was a sign in the kitchen that said they would be happy to wash our dishes for an extra $25 - are you kidding? We didn't use even one of those filthy dishes. The Health Department would find this place "interesting".
DO NOT GO THERE!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avalon hotels

NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

First off, I have one very simple requirement in an accommodation: Be clean. I wish I had known what I was getting into, or took the previous reviews seriously. We stayed in the apartment across the street from the B&B. The room was not cleaned once (if ever, all summer) the entire time we were there. Apparently cleaning consists of making the bed and emptying garbage. Thankfully, there was a vacuum in the closet. The filter was so clogged, I had to take it out to use the vacuum. Once I did, the amount of filth that machine picked up was sickening. The couch was covered in dog hair, so we had to use the bed spread as a cover. The linoleum and tile on the floors was filthy. I didn't dare go barefoot the entire stay.

The owners are simply not nice people. We were forced to leave early due to an oncoming hurricane (mandatory evacuation). When we let the owners know, we received an "ok". No, apologies, no offers of a partial refund, nothing. They got our money, and that's all that mattered.

I will say that the breakfast was pretty good, and not a simple continental breakfast.

I can't vouch for the actual B&B, but the apartment is simply disgusting. Hopefully these negative reviews that are piling up will do some good.

Room Tip: Avoid the apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NjTikiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

we stayed at an apartment across the street from the bed and breakfast with our three young children for one week. It was a great disappointment; even a college student would feel this place is creepy. the apartment was dirty, many lightbulbs were broken, the couch was torn and the rooms were simply run down and depressing. the shower still had soaps and shampoos from prior visitors and my rough-it husband couldn't even bring himself to use the shower for the week we were there, it was so disgusting! (he showered at a friend's). there were clothes and tissues on the floor left by a previous renter. one room had an air conditioner, the other did not. the proprietor, a woman, was unfriendly and rude to us. do yourself a favor and find somewhere else to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Convient to beach & stores. Great accomodations. Would highly recommend it. Especially enjoyed the breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wsellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

I booked my stay at the Sealark due to the convenient location. It turned out to be such a wonderful experience. We stayed in an apartment that allowed all our friends to be together. We had a deck in the back where we could all hang out. The couple that runs the B&B did everything to make our stay extra special. They were always available for everything we needed. The breakfast was so delicious. It was nice too that they have you sign up for a time so you can ensure there is room for you and your travelmates to have a lovely breakfast together. I cannot say enough great things about this place. My only sadness was that they ran out of cookbooks with their wonderful recipes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
2.6 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
3.5 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#1 of 6 in Stone Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
15.2 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sun 'N' Sand Motel
Sun 'N' Sand Motel
#1 of 1 in Stone Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sealark Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sealark Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sealark Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3018 1st Ave, Avalon, NJ 08202-1738
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely turn of the century building. Tastefully decorated. Daily breakfast buffet with hot and cold dishes. We are new owners and very enthusiastic about our new venture. We are making some improvements, but hoping to preserve the charm of this old house. All rooms are air-conditioned and heated. We are open year round. We are one block from the beach, and one block from the stores and restaurants of Avalon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sealark Hotel Avalon
Sealark b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing