We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Renovations Were Fair At Best”
Review of Desert Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Sand Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This hotel did extensive renovations a few years ago to one side of the building. The other side was not renovated, only updated. The renovations were poorly thought out. Their is no where for a family to sit now, as their is only 1 small loveseat sized couch in the living room/kitchen area. The bed by the window is up against the wall, making it virtually impossible to get out of bed! However, we have been coming for years and decided to just book on the west side, although it was not renovated, where there is still carpeting on the floor, and plenty of room for the kids to set up camp to watch movies at night, you can not do this in the new rooms, due to the fact that there is no carpeting in the living area. Now that I have read the other review about the firing of the entire staff, aside 3 or 4 employees, and have verified this myself with our longtime maid, we will not be back. We were still willing to come because we have become like family with many members of the staff, and find it repulsive what was done to these poor people. Nostalgia or not, we are booking at another place in Avalon, who are doing extensive renovations, and have hired many of the fired Desert Sand Staff. Like the other poster said-this is no longer a family hotel, and hasn't been really since the renovations were done and they brought in new management.

Room Tip: Just not a nice family business anymore. The girls do a great job, and we will miss those that we wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 145 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

I have been going to the Desert Sand since childhood, my parents loved it, as did I. Things have changed alot since then. One of the reasons that we always felt welcome, and returned year after year was the staff. We loved Ms. Wood, and have exchanged Christmas cards with her, and have even visited her in the winter. We recently found out that the Motel has let go most of it's staff, including the mother/daughter team that we loved from the 1st floor. We even stopped staying on the 1st floor, and moved to the 3rd so we could stay in the rooms in which they were working. I was informed that Ms Wood had retired by 1 of the owners of the establisment, that is untrue, she was fired after 30 years! I am shocked! She was like a part of the family! We were also told that most of the staff, many who have been there for as long as we have been vacationing there, were also fired, without reason. This is no longer a "family" business, seems to me that if you treat people who have worked there and are loved by the customers, and you fire them, without reason, then you are no longer a "family" run establisment. Yes the upgrades to the rooms are nice, but we will no longer frequent a place that does that to their own employees, as we also run a family business and have had many of our own employees with us for decades. The office staff, most especially Amy, who, used to be a friendly helpful employee, are now unhappy rude less then hospitable people, who don't seem to want to be there. We will miss The Desert Sand, and Ms. Wood, and all who were let go in this tough economic time. We will be staying at The Windrift, where we have stayed before, and have heard that many of the girls fired from The Desert Sand will be this year! If you want a hospitable, friendly place to stay, this is no longer that place.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here, do not stay in the west end of the building, it was not renovated, and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dissapointed124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I stayed with 2 friends of mine and found the Desert Sand Resort to be quite convenient to all restaurants, to Stone Harbor for shopping and both villages impeccable. The fact that they are 1 bllock from the ocean plus an outdoor and indoor pool for inclement weather was a huge plus. The office staff were very helpful in recommending us to several quality restaurants --thank you. I have a handicap vehicle and was told where to park so I would be convenient to the elevator--thoughtful of them. The rooms had been newly renovated 2 1/2 years ago and kept spotless on a daily basis. I only have praise for this resort which is fairly priced, especially Labor Day weekend. Would love to return in near future.

Room Tip: We had no A/C noise on 2 nd floor. Enjoy some great take out seafood from Stone Harbor and enjoy it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RaeAnn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 14, 2011

I would like to thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to see you again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at the Desert Sand for the first time Labor Day weekend and will NOT stay here again! When adjusting our air conditioner from 72 to 75 degrees it began to discharge a burning odor that was irritating to the eyes and nose. This resulted in the smoke alarm sounding in our room. This was scary to our daughters and gave an overall uneasiness about remaining in the room. When the front office was contacted, an employee did respond and stated, "Well at least we know the smoke detector works". While this employee was friendly, this was not the respond we expected. A can of lysol was provided to help decrease the odor. The employee stated the problem occurred as a result of the Heat being turned on for the first time. The heat was NOT turned on and we informed the employee of this, but she insisted it had been. When informed we were to address this with the Manager, we did....but it was USELESS! The manager did NOT see any reason to be concerned about the AC sending off an odor that would trigger the smoke alarm! The manager did NOT at all show any concern for the complaint of irritated eyes and noses! The manager REFUSED to resolve this manner in anyway stating, "There is nothing I can do". I can't imagine what management course she took...she must have FAILED!!!!! We would never stay at this hotel, nor recommend it to anyone we love!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I stayed here with 4 girlfriends for our annual shore weekend getaway. We have been coming to Avalon for years but this was our first time at the Desert Sand. We loved it! It was only a couple of blocks to the beach - very convenient; and the motel provided beach tags with a deposit. We stayed in a one bedroom efficiency that had a pull-out sofa bed which was fine for the 5 of us. I was impressed with the modernization of this motel; most shore motels don't have flat screen TV's, very nice kitchenette with stove top, microwave, full frig, bar stools. And it has an elevator which was a huge help since we were on 2nd floor (many shore motels don't have elevators either). The room was very clean. The pool area has plenty of lounge chairs and tables; along with a sundeck on 2nd floor. There is a little pool snack shack/bar that is open in the afternoon too. The ice machine took quarters which we weren't expecting. There is free wifi (ask for the password at the front desk), however we found the connection to be very slow.

There is a trolley that runs along Dune Drive if you want to go into the heart of Avalon for the nightlife / bars. That was convenient so we did not have to worry about driving.

This is a great motel and we would come back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalThatTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 22, 2011

Thank you very much for this review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. I will take into consideration our internet connection and see what I can do about that. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was the third visit to Avalon beach, but first time in Desert Sand Resort. If you don't want to rent a beach house, or aren't staying a full week, this place was great. My mother, 8 year-old son and I stayed 4 nights. The room was fine and clean. Two double beds, sleeper sofa in separate living area. Kitchenette with microwave, fridge/freezer, sink, 2 burners. Bathroom was small, but nice. The pool area is clean and lounge chairs are comfy. Bar and snack bar by pool. Tables w/ umbrellas available on deck area. Higher floor would be quieter, but it wasn't bad next to pool.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerryjmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 22, 2011

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We remodeled all our two room efficiency suites 3 years ago. We hope you think of The Desert Sand for future trips to Avalon. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My 1 year old son, husband, sister in law and I stayed here over 4 nights in July. Our room was one of the newly remodeled rooms, and everything was very nice and very clean. Our housekeeper Dottie was great and would try to come before our son's nap time. The grounds are nice and very close to beach. Cooking on the stove top is my only real concern, everything took forever to cook. During a T storms one afternoon, the indoor pool was closed, which was kind of a bummer because that was the main reason we booked at this hotel: in the event of rain, we'd have the indoor pool. However, since the roof over the indoor pool area is glass or plexiglass, we were told it was still considered a hazard during a T storm.
Location, new rooms, housekeeping staff are great. The tile in the living room area is a great idea, instead of carpeting which just traps the sand. Would go back.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Callaweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.1 mi away
ICONA Avalon
ICONA Avalon
#1 of 5 in Avalon
325 reviews
0 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
0 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Colonial Lodge
Colonial Lodge
#3 of 6 in Stone Harbor
45 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyland Motor Inn
Hyland Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Cape May Court House
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sand Resort

Address: 7888 Dune Dr, Avalon, NJ 08202-1070
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Desert Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Sand Hotel Avalon
Desert Sand Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing