We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Prime Rib Night”

The Windrift Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 66 Restaurants in Avalon
Price range: $0 - $33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sewell, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Prime Rib Night”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

On every Monday during the summer theWindrift puts on a Prime Rib Night.
In the bar area off the Lobby is the Signature Longue - dinner is served with a salad,sides and while eating enjoy Jim at the piano - a new chef this year has upgraded the menu and I can honestly say - the prime rib is always great and cooked as ordered to perfection. The bartenders on duty Monday are the best and keep everyone happy

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    78
    64
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“WOW..that hurt”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Ok, the food was expected for a beach town eatery in season. But the Staff..Rude. First the cover charge; then slooooow service, yes it was busy but get more staff. no excuse for RUDENESS of the 'MOD' as a manager on duty he was a youngish college aGE WITH NO HOSPITALITY EXPERIENCE .The pool is small but looks like fun. Hotel/restaurant is steps from beach. Drinks are very expensive. Try some other place is my suggestion.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dad1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great view, but don't expect much more.”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The Windrift is an Avalon staple. With what might be the only ocean view seating along the 7-mile island, you can't go wrong with the sights. It's absolutely ideal for a light lunch with friends, or for drinks anytime of day. I agree with the wing night cover. It's CASH collecting strategy which yes, does offer you a plastic cup in return, however, the volume of the cup is only half a pint, so there technically is NO discount on beer. But hey, check out that plastic cup! At lunch, I literally had a hail a waitress, who was reportedly on since 7am. We sat down at 1pm, and could see the lack of energy on the floor. When we walked in, the staff was all congregated in a circle, not an ideal time for a team meeting. I witnessed two other tables seat themselves, also looking around for staff.

The food was completely average, like most Avalon/Stone Harbor restaurants. The view will keep me coming back. The full moon made it exceptionally pretty last weekend, illuminating the ocean views even well past dark. I've visited this restaurant/bar many times, and will continue to return as long as it stands, but adjust your expectations accordingly. I should point out that once we did hail that waitress, she was friendly and kind, just as all their staff have been. How can you be grumpy when you get to see the ocean everyday.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wandererer151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Dinner & breakfast food is outstanding!”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

My wife and I have been staying at the Windrift for many years & neither one of us can ever say we had any thing less than great food each and every time. Service is another story, if you are lucky you will be waited on by one of the servers that has worked there for many, many seasons & your experience will be 10 out of a possible 10. Otherwise you could be stuck with a newbie who tries hard but is lacking the training & experience.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Always a good time”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

5 Bars - great bartenders - Tiki Bar with view is the best - good food - Wing Night on Tuesday - Prime Rib night on Monday - great Sushi - Mr Good and his Sushi team are the best - always a good time at the Windrift

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windrift Restaurant also viewed

Avalon, Cape May County
Avalon, Cape May County
 
Avalon, Cape May County
Avalon, Cape May County
 

Been to The Windrift Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing