We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't wait to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beachcomber Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Couldn't wait to leave!”
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Checked in at the beachcomber to find a room with no bed, then to my surprise it was actually a full size Murphy bed...are you kidding???? There is no way I was paying for a room with no real bed. The room smelled of moth balls and the bathroom was disgusting. I went to the office to complain so they took me to another room which was a little better except that the bed had a plastic cover on it so when I sat on it, it was actually "crunchy" and this room also smelled of moth balls. I again went back to the office, really just wanting to check out and leave this awful place, but they insisted on giving me another room. I gave up and took that 3rd room. I had to open up windows to air out the moth ball smell. The furniture was all old and uncomfortable but I thought we would try to make the best of it. Unfortunately the bed was so bad I couldn't sleep at all. My back was killing me and there was no way I could stay for the 2nd night that was already paid for. We checked out early, voiced our complaints, and DID NOT get reimbursed for that 2nd night. This is a horrible motel. Don't waste your money!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bat523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcomberresort, Manager at The Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
We at the Beachcomber always welcome reveiws whether bad or good.It is good for people to "vent" when they feel they have been wronged in some way.Unfortunately for the business the people rarely tell the whole truth.
The truth is that this guest made a reservation with us and was explained in detail what the room had in it. We had other rooms available but this guest chose the least expensive room. Again she was explained as to the room's amenities so she knew ahead of time that she had a Murphy Bed and what it was.She was not happy with that and graciously was shown a couple of other rooms that were an upgrade to what she had. She took the upgraded room with out any additional cost to her.The next day late in the day she came to the office and said she was leaving.( Check out time is at 11:00 am ,she showed up close to 4pm. maybe this is early to her.). Even at this time we did not know why she was leaving and no one recalls her asking for a refund.We do not recall any complaints.Even her demeaner was not of a person that was staying in a" horrible place". We found out in February she was dissatisfied with us.
At the beachcomber we always go out of our way to please the guest. Many of the guests we have say it's "like coming home". Before you judge a book by someone else's cover come home to find out what the real story is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    51
    17
    10
    5
See reviews for
85
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Stayed for Labor Day week. My wife and I rented a one bedroon suite. Great accommodations. Very clean. Staff was very friendly and courteous. On breezy days, the pool was a better alternative than the beach. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phillyhobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

The rooms were spotless, the staff was polite, friendly and attentive. What a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twinroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bel air md
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Trying to make a reservation on Thursday Sept. 2,2010 for one night with MaryJane. Website states on home page that Nightly Reservations Available. She said ,"no that is for walkins only". Asked to speak to a manager and she said no manager is working. You can speak to "Penny" tomorrow at 9am. This lady was the rudest woman . I find it hard to believe that "No manager is working". So , to me the false advertisiment on the front should speak for the hotel.
We will continue to book for our family and friends at thr Concord Suites in Avelon. They are wonderful, clean, and NICE!!! I would NEVER stay here. In todays economic times , you would think that customer service would be great. Not for this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyof686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcomberresort, Manager at The Beachcomber Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2010
The night clerk was correct. There was and is no manager on premises during the night shifts unless there is an emergency situation. This is typical for small places of lodging in vacation areas such as Avalon – Stone Harbor. Some do not even staff the desk 24/7.

As background, this call came Thursday night before Labor Day, a very busy weekend at The Shore. The request was for one room for one night, Saturday of that weekend. The “rates” page on our web site states that The Beachcomber (and most similar Shore lodging establishments) require a multi-night stay on holiday weekends. The caller may have learned this from calls previous to and after they called the Beachcomber. Perhaps they were referred to us by others who could not grant their request for a last minute, one night stay on a holiday weekend.

The web site states ‘Nightly Rentals Available’. They are, as the desk clerk stated, Walk-ins or last minute local calls that are sometimes accommodated, IF rooms are available and there is no likelihood of another guest requesting a multi-day reservation for that night. This is a more liberal practice than many other Avalon-Stone Harbor condo rental establishments, which is what we are. We have often been able to help desperate travelers when their need matched our ability to accommodate them. We encourage travelers in this situation to inquire. When we can we match their needs to our business situation, we will do so. Had “familyof686” been able to call back the next day as the clerk suggested, or even arrived at the desk on the day, it is very possible we might have been able to help.

Nevertheless, anyone who has tried to make a last minute reservation on a nice weekend at The Shore knows minimum stay requirements for reservations are the norm. We hope “familyof686” was able to meet their lodging needs at their stated favorite place, which is only a few steps from The Beachcomber. We are sorry the caller was disappointed by their call to The Beachcomber but perhaps their expectations were too high and we were a ‘last resort’.

As their first and only post on Tripadvisor we hope “familyof686”’s negative review of our generally well regarded establishment is not motivated by frustration with their failure to reserve a last minute room, for one night, over the phone, on a very busy weekend, with nice weather at the Shore.

We also hope more of our hundreds of satisfied guests take the time to register their opinions of The Beachcomber and its fine staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

3 of us stayed and walked to the beach 2 or three times a day. So close to so many attractions including restaraunts, grocery stores, convenience stores, and most of all, Stone Harbor shops and boutiques/eateries. Pool area is great, staff is so friendly, and rooms are perfectly sized with an eat in kitchen. Beautiful beach.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katlover67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Our family of five stayed for 3 nights in room 308 at the end of July. Smooth check-in process, beach passes included, free parking, laundry facilities on site, loved the pretty and sparkling clean pool to 8 feet deep with platform for diving and 1 foot deep kiddie pool. Suite fit us well with 2 double beds and pull out sofa, newer kitchenette with stainless appliances (mini-fridge, small dishwasher, microwave, small stove, and sink). Nice view of trees from this room. Carpet needs replacing in this unit, otherwise all else just fine. Would recommend. These are individually owned condos, so there is probably a varience in terms of quality of rooms.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

best vacation in 20 years need i say more we will return again and again just great

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerrycat97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.1 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
464 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,209 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
692 reviews
12.4 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Resort

Property: The Beachcomber Resort
Address: 7900 Dune Dr, Avalon, NJ 08202-1072
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beachcomber Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Avalon
Beachcomber Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing