We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and BYO”
Review of Cafe Loren

Cafe Loren
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Loren is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 23rd St.
Northfield, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and BYO”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Enjoyed a evening here with three couples. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. We were lucky to get a table. We tried to make a reservation a week before but were told that they were booked solid for the week. We were lucky that someone must have made other plans and a table opened up. I am glad we were persistent. The fish was delicious and the steaks were cooked to perfection. Next time I am in Avalon, I will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tfisch100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    14
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sewickley, PA
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Superior dining ”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Six of us come here every year for dinner, while we're spending a couple of weeks in Stone Harbor. It is the best restaurant in the Avalon/Stone Harbor area. Excellent, well-prepared food in a comfortable setting. BYOB, but that's not a problem as there's a liquor store next door, so the wine list is what you make it and you can be your own sommelier.

I normally have a Jersey tomato and mozzarella salad, followed by the Veal Loren, which consists of three medallions served atop half roast potatoes, topped by a shrimp and crabmeat. Really very good. Others had the scallops; also good, but not the best we've had in the area. The service is friendly and professional. All in all well worth a visit and a more than pleasant way to spend the evening.

Helpful?
Thank Oberst06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute Gem”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Food is positively fabulous. Presentation and service are exceptional. I look forward to going every summer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Palate pleasing cuisine”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Every dish was flawlessly executed and presented making this one of my most memorable meals down the shore. All 4 of us relished the flavors, textures of all their cuisine. This is a keeper.

Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal in Avalon at this BYOB!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Thanks to other reviews on TripAdvisor and Open Table, we knew to bring our own bottle. Once we found parking and the entrance, we were seated immediately at our reservation time. Very professional and attentive wait staff. The menu was extensive with excellent additions. We thoroughly enjoyed the Black Bean soup but the portion was too big for an appetizer and I wasn't able to completely finish my entree. We enjoyed the decor, the atmosphere was very upbeat but the noise level made it slightly difficult to have a conversation at our own table. Otherwise a very enjoyable night out with great food. Glad we called ahead to make reservations and also learn of the dress code.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hblade44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Loren also viewed

Avalon, Cape May County
Avalon, Cape May County
 
Avalon, Cape May County
 
Stone Harbor, Cape May County
Avalon, Cape May County
 

Been to Cafe Loren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing