We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Desert Sand”
Review of Desert Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Sand Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
chambersburg, pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great stay at the Desert Sand”
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We have been staying at the Desert Sand Resort for years. The newly appointed suites made this season's stay even more comfortable and pleasant. The staff, as always, is accomodating, the rooms, pool and general resort grounds are very clean and the indoor pool is a nice addition for those gloomy days when the kids are bored. I love the poolside bar and grille. Nice touch. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and will be back next season.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shorefam67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    57
    12
    12
    11
See reviews for
73
31
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
landisville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

we have stayed here for 8 years. the hotel has just done some renovations and the rooms are very nice. they have added a full refrigerator, microwave, stove top, sink, corian counters, cabinets and remodeled the bathroom. there are 2 flat screen tvs. they have done a superb job!! the staff is very friendly. I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lghlancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Sept 2008
Stay here with another couple ... excellent location
One block to the ocean
A couple of exits to Wildwood and Cape May
Avalon Golf Course a few miles away
Desert Sands Hotel is clean, children and even adult friendly
No complaints at all

Helpful?
Thank NJPel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2009

I loved my stay at the Desert Sands! My mother sister-in -law, 2 children and 2 teens, all had a great 3 night stay here. Very close to all the fun things to do on 7 mile beach. I especially loved the proximity to both Wildwood and Ocean City. If only we would have had better weather. Oh ya, good cheep burgers at the poolside. GREAT FAMILY RESORT.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyuss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2008

The hotel was old 1980's style, but clean. The bathroom was small. Molding missing from kitchen counter edge.

The in-wall AC was VERY loud and prevented sound sleep.

The on-site restaurant was only open on weekends, and then only for breakfast .

We had to pay for ice from the ice machine.

Their website boasted of the restaurant, which wasn't open during the week. And an on-site bike rental was no longer available.

The poolside bar was very tiny, and in order to get to it you had to walk through the crowded kiddie pool area if you were staying on the other side of the hotel.

The motel was close to the beach though.

We also heard lots of trash truck noise all thru the night.

Overall I think it was overpriced. I would probably not go back there again.

  • Liked — Indoor pool , sundeck ,close to beach,
  • Disliked — AC noise, nighttime trash truck noise, dated decor, restaurant's non-hours, paying for ice
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Eastern Pennsyvania
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2008

If you are looking for a great romantic, quiet weekend, THIS IS NOT THE PLACE TO GO. If you are looking for an average weekend with general motel accomidations, old furniture, etc., stay here. This place is close to the beach, and good resturants and stores near-by. They're a bit far from the shops at 96th street.
The staff is friendly, but the rooms are kind of seedy. It appeared clean to us, and they supposedly have wireless internet (although we didn't use it). So, I guess this is a good motel for a family weekend, but it's no honeymoon resort.

  • Liked — The indoor pool/the closeness to the beach
  • Disliked — the parking troubles
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 101709m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSELEEMAD
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2007

I had a very unfortunate stay at Desert Sand. My room was directly outside the vending machine.....constant noise ALL NIGHT!
The room was dark and dingy and very unpleasant. They say they have internet access. You have to leave a $150.00 for a MODEM!
When a family emergency arose, I needed to leave early. There was absolutey no give on any refund, even though they rented the room right away. I would NEVER stay at this hotel again!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank ROSELEEMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Desert Sand Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
I was not the Manager when this guest stayed here, but I would like to update some information. We no longer have vending machines, we do have 3 soda machines, and have not had a noise complaint yet about them. We have FREE WI-FI in all rooms, no rentals needed. We have renovated most of our rooms in the passed 3 years. Our policy on early check outs is that there is no refund. That has always been out policy and will always be our policy. Depending on your situation we are willing to work things out in another fashion if necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.1 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
0.1 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
271 reviews
9.1 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,186 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sand Resort

Property: Desert Sand Resort
Address: 7888 Dune Dr, Avalon, NJ 08202-1070
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Desert Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Sand Hotel Avalon
Desert Sand Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing