We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Far Away From Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Rock 'n Chair

Rock 'n Chair
Ranked #27 of 63 Restaurants in Avalon
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 24th
Description: Upscale shore casual with open air feel and outside patio seating. We serve breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, opening at 8 am. Great breakfast Bloody Mary's and breakfast cocktail menu, and our new Martini menu is sure to please.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Stay Far Away From Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We expected a top notch meal for these prices. Instead we got feathers in our buffalo wings, hard $28 ravioli that were tiny and only 8 of them, over cooked salmon, gristly steak and 2 day old bread with margarine they call butter. It was horrible. I believe they will be gone in a year. Of course the bar people like it, you'd have to be drunk to eat the food.
Please take your family elsewhere if you want a lovely meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tami K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    13
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sea Isle City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Date Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have been going here for date night for five years now, and it has done nothing but get better every year. The recent remodeling has resulted in an open, airy environment with a great deck for outdoor dining. The recent addition of brick oven pizza was a win; with a lot of selection on the menu to choose from. Our favorites (besides the pizza) are the lobster rolls, however everything on the appetizer menu is great.

By the way, the do serve breakfast and their bloody mary's are great!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjnsic3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Doesn't Avalon have a food ordinance?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Looked good from the menu and was packed on the Sunday night we arrived. Decided to give it a try the following night. In the rush, did not check Trip Adviser. Sorry TA. Lesson learned.

We should have sensed something was going south when the soup de jour on a Monday night is the Prime Rib Beef vegetable Soup. My college cafeteria used to serve tomato soup and kernel corn as a side dish on Wednesday night for dinner, then serve tomato corn soup on Thursday night. Red alert, red alert.

Ordered a dry Sapphire martini. Would claim it was not Sapphire gin, but could not taste much of the gin through all the Vermouth it was buried under and cut with water. No stars for the drink.

Appetizer was steamed clams in white sauce, one of my favorites. Over cooked clams with no clam flavor. Like, how do you serve clams that don't taste of clams? White sauce buried under overcooked garlic and screaming for real butter to add flavor. Others at the table had the fried oyster special: ever have hush puppies with a fishy flavor? Salads completely uninspired. Caesar would not approve of his signature salad.

The doughy bread served with dinner will be found just as tasty after the asteroid hits. Should taste about the same.

Won't go into 4 part harmony on the main course, but it "was not good". To get to the point, for example, my mother ordered the Tuna Fresca with sweet potato fries. The "top grade tuna" recommended to be served just seared would have been turned down by most airlines to serve in economy. The fries arrived cold. My mom complained that the dipping sauce for the fish was off and a little sweet. We thought it was like a ginger, soy sauce for dipping the tuna. Wrong. It was for the sweet potato fries. Guess what? It was Log Cabin Syrup.

Really? At these prices?

Can't blame the staff. They were attentive and made an effort to make it work. If they had good food to serve, the place would be a lot of fun. Having a beer and a pizza might actually be good, but Robert from Restaurant Impossible should visit the kitchen.

Look, not every dinner experience needs to be five star. But across the board, the food was diner grade at best. At these somewhat inflacted summer shore prices, this was a disappointment.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LtBiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too many other GOOD places to go, stay away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Spent an afternoon with girls friends. We should have left after it took us over 30 mins to get our first drink. The waiter apologized and said the drink menu was new and the bartender had to "figure out how to make our drinks". The first round, 2 of the drinks were undrinkable, and the margaritas were without salt. One the second round the waiter said that the bartender was going to put the margarita's in larger glasses. He forgot to say that he was going to charge $20/each. When we got our bill we were shocked.

The salad was gritty as if the lettuce had not been washed and the rest of the meal was average. The waiter was nice but slow. There has to be somewhere else to go.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretta94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Breakfast Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Went here for breakfast one Sunday morning. I did not even know that they served breakfast - it may be a new thing. We sat outdoors on their relatively new deck area. It's perfect for dining. It's covered and there are fans to keep you cool during the warm summer days. We ordered the simple breakfast item for about $6 and it included eggs, pancakes and bacon - not a bad value. The food was quite good but the service left a little bit to be desired. The pancakes were delivered but not with any syrup and by the time it arrived the pancakes were quite cold. I will go back since it's close our place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiggles002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock 'n Chair also viewed

Avalon, Cape May County
Avalon, Cape May County
 
Avalon, Cape May County
Avalon, Cape May County
 

Been to Rock 'n Chair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing