We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE, Worst meal ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Sylvesters

Sylvesters
Ranked #51 of 66 Restaurants in Avalon
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Liverpool, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE, Worst meal ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Meal started out with dinner rolls that were a day old three days ago. This should have been the tell tale sign. Our meals then came served to our table in lidded styrofoam take out containers. My $14.95 Chicken Parm was 3 small compressed chicken fingers with a transparent slice of deli cheese on top and sauce. These were served with french fries, a small cup of poor coleslaw, and a lemon slice. No I did not order the fries thats their meal (I was expecting pasta) and I'm yet to figure out the lemon slice. ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE!!!!!!!! You have better options, stay far away!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    9
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have been going to Sylvester's since it was just a fish market in the 50's. Over the years the restaurant food has deteriorated and they seem to be coasting on popularity. I always get the $25 broiled dinner. Most recently the "crab cake" portion was disappointing, tasting of the aluminum container is which it was served and lacking in crab. The other components of the dinner were lackluster. I paid an additional $1.50 for an undercooked baked potato. I doubt we will be continuing the traditional visits

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bon1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Isle City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sylvestries Fish Market”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

30+ years of vacationing in Sea Isle, we have been going to Sylvestries for years, driving to Avalon because we enjoyed the food. Last year we were disappointed but wrote it off to one of those things... this year it was worse - we ordered and picked up, like we have for years, the scallops were chewy like they were old, the flounder was dry, overcooked, and poor in quality, and the portions, not being important for this conversation was smaller than ever. We ordered 8 dinners and everyone was displeased with their meal, no exceptions!

After years of being a customer we are done - we will not order another meal or return, they don't care about their customers and it shows with poor quality.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BudMan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“A Pristine Find”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My family came across Sylvester's Fish Market by happenstance. We were staying at a house on the same block and ate dinner there. The food was fresh and cooked to perfection. It is BYOB and the atmosphere is relaxing and the restaurant is outdoors either under roof or not.It is right near the bay. Definately a pristine find at the shore!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marsha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“DE-LI-CIOUS!!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

we eat at Sylvesters every time we come to Avalon. Their crab fingers are the best!!! BYOB is a plus, and the picnic tables make for a comfortable atmosphere. The seafood is always absolutely delicious.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank katy0970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylvesters also viewed

Avalon, Cape May County
Avalon, Cape May County
 
Avalon, Cape May County
 
Avalon, Cape May County
Avalon, Cape May County
 

Been to Sylvesters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing