We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for Avalon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Beachcomber Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had a 3rd Floor 1 BR & also the efficiency next door. Great location, wonderful pool and helpful staff. The housekeeping department is great - on top of everything!! Definitely recommend the Beachcomber for anyone looking for a shore stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SwankySocialite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 185 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a 1 bedroom unit on the 3rd floor. Overall I was very happy, the unit was clean and pleasantly furnished-shore appropriate. Two air conditioners were more than enough to keep the place very cool. The kitchenette had everything you would need, dishwasher, small fridge, and 2 burners, plenty of plates etc. One block to the beach. Two other local motels have restaurants/bars attached and were noisy so this was a good stay if you wanted to make sure you were not disturbed. My only complaint was that the bed was not comfortable, but I am admittedly very picky about this. I believe each unit is individually owned so I would recommend asking about amenities and furnishing when making a reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed at the Beachcomber for the first time last summer. My fiancee's family has been vacationing in Avalon for over twenty years and they have always chose the Beachcomber as their place to stay. The rooms are kept very clean and I believe some of the units are owned as time shares, so each room is decorated differently and some of them have kitchens units which can save you some $$ while on vacation. The hotel has a very nice pool area which is perfect for relaxing after a day at the beach. The beach, by the way, is literally across the street from the hotel and it is one of the best I have visited (I grew up an hour away from Cape Cod, I'd like to think I know east coast beaches). The hotel also has beach passes that you can rent during your stay. Additionally, the hotel is a short drive (and a do-able walk) to downtown Stone Harbor as well.

You have a bunch of options of where to stay when you're visiting Avalon/Stone Harbor; but the Beachcomber is great for families and couples who want to experience the best of the Jersey shore. Based on it's clientele, it's not a place where loud teenagers or frat buddies are going to stay and party (Avalon/Stone Harbor generally doesn't attract those types like other shore towns do) and the staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. I completely understand why my fiancee's family comes back year after year, and I look forward to visiting again this summer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bluescreen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Second time staying here. The one bedroom suites are very comfortable for a family of 4. The best thing about this place is the pool. It is esthetically pleasing and nicely heated (unlike other hotel pools which are heated only in name). My only complaint is that for the price, they should provide shampoo in the bathroom and towels at the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank howdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

First and foremost, The Beachcomber is located ONE block from the beach! This location is ideal for pretty much any type of visitor. Other hotel/resorts have loud, noisy restaurants and bars attached, splitting up Management's customer base, but here, you've only got rooms. Luckily, you can walk to about 5-6 different restaurants in under 5min. Bars and decent summer nightlife can be found just on the beach, either beachfront resort.

Secondly, addressing some of the NEGATIVE comments here...hmm, let's put things in perspective. Who books a room and expects a full refund if you need to cancel? In what industry is this common? Please beware of Commenters who only review ONE hotel or restaurant and give it ONE star. Please, ohh please, disregard them. I'm pretty sure they're not happy with anyone, ever. And if you call the day before a National Holiday expecting a discount...hahaha. Get honest with yourselves, people. We have far to high of expectations and play victims when things are Five-Star Quality, even though you're paying Two-Stars.

On to the ACTUAL hotel. The Beachcomber, as I said, is a return to Classic Jersey. It's got rather small rooms, and the facade is dated, but it still doesn't look or feel out of place. To address comments about rooms ***These are INDIVIDUALLY OWNED condos, so my advice would be to call and speak with someone about room decor and style. Some might have been updated last year, some in the 90's. Be a smart consumer and talk to someone. There are three floors, but no elevator. Maid services start early, and my one complaint is that they aren't keen on being quiet during their startup. Every day during our 5-night stay, I could hear staff talking outside before I would have liked waking up. So chaps, listen to your headphones, groove your way across the pool while cleaning it, but PLEASE don't talk to each other all morning...

I've stayed here multiple times, and it hasn't changed one bit. For good or ill. I've never found the Staff to be impolite or rude, contrary to some of those ONE Review commenters, just realize where you're staying. This is a seasonal spot, not the Four Seasons Maui (which I also reviewed) Please stay here to enjoy the slow pace of life, proximity to the beach, and the Jersey of old.

Room Tip: Speak directly to the Front Desk staff. Ask about which rooms have been upgraded and book! Some ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank wandererer151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I booked a one bedroom unit with two double beds for myself & my son. The unit was very clean with an extra sink and mirror in the bedroom which came in handy. The kitchen and bathroom looked like they were recently updated. The kitchen had a microwave, cooktop and a small dishwasher which we used. They also provided the detergent for the dishwasher. There were two a.c. units, one in the bedroom and one in the living area. The heated pool was very nice and clean. The front desk staff were very nice. The only slightly negative thing I would say is that they need an elevator or a lift of some kind to bring the luggage up to the third floor. I believe they could use one of the existing stirwells to put this in. Mangement should consider this. Other than that, no problems at all.

Room Tip: If you have any problem with climbing stairs, book a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Star517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Decided on short notice to take a few days vacation in Avalon NJ. Had never been there but had heard it was nice. Called the beachcomber the day before & was able to get reservations for a studio -1 queen bed & 1 murphy bed. Expected a very small room but was plesantly surprised - plenty of room for 3 of us & very clean. Large refrige, microwave, dishwasher. 1 block from beach, near the shops on 96th street. Definetly would go back. People at the front desk were exceptionally helpful. To find anything negative, I could only say the wall of the shower was showing some wear.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hojaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.1 mi away
ICONA Avalon
ICONA Avalon
#1 of 5 in Avalon
324 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colonial Lodge
Colonial Lodge
#3 of 6 in Stone Harbor
45 reviews
17.5 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber Resort

Address: 7900 Dune Dr, Avalon, NJ 08202-1072
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range: $129 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beachcomber Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Avalon
Beachcomber Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing